We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for one night. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast and dinner buffet very nice. However the entire facility is in desperate need of an update. Walls need to be stripped of old wall paper and painted. Carpet needs to be changed. There are no microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms. The TV was an antique.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sweethooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Commodores Inn. We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. I am glad that our staff was helpful and friendly and that the breakfast and dinner were good. As far as the updating we are slowly working on that. We did just put new carpeting in all of the public areas. We have also painted the whole exterior and parts of the interior and put up some new wall paper in some of the public areas. We do have refrigerators in every room and we have a microwave in our main Lobby for anyone to use at any time of the day/night. We have also slowly been updating the TVs in different areas of the hotel.
We wish we could afford to do all of the updating at once. In the mean time we are trying to move forward as fast as we can. We look forward to welcoming you back again someday soon.
Carrie Nourjian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 453 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I were there last night, just to eat. We're actually staying at a different Inn. I read a few of the other reviews from 10/13/13, and I agree. The poor manager/waiter was doing it all. When we came in, there was only one other couple there, and I felt bad. The same guy seated us, got our drinks, bussed our table, got our check... he was doing it all. And along with that, came the wait. Waiting for him to get back to us because he had other tables to take care of.
Yes, the decor was a bit dated. Kind of "early 90s mauve", but I thought it was fine.
I actually liked the prime rib. The mashed potatoes I thought were a bit cold though, the asparagus was a little under and the corn chowder a bit watery. The one staff member working behind the buffet was very very sweet and funny. I'd go back just to talk to him!
Overall, I'd go back again. I just hope they get more staff to cover the tables.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starwoodinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodores, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing to come and eat with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that over all your experience was all right. I am sorry that our dining room manager seemed to be short of staff that evening. He is also one of those who want s to do everything himself. We have spoken to him about this reminding him that he needs enough staff to assist him so that people don't feel as if they are waiting too long. I also apologize that the potatoes were not warm enough, the asparagus were underdone and the chowder was watery. We have spoken to the chef about these issues and the importance of keeping things warm. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.
Carrie Nourjian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This a nice located hotel which is older in age. Rooms were nice size and very clean The bed which was king size was not very comfortable to sleep in There was a lot of movement when one of us moved in the bed The rooms need to be updated with many of the things other hotels offer. The property itself has a nice little lake with things to do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Faced with taking our sons for a week long vacation was a bit daunting. How to keep them active and engaged in a relaxed atmosphere without spending all day at amusement parks or arcades or seeing them bent over smartphones was the goal. Searching the web, I found the Commodores Inn had kayaks and canoes available for guests, with model sailboat racing taking place weekly. What is better for kids than a pond and a boat? Near the Stowe recreation trail too, it was also only a short distance from Burlington and Lake Champlain. I booked a week, loaded up the bikes and we took off. Turning off I89 we found that Ben and Jerry's factory and the Cabot Cheese store are all on the route to our hotel. Of course the ice cream tour was going to be a hit. A few miles down the road we found the Commodores Inn . Check in was quick and while I was registering and making reservations for the evening's prime rib buffet the boys had lemonade and cookies in the parlor. I asked about bike storage and the clerk recommended in room although if there was space we could put them in the ski closet near the front desk. By the second day we just kept them locked up out back as were other
guests . On arrival the hotel
was dated in decor but not unkempt. Keeping in mind it caters as well to a busy winter ski season , it is on par with other family style lodging in Northern New England. Guests
were a mix of older couples, Japanese tourists and families like ours. The clerk told me that soon the hotel would be filled with leaf peepers and I think it would be a great base for that activity. Our room was in the back on the main floor, easy to access the car, the bikes and the pond The room had a fridge but no coffee maker but free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and lemonade are available 24 hours in the front reception area
Cookies are served in the afternoon. The onsite restaurant was a bit of a disappointment but there are so many eateries in the area it didnt take much effort to go find a good meal. The buffet is a throwback to the 60's to 70's era when the hotel was in its prime . Clearly cost control was evident, the manager was waiting tables, doing beverage service , seating and busing the first night we were there . He indicated that he was having staffing issues. When we were seated there were two other tables occupied. The buffet was sparse, the prime rib was adequate but not well seasoned and our teen found that to get a second slice required acknowledging and confirmation of acceptance by mom that an extra charge would be tacked
on. The sides were fine but not much kid fare. The asparagus was woody we decided to skip the buffet for future meals. We did order burgers one night from the bar menu and that was a better value . The front desk clerk one evening shared that the hotel was rethinking the restaurant contract which might be in place for ski season-it would be mice to see a b
After each day's outing we would return to the hotel and the boys would grab a kayak and set out for a paddle. Next door is Umiak, an awesome water recreation store and supplier of the kayaks for the hotel. You can test out Umiak's gear in the pond, too.
Overall I would recommebd this hotel as a mid price find to use as a vacation base .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momofmonkeys62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After doing a self drive tour of New England we have seen quite a few hotels, and this was the worst on our tour....
Positive points - friendly staff, nice reception, good parking
Negatives - dirty swimming pool, dirty rooms, no fridge, microwave or tea/coffee making facilities in room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad that you felt that the staff was friendly. I am sorry that you thought that the pool was dirty. It was sand from the sand filter and we are in the process of putting in a new filter at this time. Our pool boys do vacuum the pool daily. All of our rooms do have fridges and we serve coffee in our lobby 24 hours a day. We also have a microwave in the lobby which anyone can use at any time.
Carrie Nourjian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not a bad choice, maybe a little outdated. The lack of iron/ironing board and hairdryer might be a big disappointment for some, however the hotel was clean with easy access to all that Stowe has to offer. Free kayaks, indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub. Though the hot tub was not usable with the jets on - too much chlorine in the water almost suffocated us. Other than that the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is always helpful to know where improvements are needed. We do have irons and ironing boards and hairdryers at the front desk for anyone to use. I am sorry that the hot tub was not useable while you were here. If must have been due to some scheduled maintenance. As far as the chlorine, we are mandated by the state to put a certain amount of chlorine into the water and that is what we are very careful about doing.
I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and the hotel to be clean. Thank you for choosing the Commodores Inn.
Carrie Nourjian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Commodores inn on a brief vacation. The room was very nice and there was lots to do on the property. They offered two pools indoors and out. They had canoes and such to use on property. The food was excellent at the hotel restaurant and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockintrixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.9 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
3.9 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range: $110 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous Coconut Chicken, Shepard's Pie, Clam Chowder, Waldorf Salad, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing