We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The townhouses are perfectly set up for a family reunion. The open fields next to them are ideal for playing frisbee, croquet, wiffle ball or setting up tables for a family cookout. The executive golf course was fun. Most important was the staff was attentive and very nice. We plan to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stowe638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 765 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel as part of a weekend getaway to Vermont.

The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive at both check-in and check-out, answering all our questions and giving tips. The actualy hotel is also very nice- a nice cozy ambience and a clean room with a comfortable bed and fireplace.

Changing channels on the TV was a bit slow and annoying, but it wasn't a big deal unless you plan on hanging out in your room all day watching TV. The bathroom was a good size and clean, although the towels, while clean, seemed to have stains from prior usage/overuse. My recommendation to staff would be to undertake periodic checks of the towels to ensure they're still looking clean.

I would go back and think it would be even more fun during the winter. The place also had an outdoor jacuzzi and an indoor pool, although I didn't try them out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victorsml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently had a three night stay at the Stoweflake Mountain Resort over the holiday weekend. This was during a five week stay touring New England.

On arrival it was busy which we were expecting due to the holiday. We were given keys which did not open our door but luckily our new neighbour who arrived at the same time was able to unlock our door with her key! An easy mistake we thought during a busy time and this was quickly rectified by the lovely Doreen at reception. We were also able to hand in the T-shirt the previous guest had left in the drawers when we next passed reception, an easy mistake we thought during this busy weekend!

What happened next day completely ruined the rest of our stay. Before I go on I must mention that Doreen on reception and her colleague did their very best to try to offer an apology by upgrading us to a suit for the following two nights and assured us she would speak to the head of housekeeping.

On return to our room after a seven hour day out we found our door had been left wedged open by the house keeper. Our property,which included three computers, a camera and all the other belongings you need for a five week vacation was left unsecured. One of the bins had not been emptied, tea supplies not replenished and mugs & glasses left unchanged.

We did after looking at the suite decide to move for the remainder of our stay. When we had taken the time to move our property we found the trash bin in the suite had been left unclean with a discarded & dirty old pair of mens training shoes. They were so big they poked over the top of the bin. Doreen again apologised and kept the bin for evidence, it was never replaced. By that time we didn't bother to mention the jacuzzi bath did not work....

We had expected to be contacted by a member of management the next day but not a word. Upon checking out when we mentioned this, the team seemed to have no details on record but said they would pass our complaint to management. I have waited three weeks before writing this review to allow management the time to perhaps e-mail us with an apology but not a word.

Again I would like to reiterate that Doreen and her colleague did all they could on the Sunday evening to try and make up for this series of mistakes.

We very carefully choose our accommodation with the help of trip advisor. We always expect a few negative comments as we appreciate some people's expectations will never be met. We have always been very lucky with accommodation in the past and the facilities at this hotel were generally good if a little dated.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank GapYearTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very nice stay. Clean & spacious rooms with lovely fireplaces. Great location in Stowe- can walk to almost everything. Close to the mountain for skiers/riders. Charlie B's pub in the Stoweflake is excellent for dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for two weeks and the staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. Even the maid was friendly and helpful. The most helpful of all was Susi the concierge. She would recommend places to go, book restaurants and help with any problems. She became a dear friend who made our holiday for us. A big thank you to JJ for showing us round and to the manager on the desk who upgraded us. The room was suptuous with two queensize beds and a gas log fire . The whole hotel had little areas with real or gas fires that made the place feel homely. Charlie B's was very friendly and a lovely atmosphere, food could be a bit hit and miss.
It is a perfect location with many walks and Stowe is a delightful town full of character and there are a lot of good local restaurants. We are starting to save already to go back. I bet its great when it snows because the Autumn was amazing.
I highly recommend the hotel remember ask Susi she is by far the Best Concierge, she will make you feel special.We'll be back one day.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disappointed123680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweflakeGM, General Manager at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear disappointed123680,

I personally wanted to thank you for your kind words. You’ve really captured my family’s home and the atmosphere we know it to be. I will be sure to pass along your mentions to the Susi and JJ, along with the rest of our staff. We would love to have you back when it snows as well, you’ll find many other things to try out with each new season! I hope you have great holidays and will see you soon!

Best,

Sheri Baraw Smith
V.P. and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Thanks to the staff and particularly Susie the concierge who made our vacation there this past summer a smashing success. She turned us on to the best restaurants in Stowe where my wife and I experienced first class dining: Hen of the Wood, Cafe Latina, Crop and Trattoria La Festa. It wasn't our first time at the Stoweflake and it definitely will not be our last.

Room Tip: Stay on the garden side which is generally more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent a weekend at this resort while on a company trip. The size of the resort from the outside is very deceiving as it is quite large. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the staff opening the door to welcome us. Overall the staff was very friendly - The check in process was swift. Our room was spacious with a gas fireplace, mini refrigerator, and keurig coffeemaker. The location of our room was close to the ballrooms where our events took place. The resort is very well situated in Stowe with a couple of small shopping plazas across the street as well as in close proximity to restaurants. It was close to the downtown area as well. Food selections for breakfast and dinners was great. The chefs were very accommodating with our requests. We also had the opportunity to rise (50-100 ft) in the Stoweflake tethered hot air balloon. The SPA was very nice yet I feel that the cost of the spa services were a bit high considering the services received. The manicure and pedicure services fell a bit short of full service to what I am used to. All in all we had an enjoyable weekend and fun trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subourd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowe
5.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
189 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672-5099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $199 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing