We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an absolutely beautiful, perfect, elegant and classy resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“an absolutely beautiful, perfect, elegant and classy resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stoweflake resort is an absolutely beautiful , perfect, elegant and classy resort. It's just perfect in every way. Our room was just gorgous. The employees are very kind and helpful people. Many ammenities. The pools are great. Very close to hiking trails and the recreation bicycle path. You can rent bicycles at the resort. Eat at Pie-Piazzo restaurant. Delicious pizza.
We had a wonderful time. Truly loved this resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    216
    81
    45
    21
See reviews for
179
272
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stayed in one of their townhouses. Nice room with good facilities although electrics were dodgy on both fridge and cooker rings. Outdoor pool is good. Whole site very spacious and well kept. Food is good though rather pricey in both restaurants. Eddie, the barman in Charlie B's is brilliant. We treated ourselves to a day at the spa including facial and massage - very luxurious and enjoyable but treatments cost about twice what one pays for comparable services in the health club at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed here for a "mini-honeymoon" for two days after our wedding in early August. The hotel is in an excellent location within Stowe with easy access to restaurants, downtown, and the mountain. We were intially given a lower level room which was dated and small, but, after calling the front desk we were offered an upgrade to a club level room for $40. The upgraded room was large and modern and had a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. No complaints about this room. We also booked spa treatments which were excellent. The spa was clean and modern.

The one disapointment that I must mention is the quality of the common areas. We found the pools (both outdoor and indoor) and jacuzzi tubs to be old and uninviting. While they appeared clean, they are certainly not up to the standards of a four star resort, and should be renovated. Also, we rented bicycles from the hotel which were old and poorly maintained. When we found out that nearby bike shops were renting out brand new bicycles for the same price we immediately asked for refunds, which were given, although hesitantly.

Overall the location is wonderful and the newer rooms are great. If you are going in the winter or don't care about the pool, then this is a great place to stay. The spa is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights at the Stoweflake Resort in July and were overall quite pleased with our accomodations and the amenities at the resort. Upon check in we were escorted to our room and it seemed unreasonably warm even after turning on the A/C . We called the front desk and a maintenance man was at our door immediately. He made several checks and tried to fix the problem but we were not getting any A/C no matter what he did. Another call to the front desk and we were upgraded to another room almost instantly. The new room contained a fireplace and was considerably larger with a much nicer bath room. The pool (outdoor) at the resort is adequate and serves the purpose and they also have an indoor pool which we did not use. A spa is on site but we did not use that either. The resort is on Mountain Road which is home to just about every type of restaurant and only a couple miles from downtown Stowe.

The resort has two restaurants on site and we did eat at the more casual one for one of the nights we were there. The food was OK but nothing to rave about and the prices were high but then prices are high everywhere in Stowe!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubsfanforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

My second review of this fantastic place, last time of stay was in the Fall this time in the height of summer. Once again the whole experience could not be faulted. The staff can not do enough for you. The pool, pool area and grounds in general all so well kept, as is the body of the hotel. Did not have time to check out the Spa but plenty of people were using it and all seemed extremely relaxed and happy. Ate in Charlie B's each night and again the food was well presented and extremely good, the wine list never ceases to amaze and we even had the bonus of finding the particular wine we have been looking for since having it in Las Vegas 2 years ago - expensive but so very worth it. Our room (307) was as lovely as ever, large and airey and such a comfortable bed. The hotel is halfway up the Mountain Road and the walking/bike riding path is extensive and pretty and runs very close to the hotel (I think you may be able to hire bikes from the hotel). The views of the surrounding tree covered mountains is beautiful (tho not as pretty as in the Fall) and for those who love to ski the hotel and area are ideal. The wonderful wine and cheese shop opposite the hotel is an added bonus for those who love to picnic, another added bonus of the local. We are unable to go next year but will be back to Stoweflake again as soon as we are able - why stay anywhere other than perfection !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamPsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was our second stay at this resort, this time with kids and it was just as good the second time. The outdoor pool is great for younger kids and the saltwater is a lot nicer than full chlorine. The room was large and spacious and very well appointed. Stowe is a wonderful place to unwind in the summer as I imagine it is less busy than the ski season. Lots of great, affordable restaurants near by. lots to do in the area and at the resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T42N24T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

We went to Stoweflake for this years skiing - after several years at Timberholm. Timberholm changed owners almost 2 years ago and the new owners ruined our vacation to say so it was time to find a new place.

After much research we decided to give Stoweflake a chance (location is good and the amenities are much better than at Timberholm).

We were surprised to find that the rates weren't much different than had we stayed at Timberholm - and then on top of that we had our own kitchen, living room, access to the pool, outdoor jacuzzi, gym etc etc.

We went 2 families and an elder family friend. Everyone enjoyed the trip so much and we all pledged to come again. In fact we were sorry that we had wasted the previuos year on a bad experience at Timberholm.

The cleanliness of the room wasn't the greatest but the hotel did everything to solve any issues promptly. Also, they brought firewood, fire starters and whatever we would need promptly. The washing machine didn't work but they were great and immediately made sure we had access to another washing machine. This was such a great experience and we definitely will not go anywhere else in the future.

Stephanie at the front desk did an outstanding job helping us with the reservation making sure we got good rooms etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkrejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing