We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hospitality and value”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We enjoyed a perfectly lovely 3-day stay at the Brass Lantern Inn, recently. The room was very comfortable and gave us a wonerful Mt. Mansfield view. Early mornings and evenings were cool enough to enjoy the gas fireplace. We cannot say enough about the delicious and varied breakfasts that George prepared each moring, not to mention the tempting, home baked treats and beverages avilable each afternoon or evening. Mary Anne not only served us breakfast, but was most helpful with local restaurant, hiking and sightseeing suggestions. We have stayed in many B & B s and our stay at the Brass Lantern Inn rates right up there with the best. Comfortable, authentic, professional and no frou frou - suited us perfectly!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 745 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

Absolutely delightful stay. George and Mary Ann could not have been warmer, going so far as to give us a ticket to an enchanting concert in the meadow. The inn itself is charming, the rooms extremely comfortable, and breakfast a delight. This was our first trip to Stowe, and our expectations were high. They were all met. Good luck to 'the kids' in the school year. Hopefully we shall meet again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Situated slightly out of Stowe, the Brass Lantern Inn is a beautiful and welcoming place to stay. My room, and particularly the bathroom, were somewhat on the small side but spotless and comfortable. The only down side is that rooms on the side of the building facing the road are a bit noisy because of the nearby traffic. The inn itself had a very homely feel, filled with comfortable sofas, fireplaces, and books. Though I was here in August it's not hard to imagine what a cosy place this will be in the cold, snowy winters. The inn keepers, George and Mary Ann are kind and generous people who go the extra mile to make their guests comfortable, even providing a ride to the hiking trail for this traveler without a car. One thing to consider when traveling without your own transportation is the inn's location: it is about a 10-15 minute walk from the village center along the main road, which can be a bit uncomfortable at night since the road is poorly lit

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

What a fantastic B&B! Mary Anne and George are such terrific and lovely hosts. We were warmly welcomed from the moment we stepped through the front door and enjoyed every minute of the four days of our visit. By the time we left, we felt like family. George made amazing breakfasts and both he and Mary Anne went out of their way to make sure all our needs were accommodated. Mary Anne was also especially helpful in suggesting wonderful hikes in the area. The inn is in mint condition and our room was super clean, bright and cheerful with a fabulous view of Mt Mansefield. If you're looking for a place to stay in Stowe, look no further than this B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJEck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed at the Brass Lantern for a few nights this August with my husband. Inn is right on main street in the town of Stowe. Walking distance to the little town and some restaurants. George and Mary Ann were wonderful hosts, very warm and welcoming. Room 9 was very spacious, comfortable and clean with beautiful bathroom and views. Fireplace in room but not needed in August. Window air conditioner was much appreciated and used! No TV's in rooms unless you requested but we did not miss it at all. Also had a large paved private parking lot. Breakfast was great each morning. Outdoor jacuzzi was relaxing and well kept. The whole experience was just what we were looking for-intimate charm, and they delivered. Price was very good considering some of the rates I checked at other hotels or B&Bs. They accidentally charged us twice for one nights room and Mary Ann was very concerned and immediately told us what happened and explained the mix-up. It was a non issue and no problem at all for us...it was fixed but I thought ironic because we stayed at a larger resort hotel a few days later and were overcharged on our bill and the only reason we got it adjusted was because I noticed it! The Brass Lantern is perfect if your are looking for small town charm and personalized service with friendly hosts away from the hustle and bustle of larger hotels and resorts. Stay here...you won't be sorry...we weren't.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinfandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My husband and I had a FANTASTIC stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. The owners were friendly and VERY accommodating. We were there for the Stowe 8 miler, so we had to stick to our usual diets. They accommodated our request for breakfast and even the time we wanted it since we wanted to eat before the race. I can't wait to go back up again. My husband and I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmbkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

As a frequent business traveler I'm a little spoiled on the amenities front and used to robot-like service. So Mary Anne and George's warm personal hospitality at the Brass Lantern Inn was a very welcome experience.

The breakfasts were absolute treats. George is a fantastic cook and Mary Anne the perfect hostess.

I had some trouble getting on to the internet but Mary Anne offered her laptop and then actually looked up what I needed herself and came over to our room with the information. She also told us about a hidden waterfall close by.

My 6yr old son and I played some soccer and football in the huge backyard. Even my wife came out to play some badminton. We didn't use the hot-tub but a couple who did raved about it. Room 9 - with a view of Mt. Mansfield - has a nice whirlpool tub and a fireplace. Very comfy and romantic.

I would highly recommend this place to those looking for warmth and hospitality in the true sense of the words in a very clean, well-maintained place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrickk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
283 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stone Hill Inn
Stone Hill Inn
#1 of 22 in Stowe
729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,899 reviews
2 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $141 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing