We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
vicky1308
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and location”
Reviewed March 13, 2009

I stayed at the Snowflake for a family ski holiday and we had a lovely time and were very impressed with everything the hotel had to offer.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    225
    89
    46
    23
See reviews for
189
283
29
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Yikes, don't do it! My husband and I bought a stay with breakfast at the Stoweflake at a charity auction. We stay at Top Notch a couple of times a year and thought it would be fun to try Stoweflake since it's right down the road from Top Notch and we had never been there. BAD CHOICE!!

When arrived at the hotel there was literally not a single parking space available. When I inquired about it I was told there was a conference happening and the lots would clear out around 5. Um, what? Perhaps you shouldn't have a conference center if you won't have enough parking spaces for your paying guests!!

The rooms are a nightmare. The walls and door must be made of paper, we could hear everything from the room next door which had a family in it. Loud, screaming baby, Dad playing with toddler. Running up and down the hall all night long. Ugh!

Our cell phones interfered with the alarm clock no matter where we put our phones in the room. We ended up having to unplug the alarm clock and not use it because it kept making really loud noises while it was plugged in.

The bathroom had holes in the wall - seemed like something had been screwed into the wall at some point and they never bothered to patch the wall paper after it was removed. There were black streaks on the bathroom wall. The walls were generally kind of stained and dirty. The shower head was caked with lime and as a result the water pressure was nil. (pictures of all of these things are included in my review).

The pool was DISGUSTING!!! There was rust all around the pool and mold and algae in a ring around the rubber seal. So gross. There were several places in the pool area where something had at some point been screwed into the wall and when it was taken down the holes were just left in the walls without being patched.

The breakfast in the morning was horrible. We waited 35 minutes from the time we ordered until the breakfast arrived and there were only two other parties in the restaurant. When breakfast did arrive, it was cold. The eggs and cheese on them had been sitting on a shelf somewhere for so long that they looked gelatinous. My husbands potatoes were barely cooked. It was TERRIBLE!!

The one redeeming quality of this place was the staff. The staff was really great and friendly and tried to help make up for things in anyway they could but they could only do some much. They can't make the place be well cared for if whoever is running it doesn't care. The staff seemed embarrassed by the condition of the hotel as I would be if I worked there.

Go to Topnotch and you will be so happy. Stoweflake was terrible. When we told them of all these issues and showed them pictures we took of the issues the staff was so sweet and tried to give us a future stay for free. We declined as we have no intention of ever staying there again!!!

I was unable to upload photos to this website, I will happily email them to anyone who is interested.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanyk, Marketing Representative at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
Dear Stoweflake Past Visitor,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Stoweflake. We were very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Stoweflake is typically known for luxurious rooms, great dining and service. Although your experience is an isolated instance, it is none-the-less very important to acknowledge these issues. Please let us prove to you that you can have the same fantastic experience that most of our guests profess.

We have taken all of your comments to heart and are addressing each one with great earnest. Specifically in regards to the parking issue, you had visited during a very popular family ski weekend, which can present space issues. During your next stay, please be sure to ask for our complimentary valet service.

Again, we apologize for your inconvenience.

Warm Regards,
Sheri Baraw Smith
Vice President/General Manager
Stoweflake Mt. Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

If you need medical assistance your in trouble. Got hurt while hiking and no one knew what they were doing. I go to many spas and I did not like this one at all. The rooms were HORRIBLE, dirty and ugh just horrible.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanyk, Marketing at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Dear Stoweflake Past Guest:
We were very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience and our lack of assistance for your injury. Our staff have been reminded of important procedures on how to handle this type of situation. It is an issue we take very seriously.

Also, Stoweflake takes great pride in our high standard of cleanliness for our facilities, including our guestrooms. We were surprised to hear of your disappointment in your guestroom. Again, this is not our normal standard and pride ourselves on the condition of our guestrooms.

We would certainly appreciate your consideration of a repeat visit, so that you can re-evaluate our facilities.

With Regard,
Sheri Baraw-Smith
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Took my daughter and grandaughter to Stoweflake for a 3 day winter getaway. Everything about our stay was adequate but totally mediocre...the room, the outdoor pool which was way underheated for winter, the spa services. The indoor pool was OK and good for us travelling with a child as it was mobbed with very active children. But I would definitely not choose stoweflake unless travelling with a big unruly family.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank kbarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanyk, Marketing at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Dear Stoweflake Past Guest:
We would like to apologize that your expectations were not met with your last visit to the Stoweflake. There are times during the year that are more popular with families than others. It is obvious that your visit fell during one of these times.

We take great pride in our guestrooms and are disappointed that, again, they did not meet your expectations. We would certainly appreciate your consideration of a repeat visit, so that you can re-evaluate our facilities.

With regard,
Sheri Baraw-Smith
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2008

We came for a weeks ski-ing in December and had a lovely time. We were very lucky with the snow! I was a little nervous about the hotel after reading the reviews- we had to book through Virgin and it was the best hotel they offered- but I was pleasently surprised! The staff were extremely nice, rooms spacious and clean and we were made to feel very welcome indeed. We most of our time on the mountain and it was nice to come back to the hotel at dusk for tea and biscuits before flopping in front of the fire in our room with a glass of wine- made it difficult to summon up the energy to go out for supper!
Stowe itself is very pretty- they make a conscious effort not to have any chain store in the town. Highly reccomend the Eidelwiss Country store up the Mountain Road for coffee and bacon sandwiches before hitting the slopes- very friendly welcome every morning, hot locally roasted coffee and fresh sandwiches.
Ben and Jerry 's is well worth a trip out if only to see people who seem geniunely happy in their work!

  • Liked — The friendly welcome and fires in the rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2008

STOWETAKE:
Vermont was wonderful. Hiking, Peaceful vistas, Enjoyed the Food Festival, We had wonderful dinners off and on property.

Breakfast in the Room every morning.

The SPA was hit and miss. My wife had a $300 45 minute facial. We spent thousands in the SPA and the $300 facial was very hard to swallow but no reduction was permitted. I believe the 18% gratuity is how the employees are paid. The priced menu is automatically increased by 18% upon payment.

One morning with breakfast they served a jelly jar that was already opened. Another morning I went to get our tea and the employee was friendly but placed his trash scoop right on top the restuarants hostess station.

Pricing was very confusing to me and I passed the CPA exam! Many plusses but overpriced for the room recieved. I loved Vermont and hope to return. Maybe with a down economy the inn will be more reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Walks in Vermont Countryside
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank InvestWisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Nice size room and property. Staff was very accomodating. Uncomfortable bed and pillows.

  • Liked — reasonable price, Nice spa
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed and pillows
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
165 reviews
2.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672-5099
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing