We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
petaluma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“could do better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had the value room small but big enough for one person, hotel staff seem to be one person, many times i would call and would get voice mail. Room could use a lot of work, I can here the person talking in the next room right now. The room has a funky smell that very noticable when you first walk in. i had to borrow a ground adaptor because the room only has two prong sockets

Room Tip: compare it to other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlagdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    136
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
96
137
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September, we booked the room on the day of our stay and there were no issues with the reservation.

The lodge is located a few minutes from Stowe alongside other motels on the Mountain Road, it's really easy to find.

The receptionist (I think he was the owner) who checked us in was informative, friendly and helpful, there were also home baked cookies in reception which were very nice! Upon check in I was reminded that we had booked a value room with a small bed for 2 people just to ensure I was happy with that. Upon arriving at the room, to be honest the bed isn't that small, if you are from the UK it's the size of a regular double bed.

The room was small, but fine for one night. It's a bit dated but is very similar to other mountain cabin/motel style rooms we have stayed in. They are quite old (still have old electricity sockets), the curtains didn't fit great and the room is in need of a freshen up. It was clean enough but just a bit dusty in places, attention to detail would make it feel cleaner. The in room wi-fi worked very well and was fast and reliable.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, the best we have had during our tour across America. There is cereal, juice, coffee, scrambled eggs, sausages, potatoes, french toast, chocolate chip biscuits, sweet muffins, toast etc. Everything was cooked fresh (which you could tell from the taste) and the muffins / biscuits were home baked. The fireside dining room was very relaxing and this breakfast certainly made up for the dated room!

The room scores an average but the breakfast a very good.

If I passed by Stowe again some time in the future, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is very nice, cozy place. We stayed there for a night. But the inkeepers were very helpful.
This place is very to the STOWE eating places, as well as the ski places. It is in the midway to STOWE DT, and ski places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beware this place needs a lot of remodeling and some customer service training! Breakfast is okay but food was cold. The rooms have no extras such as blow dryers. Everywhere you look is dirty or just old and tired. For the amount of money we spent I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsgswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernLightsLodgeV, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Erin,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lodge. We are sorry you were disappointed with you stay.

We do wish you had mentioned your concerns while you were staying with us as we certainly would have done our best to help you have an enjoyable vacation. We have been working our way through the building making many renovations, including adding wall mounted hair dryers, and for rooms that do not yet have these, we have plenty of extra hairdryers behind the desk that we would have been glad to bring to your room. if there was a housekeeping issue in your room, we certainly would have been glad to address it right away if you had mentioned it to us.

We are not sure what additional extras you feel were missing from our Lodge. We have an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, game room, guest Lounge, a full hot breakfast, as well as cookies and hot cider every afternoon. While we are not a 4 star resort with amenities like a gym or business center, we do offer far more amenties than nearly all of the other hotels in our price range in Stowe.

We are always trying to improve the Lodge and we would really like to discuss your concerns in further detail. If you would consider calling us at 802-253-8541 when you have a minute, we would really appreciate it. Also, we would like to offer you a free future night stay. We hope you decide to give the lodge another try and we will do everything we can to exceed your expecations on a future visit.

Have a great day,
Mike and Shannon
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the start of september. Its quite a drive from the main street and restaurants and shops of Stowe so you will need to use your car. The location is beautiful, we were in one of the motel rooms at the bottom of the grounds and our room led straight to the river, lovely to sit there at night with a few beers.
The accommodation is really quite old, our room was small, outdated and only fairly clean. Wasn't impressed to see toe nails on the floor when we arrived!! Bed was awful, so uncomfortable! Breakfast was ok, buffet style but really nothing special! I would stay here again for the location but not for the accommodation.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hanbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernLightsLodgeV, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Hanbeth,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We recently upgraded the Landscaping by the river and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed spending time back there.

The room that you reserved was our value room. Our value rooms are our smallest rooms. They only have 1 double bed, and have not yet been renovated like many of our other rooms have, but with rates as low as $73, including a full hot breakfast, they are an amazing value, and are a fraction of the cost of most accomodations in Stowe. These rooms are very popular with singles and with young couple traveling on a budget, but they are small rooms, and they are not for everyone. We are sure that you would have been much more comfortable in one of our larger rooms.

We are sorry you didn't find our breakfast special. We provide a very large selection every day with eggs, potatoes, pancakes, breakfast meats, cereals, muffins, scones, fresh fruit, breads, bagels, fresh juices, and Green Mountain Coffee. Many of the larger, much more expensive hotels, charge $10-$20 per person for a breakfast with a much smaller selection than our complimentary buffet.

We were very disappointed to hear that you found a toenail in your room. We take great pride in our housekeeping, and try hard to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable room. If you had informed us of any housekeeping issues while you were here, we would have immediately corrected them and tried to make sure you had the best possible vacation experience.

We do hope you consider returning to the Lodge in the future. We always try hard to make all of our guests feel that this is their home away from home, and will try very hard on a future visit to exceed all of your expectations.

Have a great day,
Mike and Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend and our 2 dogs in a 1 bedroom efficiency for a weekend. The lodge seems to be being updated little by little but is clean and tidy as is. There was plenty of room in our room for up to 4 people and 2 dog crates. Breakfast buffet was great. We had pancakes 1 day and french toast the other. Both days had cereal, juice, toast, eggs, homefries and bacon or sausage. There is indoor and outdoor pools. The owners were really welcoming and gave great tips on local hikes. The lodge is right on 108 and very close to Stowe resaurants. I would highly recommend this lodge especially if travelling with pets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murph9th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernLightsLodgeV, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review. We really enjoyed speaking with you about your hiking trip up the Long Trail with the dogs. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to the Lodge soon.

Have a great day,
Mike and Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I especially loved the lodge property! There is a beautiful river located directly behind the lodge, a gazebo, an outdoor pool, and lots of land (great for star-gazing or kicking a ball around). We stayed two nights and hot breakfast was great. French toast, pancakes, eggs, bacon, and sausage were all part of the buffet. Delicious! The rooms were outdated, but cozy. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful. My biggest complaint was that the sheets were cheap. The bed itself was comfortable, but the sheets, not so much. I would stay again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernLightsLodgeV, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi ChellyBell,

Thanks so much for your review.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and found your room cozy. We realize that some of our rooms are a bit outdated, so we have been working our way through the building, renovating our rooms for the last 2 years with updated bathrooms, new beds, carpets, and flat screen tv's, so if you return in the future, we think you might be pleasantly suprised to see some of the changes.

We noticed that you were fans of star-gazing the vermont skies. We can defintely appreciate that. We find ourselves sitting out by the river for hours on quiet nights in the off season, just relaxing and counting the seemingly endless stars in the night sky.

Have a great day and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Mike and Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
3.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Property: Northern Lights Lodge
Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe
Northern Lights Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing