We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My sister, brother in law, husband & I wanted to get away for a wknd.
I chose this Motel because the staff was friendly & accommodating (wonderful people in person as well as over the phone). Answered all of my questions & suggested that we stay in the Deluxe Fireplace Suite since we were 2 couples. We had 2 nice bedrooms, 2 bath, living room w fireplace & full kitchen. Did not need to request anything extra, everything was there. Would definitely stay there again & have recommended it to friends & family. Perfect location to everything yet quiet & peaceful. Breakfast was also very good & we were able to bring it to the suite to have a peaceful brkfst out on the deck.

Room Tip: Get to brkfst early since it can get pretty busy in high season. Bring brkfst back to rm to avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriG0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Owner at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for rating us a 5 out of 5! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for recommending us on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 475 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

First and foremost, about the free WIFi service on the property: the word for it is "Frustrating". When it's actually working it's incredibly slow. But most of the time it is using three different servers trying to find a solid connection, and when it finally does, the previous server that you were using will disconnect you.

If a reliable WIFI service is a necessity while staying in Stowe, You won't find it here.

However, they are a great all in one location for accommodations of all types of parties. Be it family or friends, groups large and small, they should be able to accommodate you all at a pretty fair price.

Someone else in a previous review mentioned a less than Ideal continental breakfast. I would have to agree with that same assessment. All the items of food are situated on a single wall in a fairly small room to begin with, limiting 1 or 2 people at a time helping themselves, so this requires patience.

About the "Value Rooms". These are the cheapest accommodations on the property which come with a few sacrifices;

1) No microwave oven in the room.

2) A mini (table top) fridge and a plug in coffee maker are your only kitchen appliances.

3) The location of these rooms directly above the game room section of this hotel (Which also doubles as a ski tuning room during the winter months). Not exactly peaceful.

It should be noted that all of the "Efficiency Room" accommodations come with a kitchenette.

About the flat screen TV's around the property. With a diagonal screen size of approximately 24 inches, these screens are actually too small to be enjoyed across a room some 10 feet away. And while they do broadcast some channels in HD, others are standard cable channels resulting in less than stellar picture quality.

There is one final matter that could be of importance. If your vacation situation requires you to come and go during the overnight hours. Have a flashlight handy as there are no exterior lights on during those hours.

The regular vacationer's who are loyal to the Stowe Motel & Snowdrift won't be dissuaded by this review. That said, things could still be a little bit better to broaden the appeal to first time visitor's to this family owned and otherwise wonderful establishment.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your detailed feedback. I appreciate both what you liked and how we could improve as both are very helpful.

We have recently put 32' flat screen tvs and dvd players in all of our rooms. Like most properties in town, we have cable tv which has some HD but also regular stations. In our value and superior rooms, they don't have microwaves but if you ask the front desk, they can have housekeeping bring one over, for no charge. As you mentioned, there is a ski tuning room and game room under some of our units, but we do lock it up at 9 PM.

We are continually looking at ways to increase our bandwidth for wi-fi and also ways to improve our continental breakfast. Guest feedback is most valuable when determining the direction of capital improvements so we really do appreciate your input.. Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights in one of the deluxe fireplace suites. It was wonderful! The facilities are very clean and located near lots of great shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast that is provided is a great way to start the day. Our room was an efficiency with all kinds of utensils provided. The hotel provides free bicycle use, a game room, and a library containing books and movies that you can borrow during your stay. We had such a wonderful time at the Stowe Motel & Snowdrift. This establishment is highly recommended. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggie2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We are indeed just minutes from many of Stowe's restaurants and shops. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff, cleanliness and accommodations. Thank you again!

 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

To begin on a positive note, the breakfast offerings were varied and plentiful. The serving area for breakfast is inadequate: there is a (maybe) 10-12 ft. counter and all food offerings and small appliances along with plates, napkins, etc. are compressed into this area and an under-counter refrigerator below the counter. This motel accommodates a LARGE number of guests and needs to expand the breakfast area - - - both serving and seating. The room was adequate. It is time however to replace the mattresses. The toilet tissue is so thin it might be considered invisible. The room rates would suggest a higher over-all quality than actually exists. The location is desirable - - close to Stowe w/o being in the middle of downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GFCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

We appreciate your feedback on our property and value your input .Thank you for your review as your feedback will help us continue to work on improving the overall guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a road trip of New England. This place was the highlight of the trip for us. Friendly helpful people, nice clean rooms, all the facilities you could want, fridge, coffee maker, sink, cooker, microwave, cutlery, glassware and free Wi-Fi. Outdoor hot tub, free bicycle use, games room and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAMA-a1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We really appreciate your wonderful comments. Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the smaller room configurations (2 queen beds in 1 room) with our family of 4, and it was great for the 3 nights we stayed. We were on a budget on this trip. They also had bigger room configurations with 1 & 2 bedrooms that looked great. We felt the value for money was incredible given all the extras the family that run the motel throw in for free:
- Free bike hire for guests (they also have some young kids bikes with trainer wheels & a kid buggy trailer for littlies)
- Free DVD hire & there is a pretty extensive selection, not just the odd DVD like you often get!
- Good breakfast options & room to eat in your room (table & chairs in all the rooms)
- Access to Lovely (HOT) hot tub
- Free tennis court use & racquets (just have to sign up). We borrowed the bag toss game gear so the kids were distracted and we could get a game in!
- Reception has a Keurig coffee machine with pods & many options for nice teas which is available for guests if you want something more than the coffee & filter option in the rooms (& is open until 10pm)
We have stayed in many motels where we paid more and had way less to do. The grounds are gorgeous and spacious so there is lots of room for kids to play around.
I would highly recommend walking or riding the scenic cycle path that leaves from near the back of the motel. Its about a 20minute ride along this to get to the gorgeous old church in Stowe. Great coffee just opposite at the Black Cap Coffee too.
A wonderful stay which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveLustR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

I can't thank you enough for posting such a wonderful review on our property! We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy all that we have to offer and take pride in providing you with a clean, comfortable and friendly stay at our hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor and I hope you can visit us again.

 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank LindyAussie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.1 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.9 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Motel & Snowdrift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Motel & Snowdrift

Address: 2043 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $112 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stowe Motel & Snowdrift 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between picturesque Stowe Village and the Stowe Mountain Resort, the Stowe Motel & Snowdrift is situated on 16 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, bordered by the pristine Westbranch River. A variety of lodging including rooms, efficiencies, fireplace efficiencies, apartments, suites and houses is offered. Guests can partake in our continental breakfast, mountain bikes, snowshoes, hot tub, heated pools, tennis courts, game room and more. Free wireless is also available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stowe Motel & Snowdrift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Motel And Snowdrift
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift Hotel Stowe
Stowe Hotel Snowdrift
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing