We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated rooms, absolutely amazing spa, phenomenal breakfast, so-so onsite bistro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Outdated rooms, absolutely amazing spa, phenomenal breakfast, so-so onsite bistro”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Overall, this was a great experience. The resort is situated near many attractions, and has it's own golf course, hot air balloons, spa, bar, and bistro. The whole resort is very casual, which is fine but I definitely felt that it was quite dated. I paid extra to stay in the Luxury King Spa Premium room. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The jacuzzi was obviously quite old (and very loud). The room was clean, and the service was quite friendly. We decided it would be convenient to eat at the Bistro. I felt like it was quite overpriced for the overly salted, ill-conceived dishes. It took forever to get our food as well. The presentation of the meals were lovely, but the food was salty, not cooked properly, and the flavors did not blend well. The wine menu was very impressive, though. I feel we should have eaten at the more casual Charlie B's which is also onsite. We ate there for breakfast, and it was amazing. I suggest prepaying for breakfast, then you can order whatever you want-it will be a better value more than likely anyway (currently online that costs 15 dollars per person). I had the Eggs Benedict with Salmon over an english muffin and it was spectacular-very likley the best breakfast I've ever had.
The coffee at the resort is all Green Mountain Coffee-a local delicious coffee.

We took advantage of the spa for aroma-therapy massages before we left, and that was spectacular. There are steam rooms, jacuzzis, a waterfall massage pool, mineral pool, and saunas all available for use to spa visitors. The sanctuary had complimentary fruit, juice, coffee, water, and lounge chairs with magazines. Great experience.

Stay here if you're looking for a great spa and easily accessible food and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williwillinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    225
    89
    46
    23
See reviews for
189
283
29
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had a LivingSocial deal here that included a three-course dinner for two, $100 at the spa, and a two-night mid-week stay. We weren't disappointed. The grounds, food, and atmosphere were all very pleasant. And attentive service. The place was surprisingly quiet for mid-July, but that meant we could have more of the place to ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a spa suite if you can -- that way you get a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in one of the pet friendly townhouses during our visit. The grounds are beautiful and spacious. The "Doggie Bag" we received at check in with a dog tag with our pet's name on it , was a very nice added touch. The staff are very accommodating. The townhouse we stayed in was well located and the layout was nice. Although, it was not clean and needed a remodel badly. The carpet and couches were badly stained, the kitchen counter had numerous nicks, the remainder of the furniture was very well used and the tub and sinks did not drain properly. Being pet friendly does not mean sub standard units. Whether the other townhouses that were not pet friendly were as undesirable, I do not know, but the base price was the same for either. Of course there was an additional $40.00 pet fee which we never have a problem with. Check out all of the other pet friendly hotels in the area if you are traveling with a pet before committing to this one.

Room Tip: You may want to stay in the main hotel versus the outlaying units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novice276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

What a wonderful place! Just back from a few days in mountain paradise at Stoweflake. The rooms are gorgeous (fireplaces! windows that open!), the staff is super efficient (Tyler at the front desk is amazing) and the overall experience is wonderful. I can't say enough good about Stoweflake.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCod64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We used to have our family reunions up at the stoweflake. It was a great place to have it because all of the biking trails and just the area had alot to offer. We always had plenty of space in our little condos. Some of the little condos even had basements that I don't think are to be used.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeschmoe4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Calais, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have used the Stoweflake for many conferences over the past 20 plus years; both as a Vermont based group and a New England conference and have found it to be one of the best conference faciltiies I have ever worked with. I have also had the opportunity to participate with conferences throughout the US and find the Stoweflake to be one of the most enjoyable and comfortable facilities I have staye in. The staff at the Stoweflake is is extremely professional to deal with and is also pleasant. The rooms, dining, and other amenities are also extradonarily wonderful. If you are looking for just a relaxing vacation or planning/attending a conference in Vermont, I would highly recommend the Stoweflake.
Diane Cleary,
East Calais, Vt

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozley57236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2011

The Stoweflake Mountain Resort and Spa is a wonderful place to hold a business meeting/seminar/conference or just to relax at.

We held our Management Conference here and the staff at the Stoweflake were wonderful. Very accomodating! The conference planning and sales department do an exceptional job and want to ensure that your stay is worth while!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
165 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
2.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672-5099
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing