We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back!”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Privacy with a touch of warmth from the nicest people you'll meet!
We will return! The room (#2) is beautiful in a simple way and very spacious. It is more than a bed... for sure!
So after reading other reviews... I can tell you, they are all true! This B&B is awesome.
Come enjoy Stowe!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank CathySantiagoToca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

"Will come back!" - this is likely one of the nicest things that we have the great fortune to hear from guests. It is with great appreciation that we read your comments, especially when realizing that others will most likely be considering a stay here based on your words. Words that are so powerful and so very priceless to our small, family owned, operated B&B. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences and mostly for your confirmation of what others have stated previously.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Best Regards Always,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 745 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. Our room came with a fireplace that lit up at the press of a button, which was perfect for us. I just wanted a winter getaway vacation with a fireplace and this fit the bill.

You can see Mt. Mansfield from the breakfast window and the breakfast itself was delightful. The owners were such a treat, we loved chatting with them about the property.

The place also has an outdoor jacuzzi? If you've never been in an outdoor jacuzzi while snowflakes fall on your face, you're in for an experience.

We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank caro_fy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

What a wonderful headline to read on a warm, almost sultry, summer day here in Stowe. Thank you very much for your comments and for sharing your experience from this past winter season. Wasn't that the best time?! While we are very much enjoying our Green Mountains in green, have to admit, we are also looking forward to the first snow fall and seeing Mt. Mansfield dusted as if someone sprinkled powdered sugar on it. Though, wait, no sense in rushing things as we have our signature season, Fall Foliage, just around the corner. That is not to be missed either!

Thank you for sharing your memories of your stay and for reminding us of how much fun this past winter was and opening our thoughts to what is likely to be another great winter.

Best to you both and we hope we can host you again soon (or again when the snow if flying over the outdoor hot tub!).

Happy Summer,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is exactly the kind of place I think of when I think of an inn in Vermont; charming, well-kept, historic, while at the same time providing modern amenities. Maryanne and George are perfect hosts; every tiny detail was already taken care of. The breakfasts were the best; George knows how to COOK! My room was one of the smaller ones, but lovely and so comfortable, and with a great view of Mt. Mansfield. I cannot wait for a return trip!

Room Tip: My room was in the back of the hotel (the "Sugarloaf" room) and was perfect for me. Keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChristaVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thank you again for your stay and for these very kind words of recommendation. We recognize both as a gift to our business and appreciate your consideration and selection of our B&B and for sharing your thoughts for those considering a possible stay in Stowe. We know from experience now that the gracious and generous words of our guests are invaluable to our business and sense of career reward. Thank You for all of that!

It was great to chat with you and here of your day's adventures. We hope to host you again!

Happy Travels,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was our first stay at the Brass Lantern Inn, but I hope it will not be our last. The owners, George and Mary Ann, go the extra mile to make their guests feel welcome and at home. The inn and the grounds are lovely and very well maintained. There is only one word to describe the Vermont breakfasts; that word is FABULOUS! Our room was very spacious and had a wonderful view of Mount Mansfield. We would highly recommend this B&B to others. Larry & Gale S., Georgia, USA

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. And while I'm not sure this is a true mathematical equation - we appreciate your headline and would suggest that if you divide that statement by wonderful guests such as the two of you, the final result is a very rewarding lifestyle for us as Innkeepers of the Brass Lantern Inn.

Truly, guests like you make this a wonderful lifestyle - you know when it doesn't even remotely feel like a job - you have landed in the right spot. Thank you for your comments but most importantly, thank you for your kindness to us during your stay!

All the best to you both,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I just visited our first B&B the wonderful Brass Lantern Inn.... Such warm and welcoming hosts.... We loved all the little touches and delicious breakfasts. Our room was beautifully decorated and our view of the mountain was such a nice treat! I would highly recommend the Brass Lantern Inn you will not be disappointed....thanks to Maryanne and George for a wonderful weekend. Deb and Chris....

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

We always, always appreciate travelers that try us as their first B&B. We hope we far exceeded your expectations and from your comments we think we might have! Thank you for your stay and your very kind recommendations here on this forum.

And hopefully, we can have that opportunity to host you again (perhaps in one of our other signature seasons!).

Happy Travels,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Brilliant, fab,wonderful. The owners are so welcoming and the grounds and rooms are wonderful. We were traveling with 2 children so booked their biggest room. Loads of space for us all and really nice touches like popcorn bags to microwave in your room & a selection of films. The kids tired themselves out in the hot tub and running around the field of a garden & then settled in for a film night. Breakfast was fab as well!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenDLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Your family was just a delight to host here. We only wished we had had the opportunity to have you here a bit longer! Your comments and shared experience is greatly appreciated as we truly recognize the value of these comments to those considering a stay here. Your warmth and good cheer remain with us even now!

We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday here in New England!

All the best and hope we can cross paths again some day,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Brass Lantern in mid June 2014, during our stay in Stowe and could not have made a better choice. Mary Anne and George are the perfect hosts making you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door - even to the extent of putting the Union Jack out for us!! The B&B itself is immaculate, our room - Sterling Mountain was impeccably presented with a wonderful view looking out towards Mt Mansfield.

Mary Anne and George have a beautiful inn and the little touches - like afternoon tea with milk provided for your cup of tea just add the extra homely touch. The Breakfasts were superb and we loved the idea of having the menu displayed the afternoon before as it gives guests the chance to let Mary Anne know if there is something not to your taste - I have to say that all the breakfasts we were served were to our taste and were truly scrumptious!

If you want to stay in a world class B&B then you need to visit the Brass Lantern as it is well worth the price and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea-IanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

We are so very thankful for your comments regarding your stay this summer. As you discovered as a Bed AND Breakfast we feel it is important to give you the full package and so glad you enjoyed our efforts to create a memorable stay.

We are thankful for the opportunity we had to host you and very fortunate that we were your choice of stay in Stowe. Hope we can accommodate you again if you find yourself on this side of the pond again!

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
283 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stone Hill Inn
Stone Hill Inn
#1 of 22 in Stowe
729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,899 reviews
2 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $141 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing