We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful, accomodating and great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful, accomodating and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

While at Northern Lights Lodge, we were very comfortable. Everything we needed was there and anytime we asked for something it was provided. Rooms were clean and well kept. Lodge is located within minutes of Stowe, perfect for first runs. food and hospitality was the best. Fresh meals prepared on site for the size and taste of those staying at the time.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    136
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
96
137
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

First off, as others have stated the free morning breakfast here is kick butt, it's a great way to get in your carbs to get though your morning of skiing. Homemade muffins, pancakes, sausage, bacon, coffee, juice,,, in short - breakfast rocked!

The Lodge is a wonderful throwback to the 1950's with of course modernizations. It's clean, has an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna. It's very family oriented, clean, the owners are awesome, and the rooms have great heating systems. They also have a separate area of which is for owners who travel with their dogs - $20 more a night.

If you want a nice clean friendly and you're not looking for that fancy schmancy type hotel than Northern Lights Lodge is the place for you. You can't beat the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeGretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Very nice and convenient to Stowe. Breakfast included. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbcohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

The place is old and dated, but mattresses and bedding are new and comfortable, so you can get a good night sleep there. The family-run operation was a bit overwhelmed with the holiday weekend ski crowd. The breakfast buffet was good, but where was the real Vermont maple syrup and no fresh fruit?
Another oddity was the lack of toilet paper. The chambermaid did not place a back-up roll in our room, so I had to go into the women's bathroom at 5:00am to redeploy a roll for my room. (Someone had already beaten to the men's room toilet paper.) Another guest we know had to ask at the front desk for another roll.
A big plus is that you are 1 mile to the lifts.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutCruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

We chose this hotel based upon the good reviews but we were very surprised and dissapointed. We understand the owners are fairly new and have upgraded alot of things and are still doing so. Our room was pretty shabby so it must not have been upgraded yet.

What was really unacceptable was the houskeeping. When we checked into our room the carpet was filthy. and I mean filthy, like it had not been vacuumed in a week, it certainly was not vacuumed after the party before us checked out. The bathroom mirror and glass top on the table was also dirty. We complained about the carpet and it was vacuumed right away while we went out to dinner. However, the housekeeping did not improve over the 3 nights we stayed there. The cups, ice bucket liner, tissues and toilet paper were never replenished and we were using napkins from out pockets in the toilet the morning we left. We asked for the bath mat to be changed and it was not. Shabby or not, good housekeeping would go a long way.

The fan vent on the ceiling in the bathroom was leaking from somewhere and dripped on both our heads. Our room door lock did not close securely, you could see a large space from outside the door and easily open it with just a credit card (which we did just to try) no deadbolt, chain or peephole.

Breakfast was ok, there was some nice freshly baked muffins and stuff but the hot food was not very hot at all. The coffee was very good. Some healthy choices would have been appreciated. At the very least apples, bannanas and yogurt are easy enough.

One of the main doors to the parking lot only opens halfway and at that is very hard to open at all making it quite a challenge to get in and out with your luggage.

The pool area is very nice, the bridge is charming and the hot tub and sauna are great. However something smells very very very nauseatingly bad, (like dead mouse) in the pool area and into the halls on both sides. I suspect it is the pool cover because once it is rolled up in mid morning the smells goes away.

Also, their website shows and mentions a pool table and a ping pong table however those amenities are not available as that area is under construction. They should update thier website.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

I stayed in this hotel twice this year, and was impressed both times. The first time I stayed in an efficiency apartment and the second, in a double room. Both rooms were clean, comfortable and close to the indoor pool. The efficiency apartment had a fully stocked kitchen and we were able to cook full meals. The key highlight was the complimentary hot breakfast which is an extremely good value: eggs, sausage/bacon, pancakes/waffles, muffins, cereal, juices, etc. I was very impressed with the quality of the home made meals. When we checked in, there were freshly baked cookies waiting for us!

In terms of location, the hotel is located close to Stowe mountain (with shuttle service) and close to the Stowe village, shopping, convenience store and all amenities and nightlife. It was great that we didn't have to drive anywhere.

In terms of service, the two owners are very personable and helpful. When we had a problem with our pullout couch (which a previous guest had broken), they replaced it right away. When I lost my ski pants they tried to get me another pair. Overall, they are a knowledgeable and entertaining couple, who really added value to our stay. They are also committed to fully renovating the units and keeping the place cozy, in the tradition of a Swiss Ski lodge.

For the quality of experience, the reasonable rates and great amenities, this is the only place I will stay when visiting Stowe, and I highly recommend it to everyone I talk to!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Enjoyed our stay. The rooms where basic, comfy and clean. Because of the age of the hotel the insulation and windows were older and therefore made the nights cold but the innkeepers and staff where right there at your request with more blankets and more then willing to do anything they could to make the stay the best it could be. Super close to skiing and right on the shuttle route made it perfect for our group. Breakfast was VERY good each morning and it was included in the stay price. My family would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernLightsLodgeV, Manager at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
HI Karpar,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear to that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. We try really hard to make all of our guests feel that this is their home away from home.

You are right that in a few of our rooms in the riverside building, it can occassionally take a little longer than we would like for the heating system to warm up the rooms when we have a really cold night and the temperatures get well below zero. We are happy to report that we are in the process of converting the entire Lodge into a "Green" Hotel. This past summer we replaced all of the windows in the main building, added additional insulation, and upgrading the heating system, to make sure that those rooms are toasty warm even on the coldest of nights. We will be giving the riverside building the same treatment during our late spring and late fall off-seasons.

We hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to the lodge for a future visit.
thanks again,
Mike and Shannon
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
3.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Property: Northern Lights Lodge
Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe
Northern Lights Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing