We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good value”

Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Price range: $8 - $42
Cuisines: American, Austrian, European, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a good value”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Dinner was too pricey for the amount of food you received. Veal was not tender. Chicken dinner too pricey for 1 chicken breast. Beautiful view of the mountains. Service was very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmmz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    93
    42
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The hills were alive, but the dining experience not so much...”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I'd wanted to visit the Trapp Family Lodge for years. When we found ourselves in northern Vermont on a road trip, we just had to stop in for a visit. We decided to go for a romantic summer dinner in their main dining room. We made reservations. The views of the hills with cotton candy fog that seemed shredded by the forest was spectacular. The pretty garden and playful chipmunks outside our window table was entertaining. The menu seemed limited and not the variety I hoped for this special meal. The Austrian Feast with three prix fixed courses was straight off the menu, nothing special, so we found it less expensive to order ala carte. The host and waiter were bland and slow. There was not sense of the Austrian richness I was expecting. I had the Pork Tenderloin with a wine redux sauce and grilled eggplant veggies. The veggies were excellent, the Pork uninteresting. The bread was also uninteresting as was the spring salad. It was nice to know some of the vegetables were grown on site. There is no history on the menu and our waiter knew no details of how the family came to be in Stowe. Prices were high and we were prepared to pay for a very special experience, but overall the evening was an average fine dining experience. Not special enough for the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant dining”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Most dress biz casual for the dining room at Trapp. In the busy months, you may need a reservation. I've eaten here several times and have not been disappointed. It's casual enough to bring the little ones, just hope they are behaved because next to your table you may have a couple on a romantic night. So it covers all experiences.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LucyLager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch was limited in selection”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

My kids loved the food. The view was nice. It was $163 before tip for a family of five, including two beers. I thought the view and pricing were much better at the deli/brewery down the road. I wish I had done that instead. Another reviewer seemed to get a better deal for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank RoadTrip19Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, elegant surroundings”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary with dinner at the Trapp Lodge. The food and wine were excellent. The service was helpful and courteous. The whole experience was most most pleasant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrick040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing