We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Stowe Motel during a college tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My daughter and I went to Vermont for a College tour and they gave us a list of Hotels in the area. Never being to Vermont before, we chose one of the hotels on the sheet which was Stowe Motel and we were very happy - the room was great, very clean, nicer than I expected - The woman at the front desk ( I forgot to get her name) was so very nice and friendly, we got a 10% discount for mentioning that we were visiting a college, the only downside was that we got there late at night and had to leave early the next morning since after the tour we had to get back on the road home so we weren't able to enjoy everything there fully but we really loved the place and plan on going back to the Stowe Motel again very soon when we are able to stay there longer.

I'm sure there are other motels in the area that are just as good, but I was very happy with the choice we made especially with the staff being so friendly, the unit being very clean and plan on being a frequent customer even if my daughter doesn't choose that college.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Owner at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for rating us a 5 out of 5! We really appreciate your wonderful comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you again for recommending us on Trip Advisor! We hope you can visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 463 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Stowe Motel a second time. We love this Motel. it is clean and comfortable with lots of amenities; game room with pool table, ping pong, fooz ball and a great room to sit and entertain with friends in front of the fireplace. The staff is friendly and available and the cleaning staff gets an A+++ rating from us. We will come again. The rates are affordable - thank you Stowe Motel. Don and Margaret Davis

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadyrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Owner at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for rating us a 5 out of 5! We really appreciate your wonderful comments about our property and staff. i'm glad you enjoyed our game room. We made a few improvements last year to the game room with a new gas fireplace and some new furniture. Thank you again for recommending us on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stay at the Stowe Motel each time I'm in town, I have stayed there many many times and I last time I stayed there was on April 7, 2013 and in my book, it ranks as the most convenient lodging in Stowe. It is clean, the rates are reasonable and it is within walking distance to restaurants.
The complimentary breakfast is great and whether you are checking in or checking out you are always greeted by Michelle with her beautiful smile.
M.K.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoweV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

 Thank you for great review and for your wonderful comments about our staff and the cleanliness of our property. We really appreciate you sharing your positive experience with Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Been coming here for more than 20 years. Our 4 kids love this motel. My wife told me its the only motel that she does not have to bring lysol. The motel staff has always been courteous and accommodating. For Family value, The rooms are spacious with kids. The pool, tennis court, and mountain bikes have always been a hit for family activity. We've recommended this motel to other friends and they all feel the same way and started making this a destination point for their vacations. Our oldest married chid is now planning her summer vacations and it includes staying at the Stowe motel. For cleanliness, comfort, value, staff, and Location, you can't beat this motel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for giving us such a glowing review! It is humbling to be able to see families stay here for their vacations, year after year, and seeing children grow up and then visit us as adults. We are fortunate to have such loyal, wonderful return guests like you. We strive to be a reasonable, clean, comfortable place for families to stay, with many activities such as free bikes, heated pools, tennis, badminton, game room and more. We now have just added free dvd rentals (and dvd players) for guests. In the winter we also have snowshoes for guests to use. Thank you again for taking the time to recommend us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked the Riverside Efficiency (hadn't come across this term before) for 3 days at the end of the February vacation and it was perfect for our needs. We were 2 families of 5, with children aged 7 to 14.
The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean, but more importantly for us, the common areas were really well equipped. I was concerned that the kitchen might just be designed for reheating take-outs, but there were plates, flatware, pans and serving dishes of an appropriate size and quantity for a house that sleeps 8-10. In fact it sleeps 10 comfortably, but the dining table is designed for 8.
The decor is slightly less gloomy than it appears in the photos, and having the hot tub was a real plus - just a shame that you had to go through the car port to get to it. Not a big deal, but slightly inconvenient.
The motel is a 5-10 minute drive from the ski area.
Overall a great place to stay for a self-catering group.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Frances V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let people know about our 4 bedroom Riverside House. Although it's a little older than our other house rentals, it's a well equipped, cozy home. I didn't realize that Riverside only had the 8 chairs, not 10 and will look into additional seating. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We also have newer, larger homes available as well, all with hot tubs and free wi-fi.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here at our Riverside House. We hope you can visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I give this place a very good because of the value. It's not the nicest or most modern place we have ever stayed, but for the price, you can't go wrong. We stayed in a room with two double beds. Room was super clean, but dated. Everything worked, water pressure is good and showers were hot. If we were to stay here again we would request a second floor room because it's kind of loud on the bottom floor once everyone in up and moving around in the morning. We were also right above the sump pump for the basement of the building and it would kick on every hour or so throughout the night. It didn't really both us, but something to be aware of. Free continental breakfast will get the job done, large selection of cereal, bagels, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice. No pools open in the winter, but they have a couple hot tubs. The one close to our room wasn't working, so we had to use the one near the main office.

If your looking for a good value and not hung up on it being a bit dated,you'll be fine here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelDog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hearty continental breakfast and hot showers. We only have the one hot tub, it replaced the older hot tub that was near the breakfast room last year. We plan to have the older one removed this year to avoid confusion for guests. Thank you for letting us know about the pump noise, I will mention that to our maintenance department. During holiday weeks like February vacation, many of the rooms fill up, and people go up skiing first thing in the morning, so generally the second floor would be a quieter. We also have some nicer units, Deluxe Efficiencies or fireplace rooms which are newer. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked two rooms last week (Feb 18, 2013) for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised. My 16 year old thought we were staying at some "sketchy" motel but what we found was nice clean rooms with comfortable beds. We had a large end room with a wood burning fireplace, two queen beds and a full kitchen. It was stocked with pots and pans as well as a full size coffee maker and small refrigerator. The bathroom had nice soap, shampoo and body lotion. Our second room was in a different building and was a very nice standard room. We had originally reserved a small room with a single double bed but upon check-in we were advised by the attentive and professional staff that they had upgraded our room to a larger room with two queen beds. We unfortunately had a family tragedy at home and could only stay for two nights. The hotel staff was very understanding and refunded us for one room and advised us they would try to sell the other room for us in which case they would refund us for the room. In any case they advised us if they didn't sell the room we would have a credit to come back and stay there. I don't think we will get back there this year but will absolutely stay there when we return to Stowe!
The hotel is at a convenient location on Mountain Rd. and takes just a few minutes to get to the slopes at Stowe. They served a nice continental breakfast every morning at 7:30 and there are many restaurants in the area for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKTNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such great comments about our property. Thank you for your wonderful feedback about our staff and rooms. I'm sorry to hear that you had to leave early, but hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.1 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.9 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Motel & Snowdrift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Motel & Snowdrift

Address: 2043 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $117 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stowe Motel & Snowdrift 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between picturesque Stowe Village and the Stowe Mountain Resort, the Stowe Motel & Snowdrift is situated on 16 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, bordered by the pristine Westbranch River. A variety of lodging including rooms, efficiencies, fireplace efficiencies, apartments, suites and houses is offered. Guests can partake in our continental breakfast, mountain bikes, snowshoes, hot tub, heated pools, tennis courts, game room and more. Free wireless is also available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stowe Motel & Snowdrift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Motel And Snowdrift
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift Hotel Stowe
Stowe Hotel Snowdrift
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing