We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep driving by OGrady's...”
Review of O'Grady's Grill and Bar - CLOSED

O'Grady's Grill and Bar
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: American, Irish, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Keep driving by OGrady's...”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose this resteraunt looking for corned beef and cabbage for St Patrick's Day. As far as the corned beef dinner was concerned, it was delicious and prepared with excellent flavor. The bread served was a bit dry and lacking any true flavor. We didn't risk dessert.

Unfortunately, the atmosphere reminded us of a very tired looking rental hall lacking any kind of decor worth mentioning. The ventilation must need repair as the stale odors of past meals just lingered together in the air. The restroom is located very close to the dining room itself enabling everyone to view the occupant as they exited.

We would not return anytime soon. There are much better choices in Stowe!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heartRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    63
    34
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looked okay from the road”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Atmosphere was Legion Hall like. Food was not exceptional or even good. And we were hungry. The four of us had dinner and no one was satisfied with the meal. The one thing we agreed on was that we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A must try if you are in for a good burger/ fish and chips”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the food at O'Grady's. I had the O'Grady's burger and thought it was great! They used Elmore Mountain bread and had an array of add-ons which were great! Thumbs up on the burger. The kids had fish and chips and cleaned their plates. The fish looked great and had a nice crisp outer coating! All in all, well done! We also loved the wings, very flavorful!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frannie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is great, the ambiance is nice, and the owner Kevin is very friendly. Great bar tender. Nice choice of wines

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruces909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Last minute choice, first rate experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I were in Stowe for New Year's 2013. As expected, many of the restaurants were full every single night with tourists/visitors. Striking out on two restaurants already, we made a stop here...and quite glad that we did. Granted, the service was a little slow (but that seemed to be the norm in Stowe because every restaurant was very laid back with service). But the food was delicious. The house made wings were extremely flavorful and paired perfectly with the house made ranch-n-blue cheese dressing. Our main courses were the Cioppino and the Lobster Roll - both of which were quite ample in portion and delectable in flavor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Grady's Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing