We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grey Fox Inn no longer has it - keep on looking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The rooms in the main building are caustrophobic...the lodge out back is mediocre and our room was not cleaned or properly stocked with towels, coffee etc. Staff was not quick to assist. New management doesn't seem to get the hotel business. We've stayed here many times in the past with several other couples - next year we're all looking for other accomodations. The lobby is not staffed in the evening or until 7am in the morning - forget it if you need anything. The resturant/pub closes early and open late in the morning for breakfast. They removed the refrigerators from most of the rooms. All in all not a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enodran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
njenulevich, General Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2010

It is unfortunate that you had a less than positive experience this most recent stay with us. Your comments regarding Housekeeping are most distressing to me as we have made changes to the way we clean and care for the rooms that have resulted in many positive comments from guests. For example, this week we will begin to roll out our new line of upgraded room amenities. Gilchrist & Soames is a well known and well respected supplier of hotel amenities and we are all very excited about the change. As is common to inns of this size and to most all of the inns, lodges and hotels in the Stowe area, we do not have a 24 hour Front Desk. The Front Desk hours have remained unchanged from 8am to 10pm (10:30 on weekends) we do have a after hours call service that can provide information and help (including the presence of staff in an emergency). Our restaurant hours also have not been shortened. The Breakfast room opens at 8am till 12:30 and The Pub opens at 4pm and serves dinner until 9pm. In fact, Saturday 8/14 we opened The Pub at 3pm to permit our guests to watch the Car Show Parade from the comfort of our Pub Porch. The addition of live music every Friday and Saturday night is a recent positive addition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 410 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed here for two nights recently. The room was a 2-Queen bed, "Mountain View Deluxe". The room was located in an attractive, separate building towards the rear of the property, three stories, with each room having a deck or balcony to the rear. The room does have a view of Mount Mansfield, if you look to the left. The grassy, treed back yard of the building is conveniently adjacent to the Stowe Rec Path, and as a bonus two resident woodchucks provided entertainment while we sat on the balcony. If you are looking for five-star accomodations, keep looking. This is more like staying in a nice 1980's condo. It is very clean, and the staff very helpful. Our DVD player was not compatible with the older TV, and the maintenance staff provided an adapter to make it functional, even wiring it up for us. We rented bikes for a half day. Rates were reasonable ($10) but some of the bikes were not in the best operating condition. We found the room quiet, close to Stowe Village and Mount Mansfield, and we will definitely return. The mattresses are old, and somewhat noisy, but strangely enough, we got a good night's rest. The hiking and fresh air probably helped with that. Refrigerators should be included but were not, available at $5 a day. A convenience store next door sells milk, beer, wine, ice, pretty much whatever you'll need. A fresh foods market directly across the street makes the most amazing baked goods, coffee and sandwiches with local ingredients.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neese39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
njenulevich, General Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2010

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay and for the critiques. They can help us to focus our resources. Recently, as a result of comments by our loyal guests we upgraded our bath towels and television reception with a better signal and more channels. Please keep in mind that our Maintenance staff went above and beyond in connecting a personal DVD player to one of our televison sets and that we do offer some rooms with DVD players attached to compatible television sets. We also have a selection of rooms with flat panel monitors.

Nazba Jenulevich
General Manager
Grey Fox Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

While the front desk staff were friendly and pleasant, the room itself was a big disappointment. It was jam-packed with furniture, with no space to move around, and the bathroom barely held one person. And the bed! Like sleeping on a board, with lumpy pillows. When I travel, I want my rest, and I think I got about 2 hours of sleep because I couldn't get comfortable. Very sad.....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Recently stayed two nights with some mountain bike friends. There are two main hotel areas, a main inn and a separate building with a porch and views of the mountain and rec path. Breakfast at the pancake cafe was great and evening music and food at the hotel pub was great fun. We understand there have been many changes and renovations made recently which may have made our stay much better than some of the other reviews indicate.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JChis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
njenulevich, General Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to right a review of your stay at The Grey Fox Inn and thank you so much for noticing the positive changes we have made.
The indoor pool has a new liner.
Our guest room towels are recently upgraded.
Our new executive Chef Miguel Godinez has an amazing talent for food. His imagination shows in his weekly breakfast and dinner specials and in his commitment to a great dining experience. Whenever possible, buying from locol food producers to support the community and ensure quality and freshness.
We have added a larger selection of TV channels with better reception.
Live music every Friday and Saturday night in The Pub with no cover charge.
And many more improvements to our Maintenance department and Housekeeping. As well as implementing a new recycling program to help do our part for the environment.

More to come so please follow us on Facebook and visit our web site and sign up for our newsletter to receive updates on happenings and special promotions from The Grey Fox Inn.

Nazba Jenulevich
General Manager
Grey Fox Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed for only one night in the 2 bedroom condo. This was perfect for a family. Clean and confortable. Everything was supplied that a family would need. We played air hockey in the games room. Toobogganed on the hill outside our room, used the free internet, then made a fire in the fireplace and had a cosy evening watching tv. The people were all very friendly and helpfully.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I spent a weekend in Stowe (first ever) with my husband at the end of July. We stopped at the Stowe Welcome Center for a lodging recommendation and they guided us to the Grey Fox. Our room (in the main inn building) was very cozy and Vermonty... There is a very good pub on site, for the inn's guests. It was just what we needed for our weekend.

Thanks Grey Fox!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisdom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I was just recently heading to Stowe and didnt know where to stay. We booked our room at the Grey Fox Inn and had the most amazing experience! The location is unbeatable, the staff is professional and always willing to go the extra mile- I was blown away with the service! I travel all around the world for business and personal travel and this was one of the best experiences I have had in a long time! We are looking for dates right now to head back there- and we will be requesting the same, perfect room they had put us in!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.4 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
5.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
1 mi away
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
0.6 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Fox Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Fox Inn & Resort

Address: 990 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4629
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stowe
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $135 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Fox Inn & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Fox Inn is in a prime location in Stowe right on Mountain Road within walking distance to Stowe Village and five miles from the Mt Mansfield ski resort. The Little River runs through the far end of our 7½ acre property as does the popular Stowe Recreation Path. The “Rec Path” used by walkers and bikers alike is a 5 ½ mile long paved trail that winds from Stowe Village along side the Little River. Skiing & Snowboarding – A significant winter attraction is skiing at Stowe Mountain Resort. Just 5 miles up Mountain Road. Mt Mansfield skiing is accessible via the free shuttle service or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Grey Fox Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Fox Inn And Resort
Grey Fox Hotel Stowe
Grey Fox Resort
Grey Fox Inn & Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing