We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stowe Vermont is a great place to ski in the winter and hike in the summer. The best place to do these from is Stoweflake Mountain Resort and Spa. It is a family-run enterprise that has been successful for years. They have a wonderful spa with an indoor waterfall. The property has been upgraded over the years. A great place for a wedding or just a romantic weekend. And the town is great place for shopping, eating and looking for antiques.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardHammerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
There are newer reviews for Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 751 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Somehow, staying at Stoweflake always turns out to be a good experience all the time. I remember always being grumpy and finding things to complain about. We have stayed there in regular rooms, a suite and a cabin and always brought our dog with us. Obviously, we wouldn't come back repeatedly if we didn't like it. It's a good, comfy hotel sitting on a nice, well maintained property. Pet-friendly with a hefty fee, but then again everything has a hefty fee at Stoweflake. Expensive, but good restaurant is on site.

For the Spa & Sauna lovers this could work either way. It is good to have a sauna and the recreation area with different pools. It is only an o'k (slightly below average) sauna experience, not only because it isn't co-ed, but mostly because it is not hot enough. Not even the dry sauna is hot enough and the steam room is barely working most of the times. The outside area with hot and cold pools and a waterfall reminds a bit of a mid level all-inclusive resort, but is very good to have. While not recommended as a targeted sauna experience, this might be your only accessible option in the area. You will most likely enjoy it, and you will definitely enjoy the hotel if you decide to stay there. Just make sure you participate in some discount, or rebait program.

Room Tip: All rooms we stayed in were nice. They are dog-friendly, so that scores some points for them.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JarvNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is nice and the staff is very accommodating. The rooms were nice, the beds were comfy, but the hallways don't have A/C so it gets a little hot. My one complaint about the rooms were no balconies. The spa was really nice, great waterfall and hot bath but the steam rooms were a little weak. All in all it's a great stay especially if you get a deal on the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Headed back to BTV airport from NH White Mtns, & wanted to shorten my am drive, so I booked a single Saturday night in Stowe, about 45' from BTV. I'm not a snow skier, but the charm of small town Stowe & the lodging/dining packed Mtn Rd headed toward the lifts was undeniable. Despite the corneyish name, the Stoweflake Resort was a warm, welcoming, comfortable inn. Beautiful lobby of leather & hardwoods w/ fireplaces & several nooks for quiet reading or contemplation. Check-in was a bit slow, but accurate. I had booked a Priceline bid of $115, & my room was oversized w/ a gas fireplace. Although I was on the opposite side of the property from Mts. Stowe & Mansfield, I got adequate view time while at the outdoor hot tub. The jets were not working properly, but the temp was near perfect despite this. The indoor pool was too humid for the summer, & very loud to boot. While not marked as such, the large outdoor pool had an adults only feel w/ extra lounge chairs & a large adjacent bar. I'm also not a spa guy, but the promo pics of the place looked very upscale, & I saw a framed copy of a several-year old 'Travel & Leisure' ranking it in the top 40 in the US. The surrounding gardens are planted & tended wonderfully, & there's an executive 9 hole course on property & playing privs at Stowe CC just behind the resort. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, even at a higher price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tubman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweflakeGM, General Manager at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Tubman74,

I wanted to thank you for your review of our resort. I am happy to hear that you found many opportunities to enjoy the resort as well as the town of Stowe. I agree with you that there is quite a charm about Stowe and the marketplace that surrounds Stoweflake, even outside of snow sports.

We thank you for being understanding about the hot tub jets as they we are undergoing routine maintenance to ensure they are working properly for your return. Next time you visit, I hope you enjoy some relaxation time in the spa as well. I am sure that you will find the Bingham Falls Renewal Waterfall to be a neat, local touch to our Aqua Solarium.

I look forward to your return , this time maybe even for a long weekend getaway!

Safe Travels,

Sheri Baraw Smith
VP and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We brought our 45 person management team to the Stoweflake for a day long retreat in early September. The staff did a great job accommodating us - super helpful. Breakfast and lunch were timely and tasty. Meeting room was comfortable and well equipped. The attrium where we ate was brilliant space to relax with wonderful windows. Had a bit of a veiled tour by doing a scavenger hunt via their activities staff and the indoor and outdoor pools looked very inviting and the fitness room was well equipped. Their large conference area, The Pinnacle Room, was getting new carpet so they seem to be investing in their facilities. Nice spot for a meeting like ours, and if I were from away visiting for the annual balloonfest, for foliage, for skiing, or for summer fun of cycling and golf, I'd be happy to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweflakeGM, General Manager at Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Donutrun,

I am overwhelmed to hear that you had a great time at the event last week. Our staff had a fun time sending you off on a scavenger hunt to explore the Stoweflake grounds. I am glad that you found the retreat relaxing and comfortable as well. We find that taking time to re-connect with your co-workers on a retreat can help any organization to take a break and have fun!

We are also happy to announce that the Pinnacle Ballroom did get a new make-over including the new carpet, wall coverings, lighting, and wainscoting. Thank you for noticing our newest work while on your hunt.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us, I will be sure to pass this information onto our employees here at Stoweflake. We hope you find time to visit us during events such as the Balloon Festival or just enjoying the town!

Best,

Sheri Baraw Smith
VP and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This resort is in the best location in Stowe. Everything is accessible gas station, restaurants, pubs, small market area in walking distance or 5-10 mins drive. The rooms are spacious but not in a great condition. We asked for a crib and they gave us a spooky metal crib which you will be scared to put your baby in. I would recommend to try the Charlie's pub breakfast. Spa is just too expensive for the service they provide. Overall a decent hotel in a great location if you are planning to do a lot of outdoor activities to stay out whole day and enjoy the nightlife near the hotel.

Room Tip: Boom their spa king room if you don't mind spending more money.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful lodge. Great access to skiing. Friendly staff. Expensive but gorgeous. Stowe has the best skiing in northern New England and this lodge gives you the best access to the slopes. My wife and I stayed here with our 8 month old and everyone was perfectly taken care of.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skierwmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#5 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672-5099
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $202 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing