We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice play to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A nice play to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We decided to take a last minute road trip to Stowe. After researching on-line we settled on the Commodore for price and reviews here and other sites.

We booked their last king room but when we arrived they put us in a room with two double beds. Not only was it NOT what we booked, but it had a very strong stale smell, something that seems to be unique to some hotel/motel rooms. I went to the desk and at first the clerk said the website where I booked the room probably had it wrong but then she started looking at her computer and found us a king room. It was fine and did not have that strong stale smell.

We went out to their patio area where they have a large man-made pond. A group of men were sailing remote controlled sail boats and that was interesting to watch. Kayaks, canoes and a row boat are available for free and many people took advantage of that.

There are two pool, outdoor and indoor but we did not use them.

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was good. I thought a continental breakfast was included but found out we would have to pay $10 for a buffet. We ate in town.

The hot air balloon festival was held the weekend we were there and I think that despite that, when hotel booking may be difficult to get, we were charged a fair price.

Although I felt the front desk staff could have been more welcoming and friendly, we would consider staying here again. But, probably next time we may try a place in the village or along the Mountain Road.

Oh! I almost forgot. If you do not like staying at a place that accepts animals, this may not be the place for you. Many people brought dogs of all sizes. They were all very well behaved, but we know some people may be turned off.

Room Tip: The better views MAYy be on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    175
    83
    29
    18
See reviews for
130
147
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Masachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We just got back from our 3 day trip with the girls (3.5 and 1.5 years of age) to Stowe. The Commodores Inn was such a wonderful place to stay. Upon check in, they have lemonade and cookies. The 2 pools were great...my older daughter and I went from indoor pool to outdoor pool back to indoor pool in a span of an hour. She loved it. The pools were clean and had generously-sized shallow ends, making them great for kids. They have a small pond in the back with kayaks and a canoe. They have a paddle boat, but it is broken (unfortunately), so be sure not to use it. My husband and older daughter went out in it and had to struggle to get back to the dock.
The breakfast (included in our package) was great! Large buffet with fresh fruits, bagels, cereal, toast, pastries, eggs, potatoes, sausages, bacon, pancakes/waffles, etc. The whole family loved it!
The room was clean and spacious. Bathtub was oddly shaped, making it difficult to step in and out of and to give my younger one a bath. All staff were friendly and helpful. Lobby was spacious, with large TV and a desktop computer for guest use.
Overall, this was an excellent value and a great place to bring young kids. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize for your experience with our paddle boats. Due to the nature of their condition we have removed them from the lake and will be replacing them with new. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future and try them out.

Karen L. Brown
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Check-in was easy and staff very pleasant & accommodating.
Nice room - would stay again.
Onsite restaurant waiters and staff were very pleasant; very good breakfast buffet and dinner was excellent!
Housekeeping & maintenance staff also very pleasant.
Beds were comfortable and not too firm like most hotels/inns.
Game room games & pool table need updating: wasn't even worth playing.
Indoor pool was small.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintersolstice1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Commodores Inn. I am glad to here that you and your children had a wonderful stay with us. I would like to address the bed issues that you had stated. I have checked with our housekeeping department and can assure you that the concerns that you had will be corrected. All pillows should have covers on them and the mattress pads are typically sized and fitted to the bed they are covering. I will personally double check this to be sure all rooms are up to our standards and that of our guests. I hope that you will choose us again if you decide to visit Stowe in the future.

Karen L. Brown
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We went with our dog and had a pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly, there's a pond in the back for kayaking, and a culture of model sailboats throughout.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfisharenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have to say that what attracted us to this hotel is the private lake which allowed us to go canoeing or kayaking on it. Our kids loved it!! That has got to be the best part of the hotel. Plus there is an outdoor pool and indoor one, so when the weather isn't too great or when it gets cooler at night, it's great to be able to go swimming indoors as well. Our kids are 4 and 6, and they had a blast at this hotel.

Our room was great. I specifically asked for a room on the third floor because of other reviews I had read in regards to noise, and let's just say people are right, it's perfect up there! We could not hear anybody else up there. It's like we were alone in the hotel! And the room is pretty spacious and we had a skylight on the ceiling. I loved that feature. You get just a bit of light in through it at night so the room is not pitch black. Perfect. But keep in mind that there are no blinds or curtains on it, so if you need your room to be super dark when you sleep, choose another room without the skylight.

Another negative about the third floor, the elevator goes up only to the second floor, so keep in mind you will have to bring in your luggage up one flight of stairs to get up to the third floor, but for us, it was fine and worth it to be on the third floor.

I loved the fact that there is complementary coffee in the lobby as well as cookies and lemonade. That is such a nice touch. My kids loved it too!

We reserved through expedia so we got a pretty good deal on the room but it did not include the breakfast so I can't comment on it.

One major negative: the beds. Really. On the mattress there is one rectangular sheet that is the mattress cover, and it's not a fitted one, it's just a plain rectangle that doesn't even measure the whole surface of the mattress and then you have a fitted sheet on top of it, which is a little bit small and the least movement you make in the bed, the sheet moves, the mattress cover gets huddled up and bumpy under you, becomes really uncomfortable, and then the mattress gets exposed. Plus the sheets are super thin including the pillow covers, it's like you are practically sleeping directly on the pillow. Which has no protective cover either. I have slept in many different hotels and I have to say this one wins it for the worst beds. I would have rated this place a five-star if it wouldn't have been for the beds.

Overall, my kids loved this place, we did have a lot of fun here, and the location is great, close to many attractions, so I'm still happy we stayed here, and will probably stay here again in the future, however, I might end up bringing my own sheets.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinag19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We booked a room online because the Commodore was one of the least expensive alternatives in the area. We weren't expecting much from a budget rate hotel, but the Commodore was one of the best parts of our trip. The hotel is a little outdated, but that's the charm. The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly and knowledgable about the area. The kids loved kayaking on the lake so much that we spent the evenings relaxing around the lake, which saved us even more money. The exercise room was disappointing - I know it's a budget hotel, but it wouldn't cost too much to invest in a new treadmill, weight machine and tv from COSCO or somewhere, which would be a huge improvement and would look great featured on the website. Overall, this was the best hotel value than I've seen in a long time. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzana123sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

My wife and I decided at the last minute to go away for the long weekend. Having been to Stowe many times, and having stayed at many different places, I was looking for the best deal available. The Commodores had a 3 nights for the price of 2 special, which included breakfast. This was by far the best offer I found. We stayed 3 nights (Fri-Mon), Sat & Sun included a full hot breakfast buffet, and on Mon there was a continental breakfast.

The Commodores is not a fancy place, but you do get a lot of bang for your buck!

Pros:

Cheap
Indoor & Outdoor Pools
Breakfast included - buffet on weekends
Mid-afternoon cookies and lemonade
Coffee, Tea, Hot chocolate are always available
We had a fridge in our room
Free wifi - we had trouble connecting a couple of time, but the staff was quick to reset the modem which solved the problem
Air conditioning
Helpful Staff
Housekeeping was very good

Cons:

The beds are not the greatest. It was not an issue for us, but picky people might have a problem.
The pillows are not great, next time I will be bringing my own.

If the same offer is available the next time I want to go to Stowe, I would go back to the Commodores without thinking twice about it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing