We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frida's Taqueria and Grill - CLOSED

Frida's Taqueria and Grill
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent Mexican food if you don't mind waiting an hour to get a seat. Unless you are a party of 6 they do not take reservations. We were perpared to wait so it wasn't that bad. The food was very authentic and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    105
    53
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very affordable, fun atmosphere, great food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've been to Frida's many times and have never been disappointed. Now that we have a 1 year-old and try to find casual, inexpensive places to eat in Stowe, we like Frida's even more. The guacamole is great, as is just about everything else on the menu. The portions are just right (not over-the-top amounts of food that you often find at US Mexican restaurants) and the service is always top-notch. Just a note of warning: if you are looking for utterly authentic Mexican food, this is not the place, but what they offer is tasty and reasonably priced in what can be a very expensive town for eating out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank urgelltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, but reserve if you can!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We didn't make a reservation this busy Saturday night and were told it was an hour and a half wait. That was very disappointing, but we found a place at the bar and had a delicious appetizer of special tostadas before we got a table. That filled us up enough that we only had a couple of tacos, beans and red cabbage salad. Very unusual tacos - squash, mushroom, skirt steak with avocado sauce - very good, and not too large.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Envirotraveller_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best guacamole I've ever eaten!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Charming ambience and the best guacamole we've ever eaten! It's prepared at the table (Andrew rocks!). The rest of the food tasted good but not great. We had their special which was sautéed fish with rice and avocado/mango sauce and their steak, shrimp and fish tacos. Their food portion was small. I would go back for the guacamole!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EnfantsDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
203 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Premium margaritas had a unpleasant after taste. Two of three entrees were mediocre at best. Just not nearly as good as other reviews indicate.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joehadenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frida's Taqueria and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing