We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic But Nice”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fiddler's Green Inn
Ranked #17 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Staying at Fiddler's Green is kind of like visiting family members who live in an older home. The house was built in 1820 and, except for modern appliances, hot/cold running water, and a little new carpet, not a whole lot has changed. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfast (fresh blueberry pancakes, french toast, and/or bacon and eggs) delicious. The host, Bud, was always ready with a suggestion on where to go, where to eat, or how best to get somewhere--along with a funny story or two. House has a guest refrigerator, available utensils (like wine glasses, bottle openers and corkscrews) One TV in the 'common room'; no phones in the room (cellphone reception was sketchy); no air conditioning (tho we really didn't need it). Summary: rustic almost 'cabin-like' atmosphere with clean comfortable furnishings, a friendly host, great food, near many local attractions at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reading_travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2008

If you ask me what makes a great B & B, its the people. Yes Fiddler's Green is rustic, but I haven't been to another B & B that matches its charm and beautiful setting. And most important the people I've met there have been fantastic. I might say we've met people there that have become life-long friends. The food was great, the rooms clean and the location is perfect.

I've been there several times during the summer, and try to get a room next to the brook that runs through the grounds in the back. The running water is very soothing and calming.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is interested in enjoying Vermont the way I think it should be enjoyed. And, yes, Bud is always there to fill you in with whats going on, where to go and share a libation with you.

Great place!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JAM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Staying at Fiddler's Green was one of the best choices I ever made. The inn itself is charming and homey, with beautiful views in all directions. Relaxing in the hammock, surrounded by beautiful flowers and yards from the babbling brook, was the most peaceful time I'd had in years. The room was very comfortable, and the rates extremely reasonable.

The welcome I received from Bud made me feel instantly at home, and I was treated like family from the first moment. The other guests also seemed to feel that he was the ultimate host. Bud went out of his way to make sure that we were happy with the town and the activities we had planned. He was always ready with a suggestion of where to go, and who to talk to when we got there. Mentioning Bud's name around town is a good way to get extra-nice service at restaurants and bars.

My time spent at Fiddler's Green left me with many happy memories, and I look forward to planning my next stay there as soon as possible. Thanks for everything, Bud!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kindergarten13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

In the interests of disclosure, I last stayed overnight at the inn before 2003 (trip advisor's calendar doesn't go back any further!) but I've visited for day/evening functions on the property more recently too, so it probably balances out.

My favorite memories of Fiddler's Green are the warm welcome and complete camraderie of the innkeeper, the beautiful setting of the inn near the mountain and with its own babbling brook, and the delicious hearty breakfasts (mmmmm.... blueberry pancakes!).

If you want an anonymous experience in a sterile hotel, this type of inn may not be up your alley. But if you want a folksy, enjoyable stay with a charming group of people who make you feel right at home (in the best possible way) while taking in a gorgeous natural setting, then give the Fiddler's Inn a call!

Stayed: May 2003
Thank WACatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Going to the Fiddler's Green Inn was a perfect escape. Bud was the perfect host, and I loved wandering by the babbling brook. The rooms were comfortable and cozy, a truly wonderful B&B experience.

  • Stayed: May 2003, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyFire9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Lovely people, picturesque setting - a great getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We booked a weekend here after viewing the photos on the inn's website. It was a giant mistake. I knew the experience was going to be bad when I walked through the kitchen for the first time and a strange intoxicated man was in there shouting, "Let's heat brandy!"

Our inn room was tiny, filthy, and uncomfortable. The shower had cobwebs and an enormous spider was dangling precariously above the shower head. The pillow cases and bedding smelled like they hadn't been changed in months. I've literally been in zoos that smelled nicer than the pillow cases.

Also, sleep was not an option as people were drinking and listening to music in the living room until 1 AM. All of them seemed a little strange (so we had no desire to "join the party").

If you enjoy weird people, bedroom doors that do not lock, and pillow cases that smell like monkey poop, then this is your kind of place. However, if you desire something nice, do yourself a favor and go elsewhere (even to a cheap motel - trust me, it would still be nicer than this inn).

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SQMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.6 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
#14 of 24 in Stowe
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiddler's Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddler's Green Inn

Address: Rte 108/Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $162 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fiddler's Green Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Stowe Vermont cozy inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fiddler's Green Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiddler's Green Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing