We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday Brunch”

Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $42
Cuisines: Austrian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stopped by to check out the outdoor center and have Sunday brunch at the dining room. Great brunch, lots of choices made in authentic Austrian style. Building highlights history of the Von Trapp family and their journey to the United States. Breathe taking views. Fresh snow had fallen.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelteach92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    87
    38
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty food, Unconventional service”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Food was very good, however It arrived less then 5 min after we order it that made me question its being fresh. Nice atmosfere and good port wine. Also recommend trying Apple Sthtruddele. Probably second best I tried in US after the one I make myself :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Squirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first meal while on a ski vacation in Stowe. We began with an amazing sleigh ride booked through the resort and then ended with dinner at the lodge. This was a very kid/family friendly restaurant. We always eat on the early side when taking our children out and this reservation was for 5:30PM. There were 7 of us in our party and we were able to sit at a lovely round table with an amazing view of the mountains. The wine list was extensive and moderately priced. The menu had all kinds of options and the kids menu was one of the best I have seen. They even had kids appetizers which is a rarity. The kids fruit plate appetizer was served in a beautiful bowl with a large portion of fresh fruit and berries my kids were thrilled with it.

There were some nice specials including a seafood chowder that my husband raved about.

My filet was good, but certainly not a steak house quality steak. The fish and pork chop entrees were much better.

Save room for dessert! The Austrian apple streudel and linzor torte were absolutely to die for!

The staff was very warm and welcoming and the piano player in the lounge was fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sullymom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delectable Dining at Trapp Family Lodge”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A glorious day of xc skiing was topped off with our dining experience at the Trapp Family Lodge Dining Room. Our waiter provided exceptional service as we relaxed in the soft candle light, enjoying each course. Planning ahead to save room for dessert, we shared a nice creamy bowl of soup. Main entree portions satisfied our ravenous appetites; wiener schnitzel was ever so tender and deliciously topped with lingonberry jam. Scallops meal was delectable! Our beverage of choice was the Trapp Brewery's seasonal winter lager, the dark Trosten Bier, a real treat. For dessert, the Linzertorte is not to be missed. (You can buy some to take home at the Deli-Bakery, which I always do when visiting.) I first tried Linzertorte while living abroad and relish the spicy walnut crust and raspberry-current filling. The authentic Linzer cookie is rarely found in the USA, so for me, this dessert along with a steamy cappuccino was the perfect conclusion to a memorable dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Austrian ambience, exquisite plates!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

As a Von Trapp affectionades, my children begged to go there for dinner. The ambience was definitely Austrian, sound of music one. The food was pricy but worth it. The only disappointment was in the limited menu, in that most dishes are mixed with pork, bacon, bruschetta, and other pork derivatives, including their salmon special that evening. I'd recommend having more variety. Would go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnfantsDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing