We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All right, all right, all right.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“All right, all right, all right.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I'll add more of the same - place was pretty dated, but staff were just fantastic. Even the guy working on the roof came down his ladder to tell my daughter and I what was biting in the lake when he saw us grabbing a life jacket out of our car. Had a lot of fun in the pool and the boats, had a great breakfast, and had wonderful interactions with all of the staff.

Room Tip: third floor rooms in the 'new' section don't have elevator access, but ours had an openi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doanereh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    175
    83
    29
    18
See reviews for
130
147
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here last week for a 2 night stay in Stowe. This place was a good price and seemed like it was close to the places we were going. It is a bit dated, but it was clean. The kids liked the indoor and outdoor pool and the hot tub. The restaurant was ok. We had dinner and breakfast there. Food was average, service was good. The small lake with free kayaks included was a plus. My son loved this and the kayaks were available each time we wanted to go out. There was a fridge in the room which was nice as well. Only issue we had was when we went to check in at 4 our room still wasn't ready. We went out for a bit and by time we got back it was all set. Overall it was a nice place and for the price we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JF940407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

So we normally spoil ourselves when we travel to Stowe and we stay at one of the upscale hotels but our last trip (end of July 2014) we needed to stay in a place that would accept our young, and not so trained puppy (he barks at other dogs) and we were on a bit more of a budget this summer ....so we decided to try the Commodores Inn. The positive points of this inn are: 1) the lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful 2) if you are on a budget and have a dog, this place would be good. They have a large grounds for you to walk the dog, designated "poop buckets" and doggie cookies. The hotel is very very dog friendly. 3) The inn also offers fresh people cookies in the afternoon.

The negative unfortunately outweigh the positive though: 1) the inn needs to be updated and cleaned better. Our carpet in our room was not clean when we arrived, there were about 6 crushed empty cans left outside the exit door (maybe staff left them there) just like garbage 2) The indoor pool was very murky and greenish. We could not see the bottom clearly. 3) The outdoor pool had tons of frogs and bugs swimming in it 4) the indoor hot tubs were pretty terrible....bugs floating in them, hair etc... it didn't look like they had been cleaned in a very long time. 5) the beds were not comfortable and the comforters were those old 80's style blankets.

We were booked into the inn for 2 nights and we actually ended up checking out before we slept one night there (we checked out late the first night). Its kind of a long story in part due to the fact that I just wasn't comfortable there but also due to something that was, I guess, out of the inns control.

This inn would be good for young people who don't have very high expectations of an inn, or people with dogs or people who just really want a room for a very reasonable price. Unfortunately, for us, this was not where we were comfortable. The major reason is I have two young kids who really wanted to swim (spend 2 days in a pool) and I didn't want them swimming in the murky and grimy indoor pool and the outdoor one was too cold.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We just recently stayed here during a Lacrosse tournament. Now it's a little dated e.g. 1980's decor but it makes up for it in excellent service (i give them a 5), fun amenities for the kids and the convenience of having a restaurant and bar on premise. Our room was clean but simple with a TV and a refrigerator. Two queen beds and plenty of room to move about. Breakfast was a hot buffet and continental breakfast. It was tasty and they made me my own eggs due to a dairy allergy. The key takeaway her is both the chef and the waitress remembered every morning. I was impressed with a full house of lacrosse kids. The pub made a decent drink and our dinner on the first night was pretty good. It was a prime rib dinner buffet for $18.95 and although that is typically not my choice for a tired family it worked out great. Outdoor pool needs some TLC but it was clean. Overall we enjoyed our stay. It's not the Taj Mahal but for the value, great staff and amenities you can't beat it. Definitely a family type of resort that just needs some fresh paint and some minor renovations.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsFan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled on the commodores inn 5 years ago and return every year when visiting family in Stowe. The staff has always been very accommodating. My two girls love catching huge bullfrogs in their lake on premises. You can use canoes, kayaks and a paddle boat free of charge. My dog also has a great time as their is plenty of room for her to run around. Breakfast used to be included, not sure what happened. The last time we did have to pay about $7 per person. The rooms are outdated but for the price, friendly staff and overall accommodations it's a great destination. We will continue to return whenever visiting Stowe!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We could've overlooked it being dated and in need of some minor repairs - wall paper peeling and cracked walls - but cleanliness is a must for us. The sink had all kinds of gnarly, funky looking cracks in it. There was a hairball in the shower drain - traveling with a five year old and not being able to give her a bath because the tub skeeves you out is a major issue. The carpet was old and the room had a musty odor to it. The inside pool was fine but the outside one wasn't open or even filled. The front desk people were cordial but not overly welcoming or friendly. A bad experience for us all around.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank natron06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. I would like to let you know that we have been working on updating the hotel. This season we have just put a new roof on the building and we have just gotten a shipment of new mattresses for some of the rooms in the hotel and new bedspreads. We are also working on painting some of the exterior and there is a plan for some new carpeting in the fall. I am sorry that the outside pool was unavailable when you were here. The only reason why was because of a wild storm which came through and caused our lining to bubble. So for two days we had to drain it in order to get it fixed. It is now back in perfect working order. I am sorry that you felt that some things weren't clean. I have brought up your concerns for the housekeepers. I also have to say that over all our housekeeping and maintenance staff do an amazing job of keeping the building in order. Again thank you for your constructive comments. We do take them very seriously. Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

For the 3rd year in a row, we choose to stay at the Commodores for our annual long weekend stay in Stowe. Once again we had our dog Gracie with us. In my opinion, the Commodores is still the best place to stay when you have a dog with you. The property is big enough to run around, the dog loves getting her paws wet in the lake, and the large terrace makes it easy to sit & eat outside without being in other people’s way. The extra charge for the dog is only $10/night.

The rooms can definitely use an upgrade – it would be nice to arrive one year and discover new beds and TVs. That being said, with the low price I paid and the addition of the dog, I am not complaining. I slept well while staying there.

There is a full service restaurant, but it is not always open. The bar has an always available menu which starts at 4pm. As for the confusion regarding breakfast, it is included if you booked directly through the Commodores website. If you booked through a 3rd party travel site, it is not.

The staff have always been very friendly to us, and our dog gets treated very well. She acts like she owns the place and we are never made to feel unwelcome (Richard, it was nice to see you again!).

I look forward to my next visit….

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing