We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, noisy room”
Review of Foxfire Inn

Foxfire Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stowe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foxfire Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hot, noisy room”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed two nights in July. Our first problem is that all the doors were locked. The property has both a restaurant and a B&B, and the restaurant is closed on Monday. But all the doors were locked. We had a moment of panic until one of the owners showed up, walking his dogs.

Our room, room A, is closest to the highway (VT 100), and the highway has a lot of trucks. It was quite warm in Vermont that day, and the room is on the second floor and on the west end of the building, and it was very warm in the room. There was a window unit air conditioner, but it was very loud and made for a tough night. When I shut the AC off and opened a window, we had to deal with the trucks.

The best part of this place was the breakfast. Both days, breakfast was excellent, eggs to order one day and blueberry pancakes the next.

In retrospect, we should have stayed somewhere in the Stowe resort away from the highway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I were planning a trip to Stowe. With many Inn`s to choose from we chose this one! We certainly hit the nail on the head! It was really easy to find when travelling in. We were greeted by Bob the Innkeeper who was very polite and friendly. We never met his wife however we soon found out that she is usually in the kitchen doing all of the baking for the Inn and restaurant. Bob was very helpful in assisting us in finding a place to eat on our first night and in finding directions to the Essex outlet malls. Anytime we had a question or concern he was very attentive and provided a lot of detail with his explanations. The Inn was very cozy with a fire place in the main sitting area and a checkers board game. There are no TV`s in the rooms however there is a TV room upstairs (why do you need a TV when you are in Stowe anyway?) The inn was surprisingly quiet since there is a restaurant below. We were concerned that it would be noisy at night however we could not hear anything past 22:00. We were in room `N` which was SO cute. The room has a comfortable queen size bed, 2 wing back chairs for relaxing, a vanitey or desk and a nice size washroom. The rooms and public areas were kept nice and clean. The rooms were refreshed daily with new towels which were soft and cozy. Our only issue was with the shower which had no pressure and would bounce back and forth from hot and cold. This is very typical for `Inn`s` though - so it is not a real complaint. Breakfast was very nice and offered a lot of variety, everything was homemade. They have the cutest little bar downstairs. We had the pleasure of meeting the famous Mike who tends this bar. He was excellent and very friendly! He had so much knowledge of the area. We sat picking his brain while we enjoyed some wine from their excellent wine menu. My boyfriend and I cannot wait to go back to Stowe and stay at our favourite little B&B again!

Room Tip: Room D is right beside the staircase and would seem to be a little noisy for me ALTHOUGH we liked th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

My family and I booked a single room here at the last minute during the holidays- between Christmas and New Years, and could not have been happier. Bob Neilson the innkeeper and restaurant proprietor, Doug the restaurant manager, Laurie the bartender were all wonderfully accommodating. When we arrived there was a last minute cancellation and rather than have an empty room and the four of us cramped in one room, Bob offered us the additional room for the boys at no extra cost. I've been travelling for many years on business and that kind of service is unheard of these days. The food at the Foxfire is excellent- get the lasagne and a bottle of the Valpollicella and you'll be very happy. We cancelled our other restaurant reservations and dined at the Foxfire all three evenings during our stay. Thanks Bob for the great vacation !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flicklives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We enjoyed a very cozy, friendly weekend at this inn in August; there is also an excellent restaurant there with excellent Italian food. We had plans to return last weekend, but had to cancel the day before we were to arrive. I called the innkeeper who was very gracious about our cancelling our room plus both nights' dinner reservations. I never expected to have our deposit returned, but there it was - a refund on our credit card statement. This was such a surprise - if you are ever in the Stowe area, give this inn a try!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

My family stayed in the rental house for family weekend at my son's school. Everything was perfect. We could not have asked for anything else. The house is just as nice as the online pictures. We especially enjoyed sitting out on the front porch and the game room. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank duckiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.2 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
432 reviews
1.5 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxfire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfire Inn

Property: Foxfire Inn
Address: 1606 Pucker St, Stowe, VT 05672-4833
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Foxfire Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing