We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Weekend Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stowehof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stowehof
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Weekend Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Stowehof Inn, courtesy of a Groupon. The hotel grounds are lovely and it appears that all rooms have access to a balcony with a nice view of the mountains. Each room is uniquely decorated which adds to the charm of the hotel. It is an older hotel and rustic in decor but I found this extremely appealing. There is an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and an indoor hot tub. They have a cozy living room stocked with books and games which the guests are welcome to use. The staff members we met were friendly and welcoming. Additionally, the free breakfast each morning was wonderful and much better than the cold continental breakfasts one usually encounters at hotel chains. We were offered eggs, bacon, blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, and much more. Add to that the gorgeous view from the breakfast area and we had a lovely start to each day. It almost feels as if you are staying in the over-sized home of a friend!

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Classic" room which is the mid-level room and we were located on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    114
    43
    41
    27
See reviews for
91
214
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My family and I just got back from spending a night at the Stowehoff Inn and we were not disappointed. This place is not new but each room has its own unique decorations and from we could see it looked like each room had a door leading out to a balcony overlooking the grounds; ours overlooked the pool with a view of the beautiful mountain side.. In addition to outside pool they had an indoor pool, a sauna, a pool table, and a game foom full of videos to watch and family activities to keep you intertained. They also had bar (not open on Mondays and Tuesdays) and a restaurant that serves a PHOENOMINAL breakfast in the morning. I felt like I was in the German Alps complete with the Von Trapp House right up the street where you can get a great beer and learn all about the Von Trapp Family and their escape from Austria back during WWII. Plenty of great restaurants all around them not to mention Stowe Mountain Ski Resort if you visit in the winter. We cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Bar not open on Mondays and Tuesdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Often times people judge a property by face value and compare it to something that has absolutely no connection at all. I read the not-so-positive reviews and wonder why some people even bother to travel at all. The Stowehof Inn has to be one of the most welcoming lodges I've ever witnessed with a charming vintage flair. Just by being in the essence of this beautiful inn you're able to capture the heart and soul of this magnificent place nestled high up in the mountains of Stowe Vermont. I came up from the Boston area with a friend for the night and have to say that my stay here was of the highest quality. Tim and Karen at the front office displayed professionalism and hospitality of the highest esteem. I was treated like an old friend coming home. The views could not be any better from the expansive decks surrounding the inn. Accommodations were impeccable, spacious, and comfortable. Breakfast was included and couldn't have been better with a wide selection buffet-style. The charm and old-world character of this brilliant property speaks to you as you wander about. I've traveled the world and at the same time am an avid New England adventurer, and I'm telling you that Stowehof is my new favorite place in the north country of New England. If you like out-of-the ordinary places to stay that capture the essence of where you are, then this is the place for you. Stowehof has charm, class, and a crew of folks working here that truly enjoy their job and it's quite evident. Floors sometime creek, patio walkways may be a little askew, the mood is quiet and romantic and non-dramatic, and you'll get the best night's sleep ever. Soaking in the views from outside and looking at this masterpiece that Mr. Hess designed in 1949 will reconfigure your mind into a state of peacefulness and a feel to just 'slow down' and enjoy. There's a nice outdoor pool, an indoor pool, a very appealing restaurant, and most of all, an attentive staff all very accommodating without any pretenses or attitude. Whoever does the hiring for this lodge deserves an A+ ! A sprawling modern Hilton or Hyatt it isn't; and thank god for that! There isn't anything else in Stowe quite like Stowehof that puts you back in time and slows you down all with a flair and with ammenities to keep you comfortable in modern times. I loved it up here at Stowehof; keep up the good work! I'm coming back for the winter and telling friends about it too! It's Stowe Vermont's 'best-kept' secret! - Paul

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polywog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Stowehof in July for my parent's 50th anniversary party. The dinner party was at the hotel and all went smashingly. However, the best part of this hotel is the flexibility they have for large group traveling together. They have a HUGE family room area that has multiple chairs and couchs and tables with games, etc. for families to just hang out in... They bar is small, but so cozy and opens to the pool area in the summer. You are able to eat in or out. The bar is open from 3 or so to about 11 or 12 or whenever depending on guests, but you can have your own drinks when the bar is not open. You also have connecting outdoor balconies to all rooms with chairs, etc. and since this is an extension of your room, what you do/drink here is your business. We closed the bar each night but then stayed down there playing pool and cards all night. My kids had a ball the entire time. We had 14 kids, just in our party, ranging from 3 to 23 and it was amazing. The pool was large and fun and never crowded. The bartender is very nice and all of the staff were sweet. We had a large room with a murphy bed. There was a large dressing room and a small bathroom. The grounds are gorgeous and made for an amazing background for family photos!! They also have a Wed - Fri special for $5.95 burger and a brew or $7.95 salad and wine. The food was spectacular and we have been back for the burger/brew special once!! They have a very full breakfast included with your room...eggs, pancakes, bacon, home fries, yogurt, cereal, fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for larger rooms if you have kids. All rooms either have 1 King or 2 Twins as standard but a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo_W22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are considering a stay at the Stowehof Inn, be fully aware of what you're getting. The setting and the views are glorious. It is wonderful to wake up each morning with the tree-covered hills of Vermont right outside your window. And the grounds around the hotel are beautiful and well-kept.

But the hotel itself is sadly in need of updating. The barnwood paneling in the halls has far outlived its rustic charm. Carpets are stained and worn. Floors are (perhaps quaintly) uneven. We had to struggle with the lock in our door every time we went in or out. My wife was going to move the antique-y chair in our room, and it came apart in her hands. The little tiles in the bathroom floor were breaking apart in the corners, so that dirt and debris from innumerable previous guests was gathered there. The toilet was positioned so close to the wall that it had to be ridden side-saddle. Our bed had a regular mattress, topped with a very thin "egg carton" foam rubber mattress which, in its valiant effort to hold the fitted sheet, couldn't help curling up at the corners.

Hardest to take was that our room, and the entire facility, didn't feel clean. Housekeeping did a very poor job of cleaning our room each day. The bed was made. The towels (well, some of them) were replaced. But it was clear that the tub was not wiped out, the carpet was not vacuumed, and used glasses were not replaced with clean ones. Leaving generous tips each day did nothing to improve the service. So I stopped.

The Stowehof Inn apparently hosts a lot of weddings. This may be fine if you are in the wedding party. But if you are not, be prepared for lots of noise outside your window at night. Our room was right over the pool and fire pit. We had to close our windows, shutting out the fresh, cool mountain air, and turn on the air conditioner to mask the noise.

Many of the guests here on TripAdvisor seem to have used an online discount on their reservation at the Stowehof Inn. So did we. If you are getting a bargain price on your stay, the irritating quirks might be tolerable. But if we had been paying full price, we would have looked for other accommodations after our first night, if not before.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BeckyAndWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We got a Groupon and had a wonderful weekend at this quaint inn. The inn was being used for a wedding, but we were notified at the time of our booking. We got a bottle of wine and a wonderful (small) breakfast each morning. There was a "fine dining" restaurant upstairs and a little pub downstairs, we ate at the pub and with our 2 beers, 2 glasses of wine, a burger and a salad we only spent 25.00! Our room was HUGE, clean , had a large porch and the bed was very comfy. The family that owns the inn was very accomidating and helped us with directions the following morning and provided us with quaint country charm. I would recommend this inn to other travelers..its not the Four Seasons by any means, but it is a little inn that had charm. If you are able to appreciate these "little" charming things then this is the inn for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they are bigger! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Upon check in we learned that their "fine dining" restaurant (Emily's) and the outdoor pool were closed (from 4-10 pm) to all of the guest due to a 100 person wedding party. Rather than call and notify us of this inconvenience which is the considerate thing to do if you're in the business of accommodating people, they acted unconcerned and uninterested. Instead of trying to resolve this matter, they came up with one excuse after another. When I expressed my disappointment to the concierge we got upgraded to a nicer more disgusting room, which makes me wonder on the condition of our initial room had we not been upgraded. The pillow cases had some kind of grease stains on them, the baday toilet and bathroom counter top had black hairs on them as well. The moose head in the hallway looked like it had not been cleaned since 1970 (try cleaning the cobwebs). They also forgot to mention when I made the reservation that their tennis courts are utilized not only by the town for tennis camp, but also by the local high school. Stowe is a beautiful town and I would highly recommend doing some research on other local B&B's!

Room Tip: "Find another B&B"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.2 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowehof

Property: The Stowehof
Address: 434 Edson Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672 (Formerly Stowehof Inn & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowehof 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stowehof is one of the last classic alpine inns in ski country. Located on the foothills of Mt. Mansfield, and surrounded by 28 acres, Stowehof provides an experience unlike any other Vermont escape! We have room options from luxurious premier rooms and floor to ceiling views to family rooms with multiple beds and the economical Ski Bum Rooms which are a bit more cozy, yet still clean and comfortable! All guests can take full advantage of the hotel's amenities no matter what room they choose. Pamper yourself while you're here and enjoy our cozy atmosphere. Play a game of cards in one of our game nooks, shoot pool in the pub with your friends, read a book by the fire in the living room, roast marshmallows fireside during the winter, play tennis in the summer, and relax by the pool in any season. Our spacious Living Room is perfect for cozying up after a day of skiing or hiking, too! We feature fine European-Vermont fusion style dining on site. Our restaurant feature a great fondue menu as well as seasonal menus created by our executive chefs to help your palate tour the European Alps while overlooking gorgeous Vermont mountain views. As the perfect place for a gathering of any size, we can set something up for you in our breathtaking setting. Your special day deserves great attention to detail; let our wedding specialists set you up right. Give us a call today and make your reservation with us! We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stowehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowehof Hotel Stowe
The Stowehof Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing