We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value!!!”
Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Value!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I visited from Friday, August 14 to Monday, August 19. When we arrived we were told our room would not be ready until between 4:30 and 5:00. We were getting a pet friendly room and it was clean, but no screen on the window and we had to put a towel so that no bugs would come in through the space in the window. We informed the desk and was told it would be taken care of but it wasn't. Also the blanket on one of the beds had 3 big rips in it from a bigger dog than ours. I also asked that it be changed but it wasn't. The weather was beautiful and the area is so nice that these things did not spoil it for us. Maybe we will consider another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    184
    85
    29
    19
See reviews for
135
150
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seekonk, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Although very dated the hotel was super clean, and that's most important. The indoor hot tub at the pool was down but the two in the fitness cemter were operational. The pool outside was nice and they had boats to use on thier pond. The staff was super friendly and there was a restaurant in the hotel everyone seemed to love, which is good because the town closes at like 5, restaurants at like 8. Overall if your just looking for a place to crash for the night and hangout for a few hours, this place is perfect especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was looking for a not too expensive place to stay with my brother, his wife and their two kids. This hotel was good. We initially planned for two days but then decided to stay an additional night.
The rooms are big and clean (the bathroom is small however).
Staff in general is friendly and helpful.
There are two pools (the kids loved them) and a pond with canoe/kayak which is a plus.
There is also a buffet restaurant which is fine.
For a romantic week-end I might look for something more upscale but I think it is a very good option for group/family.

Room Tip: Some rooms have poor Wifi (203-207) Rooms at the front above entrance have more noise. People chatt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZED_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Let me get the bad out of the way and tell you that the lobby coffee is weak and oh so bad. But hey there are lots of places to get excellent coffee in town. My two besties and I stayed here for a girls' week-end. We were trying to keep the cost down since we are all facing big-ticket expenses coming up. What a great deal we got. Loved the clean room and space. Yes, the rooms are dated, but for what we paid, it was right on. Aside from one dog yapping for a day in a room across the hall, the place was peaceful and comfortable. We will go back another time for a girls' week-end for sure. I recommend this hotel for comfort and value. Too bad the weather stunk or we would have enjoyed their beautiful pool and 3-acre pond! Thank you, Commodores Inn! And like I always say, don't forget to tip the chambermaids!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winedineandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel however the rooms needed to be updated and fresh carpet installed. I have been here several times and have not been disappointed once.
The lobby is inviting and the staff are very friendly and are very accommodating.
Indoor and outdoor pools that looked clean. 2 hot tubs. Even though the hotel was booked up with a bunch of 12-16 year olds for a lacrosse tournament, they were well behaved.
Our room was on the first floor right near the hot tubs and game rooms and when they closed at 10:00pm everything was quiet. Large king sized bed was very low to the floor and a bit saggy. It actually ended up being very comfortable in spite of it's looks. The restaurant looked out over the pond and the dinner buffet and the breakfast buffet were very good although a bit pricey. It was worth it not to have to find a place to eat. Given the area, I'm sure that anyplace that we would have eaten would have been expensive! I haven't been to the Commodores Inn in several year but recognized some of the same kitchen help. Had a great time there and would stay again! Loved it!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms in the front are ground level so if you have your large windows (which open BT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikcellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A group of us went on a ski trip from the UK to Stowe. We skiied at the stowe mountain resort which was about a 20 minute bus journey away. We couldn't of asked for better stay, the staff were exceptional, chef bob providing diverse foods each night which I found delicious and stuffed my face with the buffet every night. The pool and hot tub facilities were great, and whenever we came back after a vigorous, freezing day on the slopes the staff had freshly baked cookies, flapjacks and other biscuits, along with a jug of juice waiting for us when we got back which was very much appreciated. It was one of our group members birthday on one of the nights and the staff provided a cake to celebrate and sing happy birthday which was thoughtful.

The rooms were also great, the beds were extremely comfortable and I had no sleeping difficulties whatsoever. There was also a vending machine right near our room so if we ever were hungry or thirsty after or before dinner we could go there. There is also a garage about 5 minutes walk away, which had a good range of supplies.

Would 100% stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDIP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Commodores Inn is a great place to take a group. The facility is great regardless of the weather. With it's indoor and outdoor pools plus a game room your group is bound to have fun. The staff is cordial and the service is good. The restaurant has a wonderful buffet and the roast beef is excellent! The rooms are fine equipped with a small fridge to keep your refreshments cold. I have taken two different groups to the Commodores Inn with no complaints. The riding in the area is great!
The Commodores Inn is one of the best value's for your dollar in the Stowe area. For me, it' a home away from home.

Kelly
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.0 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
407 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
3.9 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 24 in Stowe
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing