We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and Spa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel and Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here last June for our anniversary. Our first night we stayed at a spa room and were upgraded to a one bedroom suite the second night. Although it is an older hotel we were very impressed by the hotel staff and spa. Really great location and convenient to exploring the area. The Stowe Recreation Path runs close to the hotel and is a nice place to go walking.

The on-site restaurant is just Ok, but there are lots of other restaurants in the area...check out the Rusty Nail Bar & Grill for a great hamburger or salad. There is also a very nice wine and cheese store right across the street. We had a really great dinner at the Trapp Family Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ml_812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    216
    81
    45
    21
See reviews for
179
272
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

I had been looking for a last minute overnight stay in Stowe for my girl's birthday. I wanted to have her have a pampered day in the spa while I hit the slopes. Everything was perfect. The hotel was very up to date for Vermaont and the rooms were gorgeous Marble bathrooms and the funrinshings such as the comforter, pillows, really made a difference. I usually don't notice these things but they really stood out. I slept like a baby.

The hotel allowed us to check out late which really made things easier for us. THe spa I hear was deffinately four star. My girlfriend worked in 5 star spas on Maui and had nothing but great things to say about the staff and the facilities. She was there from 10am to 4pm and did not want to leave. Roy and Jules in particular were fantastic. The spa treatments were well priced, about half as much as Stowe mountain resort.

We ate at Harrisons which was cozy with great food and a nice eccletic wine list. I am a fooooody in the business. I did some research and it lived up to its billing. Where the locals go from what I understand.

I though the price was a steal. 500 dollars out the door for the room, herbal wrap and massage, spa manicure pedicure parafinn treaments, and breakfast with dropping an extra 40 on spa tips.

Conditions at stowe were great. Skiied my first double black diamond :)
We will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

I was there for a conference this past weekend (3 nights) and stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse (2 couples) for a $675/night. The place was spacious and the hotel itself is well kept and cozy. Immediately upon arrival to the room, I noticed that it was visibly dirty. The kitchen cabinet doors were in bad shape and 2 were falling off the hinges. The shower curtain in one bathroom was stained and appeared moldy. On the second day, room cleaners showed up at 9 AM while we were still getting ready to leave. When we asked if they could come back in 30 minutes, they rudely stated that they had "40 other units to do and would probably not get back to us." They never returned and we were left with dirty towels and unmade beds until departure the next day, despite calls to the front desk. There were numerous other relatively minor things that were annoying especially given the premium prices we were paying. Overall an OK hotel experience but not even close to what I would expect at these prices.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kecidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimdixon, Director of Marketing at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
We are very sorry that our housekeeping failed during your stay. I have reviewed your experience with that department will take the corrective measures necessary. Again,
I apologize. Please call me if you would like to discuss this further.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

We left Ottawa on Friday afternoon after work and arrived at the Stoweflake Resort that evening. It appeared a little deserted upon arrival, but we were greeted at the front door to what appeared to be a rustic cabin-looking decor. I went down to the pub to order some food at about 10pm, and there was about six people sitting around the bar. It wasn’t the hub of popularity by any means. The food is less then average quality, deep fried with simple ingredients; average price was about $15/meal.

When I got back to the room, they didn’t give me a spoon for my soup. So I called down to the front desk, and was ensured that one would be brought up, which never came. As I inspected the room, I noticed that it was extremely cold. It appears that the room had not been stayed in for some time. It took 2 hours to get the room temperature from 68 – 73.
The television was an old Zenith 24” which had bad cable reception on most channels. The carpet was old and worn out. The walls had peeling wall paper on every piece, with cheap door knobs and dented doors. The washroom was half decent, but the bathtub was small. The initial evaluation had me wondering, “Is this a 4-Star Hotel?”.

Next day, I went down to the Spa to book us a massage. The ladies at the Spa were polite, but appeared bored due to lack of customers. I was told there were lots of spots available for massages, so I booked us a couple’s massage. I was shocked to find out that it was $255+TAX+18% Automatic Tip! That’s about $160US for their Signature 50 Minute Massage... NO THANKS!

The location was about a 10 minute drive to the mountains, and only 5 minutes away from lots of great restaurants. But as a new visitor to Vermont, I was quite disappointed. Nothing was within walking distance, and all the inns were along a busy road; not exactly the “resort” atmosphere I was expecting. This “Inn” should be properly rated as a 3-Star hotel at most, and my experience would give it an accurate 2.5-Star. There is no quality or luxury here, only poor location next to a busy road, high prices, and outdated decor.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khoazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimdixon, Director of Marketing at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. In addition to the AAA 4-diamond restaurant that we have on property, there is also our pub, which unfortunately did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry for that and would like to prove to you that it too has great cuisine. I have also reviewed your comments about your dining experience and guestroom--with my management staff--and will take appropriate corrective measures, including door handles, sprinklers, etc. As for the Vermont inspired décor, that is personal preference. We are also sorry that you did not take advantage of the spa. A massage at Stoweflake includes so much more than the actual treatment. With private men’s and women’s sanctuary lounges with whirlpools, steams, sauna’s, tea / juice bar and coed water treatment areas– it is meant for you to lavish in a full spa experience. As far as the area, there several restaurants and shops within walking distance that are accessible through the Stowe Recreation Path, a beautiful scenic walk. Again, we apologize that you did not have the vacation experience that you were looking for and would love to discuss this with you further. The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

We had 230 people go to the Stoweflake for our company holiday party. Most of them stayed the night too. The Stoweflake put on an awesome event. From the planning stages to the actual event.... everything was seamless. I like the Stoweflake because it's in the heart of the beautiful town of Stowe, Vermont. The hotel had a festive atmosphere and the food was great. We will be going back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McMasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

I am catching up on a year's worth of reviews, but I wanted to review this lovely hotel where I stayed in February.

I went with a female friend for a spa getaway. We had a room with two double beds and a fireplace. It was lovely and there was adequate space for two.

I reserved over the phone and the agent was pleasant and helped us put together a package with spa treatments. Check-in was easy and the bellman was very polite.

The spa is lovely (very much worth it), as are the toiletries in the rooms. Our room was very clean.

We ate the the pub (lovely) and at Winfield's (great, but for the quality relative to the price, the pub was a better option).

We did find the gym a little run-down and in need of updating at some point, and the staff who helped with our snowshoe rental were not particularly organized or helpful. Other than these two minor things, we had no complaints.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended it for an extra night. I look forward to going back.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suzieboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

My husband and I spent the second half of our honeymoon at the Stoweflake in Stowe, VT. We loved the hotel from the minute we walked in the front door. The lobby was beautiful with a roaring fire across from the front desk. And the service at the desk as wonderful. When I made the reservation months ahead of time, I mentioned that it was our honeymoon and when we checked in Justin at the front desk congratulated us on our marriage and was very friendly, asking how our trip was and if there was anything he could do for us. He just went out of his way to be nice and really made an impression on us.

We had a king room with a fireplace and it was beautiful. The room was spacious, had a gorgeous view of the mountains, and the bathroom was fabulous as well with a separate, jacuzzi tub and double sink. Everything was tastefully decorated and well maintained. The cleaning service was great - my husband was impressed with how they lined up all of our brushes and toiletries neatly on a towl on the counter.

I can't speak for the restaurants as we didn't eat there or have room service during our stay. We also didn't take advantage of the spa, although it was right below our room and looked very nice. Next time, we will be sure to give them a try!

The location of the hotel was also very convenient. Right in the middle of Stowe. We went to all of the nearby attractions and nothing was too far away.

We are definitely planning to go back to Stowe and stay at the Stoweflake and would recommend it to anyone planning a nice getaway!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWelch378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing