We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven!”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and felt so welcome! It was a lovely place that made you feel instantly at home. I would certainly stay here again. MaryAnn and George are wonderful hosts. George is an amazing cook also. No need for lunch after a George breakfast!

This was our first B&B experience and we were certainly not disappointed! We were very sad to leave.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Stowe!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKGordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks for noticing all of the home touches. We also thank you for the kudos on the breakfast! We enjoy what we do and very much enjoy the opportunity to host great people like you!

Thanks for your stay. We certainly hope we can have you here again someday.

Best,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
476
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This B&B is on the top of my list the next time I visit Stowe which will be soon thanks to MaryAnn's warm welcome and George's delicious pancakes! My sister and I enjoyed their game room with cookies, tea, coffee and popcorn; a very relaxing evening. The jets in the tub was just what I needed and the entire stay with topped off with a gorgeous view of Mansfield mountain. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Stowe and I don't think you should either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your flattering recommendations of our B&B. We enjoyed having you here as it is so rewarding to see guests take full advantage of experiencing this little corner of paradise. We will always be so very happy to welcome you and your sister back to Stowe and truly hope our paths cross again.

Best to you both, always,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a fantaastic B&B. We had 3 nights in the Mt Mansfield room in October and loved it. The number one best thing about this place is the hosts. Mary Ann and George really do go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and ensure you have a great time. Mary Ann planned out our whole itinery for us (when our planning had been a bit lacking) and directed us to several amazing sights/walks we would not have discovered on our own. They are also both great cooks with Mary Ann's tremendous afternoon biscuits (cookies) and George's marvellous breakfasts - the quiche we had for one of our breakfasts is the best quiche I've ever eaten. Definetly a set you up for the day kind of breakfast too, with no need for lunch!

Our room was also fantastic with a comfy bed, separate lounge area, flat screen TV, selection of a few DVDs, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and large bathroom. Nice little extra touches too such as very cosy bathrobes and popcorn to microwave. Probably shouldn't have stayed in as much as we did when visitng Stowe, but it was so nice we couldn't help it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are very touched by your heartfelt comments and thank you very much for making our day! We are also glad to know that you really enjoyed the Mt. Mansfield room and we too can understand how easy it is to just stay in and relax in that room. Great having you here and we hope we can do it again if your travels bring you through Stowe.

Cheers,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Such a harsh reality to wake up this a.m. without George & Mary Anne to dote on us. My husband & I spent four peaceful nights here which equals four scrumptious breakfasts (made by George, who should have his own Food Show, & served with love by Mary Anne). We have never stayed at a B&B, and this experience has completely spoiled us - we've already discussed returning soon! From the moment we arrived & received our tour by Mary Anne, we felt so welcome. She is a warm & genuine soul. We loved our room (Mt. Mansfield) complete with electric fireplace & heavenly views of the mountain. They certainly thought of all the little details (coffee/tea, snacks, fresh pitcher of water & ice bucket filled daily, extra pillows and blankets, etc - no need to ask for anything)! Home-baked sweets were put out every afternoon which we looked forward to after being out & about. Mary Anne was very accommodating & thoughtful re: our gluten-free allergy. We also received warm Anniversary & Birthday wishes (I won't spoil it for future guests). The Inn, in general, was extremely clean. The housekeeping staff assisted with breakfast & also tidied up our room daily - they were definitely an essential part in our enjoyable experience at the BLI. Before closing, I recommend purchasing one of the many jar gifts created by Patrick to take home with you - Delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Wow, thank you for this wonderful review. This is exactly what gets us up in the morning each day to prepare for guests who give back more than they can even imagine to our quality of life.

Thank you. Not much else we can think to say, except, Thanks.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My friend and I recently visited Stowe, Vermont and stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn for 4 nights. First of all, the Inn is beautiful and well located within walking distance of the village. Mary Ann and George are a delight and made the weary travelers welcome from the first second we stepped through the door until our final hug upon departure. Our room was the "Dewey Mountain Room" equipped with 2 very comfortable beds and lots of light. The Inn dates back to the 1800's and one does have to make some allowances for old plumbing in the bathroom but was otherwise perfect. The breakfasts were huge and so delicious! Everything was presented beautifully by Mary Ann and Linda. George was working hard cooking and is very talented. He has his own herb garden. The breakfasts are announced on a board each afternoon so you know what to look forward to in the morning. Come with your appetite! In the afternoon there is a spread of coffee and tea along with Mary Ann's baked goodies. A lovely treat. There are games to play, a beautiful piano and several rooms of sitting space where you can visit with other guests or be by yourself...all equipped with little candies. They will recommend restaurants and help you with reservations. Mary Ann even got us in to a little restaurant with very little notice! The view of the mountains was wonderful and even though we didn't use the hot tub, I heard great reviews. Mary Ann and George were also very good at recommending sights for us, all the while keeping into consideration our likes and dislikes, and activity preferences. I highly recommend the Brass Lantern Inn and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49erlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your Vermont stay with us and we thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with others. Truly, this is an invaluable gift to us and goes right to the bottom line of the sense of reward we take from this amazing business of Innkeeping.

We will never be able to completely thank you for your thoughtfulness to share this review but hope you understand we do recognize your impact on our family business.

Best Always,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. The location is central to town and there is a supermarket within yards of the property. Mary Anne and George have the perfect personality for this line of work and it truly seems to be a labor of love. The property was beautiful and well maintained. Our room had every amenity that we could ask for from the refrigerator, the Keurig coffee maker, sofa, TV ect. There is a lovely area for activities and socializing, The hot tub was well maintained and very clean. Breakfast was amazing; props to George. Mary Anne and George were very helpful in making suggestions for activities and places to eat. They seem genuinely interested in making your stay enjoyable. The inn is situated in a beautiful scenic, mountainous background. The housekeeping services were immaculate.
To give "cons" it's fair due, (there are always cons); activities (hot tub) shut down at 10 PM. The heating system start up gives a consistent 5-6 AM wake up call each morning (at least in the Mt. Mansfield room) Also, windows are not treated for room darkening if you have an interest in sleeping in or taking a mid-day nap (at least in Mt. Mansfield room) although, not sure why you would want to.
Overall, a strong endorsement and we plan to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellydfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the very kind recommendations and for sharing your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn. We do, as you mention, truly enjoy seeing our guests have a great time. It is pretty much central to our business model and more importantly to our enjoyment of owning a business such as ours, an intimate retreat in one of the most beautiful places in the country (ok, of course we are guilty of local bias…).

We, and especially our housekeeping staff, very much appreciate your comments regarding the impeccably clean room. Very kind of you to recognize your impressions of all of these items noted here on TA.

Thank you also for posting those very nice photos of the Mt. Mansfield Room. That room has become favorites of many returning guests and we hope that room and our service to you tempts you again to stay with us (whichever season you may choose).

And as you mention, a fair and objective critique certainly will note some areas for addressing since, while we strive for perfection, we are human. This type of review is truly a gift to us as it helps us in preparing for our next guests in the Mt. Mansfield Room and in our Inn.

Hot tub hours – yes we ask guests to abide by the hours of 10 a.m. and 10 p.m. for the comfort and peace of all of our guests staying with us. We strive to find a good balance between the individual comforts of each guest while recognizing the needs of all of the guests staying with us. We think the 10 p.m. closing time is a fair expectation from those who want to be in the hot tub and those who would rather not hear the activity of the hot tub after 10 p.m. We have also found those operating hours to be fairly consistent in other lodging establishments.

Wake up call – sorry about that and if we had had a chance to review that situation after you first experienced it we most certainly would have been able to at least begin the trouble shooting process to confirm what was happening at the 5 to 6 a.m. hour. We have great mechanical service companies just a phone call away when we are aware of the need to respond. "Sleep quality” is clearly one of the most important aspects of any guest room and again, we wish we had had the opportunity to address this during your extended stay and improve your response on this item.

Room Darkening – we do have louvered mini-blinds on all of our guest room windows but concede that for some who want a fully darkened room during the middle of the day for a nap that this may not be adequate. Another balance item; in lieu of heavy drapes we provide a décor that hopefully provides a bright, cheery and warm environment. Now, with your suggestion for a room darkening option while maintaining our bright cheery decor we will offer guests satin sleep masks. We too enjoy the rare opportunity at times for a mid day nap and think complimentary sleep masks would be a great addition to our Inn amenities! Thank you for this comment and this opportunity.

We can only assure the best service possible to our guests by listening closely to how our guests experience our Bed & Breakfast. While we are closely tied to all aspects of our Inn it is of course impossible for us to experience everything here in the same way our guests experience our Inn. Your comments and those of all previous reviews are invaluable to our efforts to provide an inviting, warm, peaceful and comforting experience. Thank you again for your extended stay and for taking the time to share these comments.

Best Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn for 3 nights Sept 27-29th.
It was our first visit to Vermont and we feel the Brass Lantern Inn was the perfect choice. We were warmly greeted by Mary Anne and George when we arrived and received a thorough tour of their beautiful home.
Our room was cozy and impeccably clean our entire stay. The breakfasts prepared by George were very tasty and filling each morning as we looked at Mt Mansfield out the window. Mary Anne was very attentive to everyone's needs while serving the delicious breakfast. It was a great way to also meet other guests.
In the evening it was very comfortable to have a cup of coffee and one of Mary Anne's wonderful treats while visiting with others in the downstairs areas. One of the evenings one of the guests played the piano which was a real treat.
They were very helpful each day with suggestions for hiking, driving routes, places to eat and simply how to enjoy this beautiful area.
Mary Anne and George are the greatest!
We would highly recommend the Brass Lantern Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PascalJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your stay and especially for your time and kind words on our behalf. We never take these comments for granted and are always touched that people go out of their way to share the experience they had here in our Inn.

And wasn't that pianist/guest from Hong Kong amazing? We tried our best to come up with a song he couldn't play (without music) and we just couldn't stump him. That was one of those special occasions where our "business" is most rewarding to us personally. That, and reviews such as this. Thank You.

Best,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing