We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food & cocktails great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff House Restaurant

Cliff House Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 100 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
308 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good food & cocktails great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Came up on the gondola which you should factor into the cost if you are just coming to the restaurant and not doing some hiking as well.
The views from the restaurant are beautiful and there is a really peaceful atmosphere.
There is a good choice of cocktails if you fancy something other than beer or wine.
As it was lunchtime we skipped starters and for our mains we choose the wild mushroom wrap, fish tacos and the smoked trout fishcake all of which were very good. Service was friendly and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    45
    14
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to have a Summer lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Gondola ride to the top was fun. $50 round-trip for two. Had a salad with Cod on the patio which was very good. Views are great. The inside restaurant looked a lot nicer than the web site photos. Service was just fine.

Kind of a one time thing though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tcmorse6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You have to pay to get there!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The gondola rides are $25 per adult and $16 for kids. You basically have to pay to get to this restaurant. The view was great but only for 4 small tables on the patio and 4 small tables inside. We are party of 6 so we got a large table on the second from the window row. No view. And the food was on expensive side.
The same morning we went to the Scenic Toll Road, had much better view and a very exciting trip. We should have gone to Mc'Carthy's - a great inexpensive restaurant nearby...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ValeriaZonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Almost dropped my kids off the balcony...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The view was exceptional, we had a great clear day.. And of course my kids were acting up so I almost sent them down the gondola on their own.. "Good luck sucka's, you little brats!" Our waiter was very patient with our group of 6 adults and 4 kids. They have a solid kids menu, grilled cheese, chicken fingers, PB&J, Mac n cheese.. What else would a kid want?!

I had the watermelon gazpacho which was great, we shared the abundant cheese plate which went great with the local VT micro-brew beer options. Lots of good things to choose from.. And you pay a bit extra for the view.. so what! It's beautiful.. Enjoy it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank workhplayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Major Let Down...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

In a nutshell - Food is mediocre at best, poor wine list, service is poor and rude.

First piece of advice - IF you decide to go here, make sure you request a window seat. Otherwise, you're just eating in a dingy & outdated restaurant (doesn't even qualify for "rustic"). We did not specify window reservations and when we arrived there were a few window tables open and when we asked to be seated at a window table we were told (by the incredibly rude hostess) that "the restaurant was fully booked tonight"....Okay.....We also made reservations and are here and would like a window table. Not sure what the deal was, but all I can guess is that you must specify in your reservation request that you want a table next to the window. Also the great patio was closed for some reason. I think all those that couldn't have gotten a window table would have been satisfied with at least being able to sit outside since it was a gorgeous evening.

We wanted to have the fondue for a starter and our server never put it in, so we sat and waited until our entrees arrived. When she dropped off the entrees I inquired about the fondue when she told us that she did not put it in because she thought we were just "asking" about it. True, I did ask a question about the fondue, but then I specifically said, "Cool, we will start with that then!". She offered to give us dessert on her, but since we had already hit up the Ben and Jerry's factory, we did not want dessert. We appreciated her effort to make up for her mistake, but were already over our "experience" there at this point.

Salmon dish was okay, but nothing to brag about. Chicken dish was a little dry and not much flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cliff House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing