We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joe and Anne”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Joe and Anne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is our third visit at the Brass Lantern and it wont be our last. Mary Anne and George make gracious and welcoming hosts, Bedrooms are very comfortable as well as all the common rooms.
George's breakfast are legendary and well presented, After breakfast you wont want to eat again until dinner. Would highly recommend the Brass Lantern to friends .

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment All rooms are comfortable and pleasant.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Always, always, always a privilege to have you with us. Your warmth and good humor (both of you) absolutely spills over to infect all of our guests during your stay. What a lively and laugh filled breakfast room we had with you that week! Thank you seems small in response but please know it is heartfelt and sincere. We look forward to your return stay our dear friends!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
476
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our second visit to stay here with MaryAnne and George. What we love about this inn is the spaciousness and beauty of the bedrooms, common rooms, and graciousness of the innkeepers. Everything is neat, well furnished and up to date. Little amenities such a filtered water, snacks and DVDs in our room were so appreciated. The bed linen is so comfy that we are going to buy a set for home.George makes a tremendous breakfast and accommodates special diets. We know the area very well, but overheard them giving excellent advice for hikes, places to visit ,and restaurants. Stay here and you will be a happy camper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments, kind words and that review title, "Stowe's Best," is very flattering indeed! Great to have you back as we felt like we were welcoming back dear friends. We hope you have a great year and hope to have you back again soon.

Best Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A wonderful B&B with great facilities (sitting areas - outside and in, freshly made cookies for afternoon tea) and delicious breakfasts. Mary Anne and George were perfect hosts and made us very comfortable. Would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandD4858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and for sharing your thoughts on the Brass Lantern Inn. We do appreciate all of our guests and feel certainly rewarded by our ever growing list of return guests! Thanks again and if you are on this side of the pond again we hope we have the opportunity to host you again.

Cheers,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are seasoned B&B travelers and would have to rate The Brass Lantern Inn as one of our top 10 if not the best. The inn Keepers MaryAnne and George could not have been more welcoming. From our beautifully decorated room, to the Delicious Breakfast and Afternoon Tea to the comfortable common areas... including Hershey Kisses, the Inn was a wonderful refuge after a day of exploring Stowe and surrounding area. The Inn was close to town and MaryAnne and George were so helpful in planning our daily excursions. We would highly recommend the B&B and we hope to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay and kind words of praise. You hit on why we enjoy this experience as Innkeepers - the people that we get to meet and the opportunity to see our local sites through fresh eyes every single day. As with all of these reviews we also appreciate the time our guests give to share their experience here with others considering a stop here as well. Truly, priceless for our small business.

Thank you,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our room, by choice, was the more modest of the offerings, but it was charmingly appointed, immaculate, and as comfortable as could be. The entire Inn offers comfort at every corner, complete with strategically placed dishes of little chocolates. A nice desk in one of the stting rooms accommodated our laptop for a quick piece of business that had to be taken care of. Breakfast was generous and beautifully served. The grounds are well kept with consideration both to the views and to the viewer's comfort. And Mary Anne and George greeted us like old friends. Our stay couldn't have been better. In fact, we wished we could have stayed longer !

Room Tip: No kids involved. No swimming pool as far as we know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhirsch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us. We know how popular the Roundtop Mountain Room is by the occupancy data. For the month of August that room had an occupancy rate of 80% (our most occupied room of the Inn). As you discovered, we have large and inviting common areas to allow our guests to feel like they are in a home away from home.

And we appreciate your recognition of the attention to the level of details and service we provide for all of our rooms and all of our guests.

Thanks again for your stay, your very kind words of recommendation and for the opportunity to be of service.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Mary Anne and George have created a perfect B&B. Our family chose the Brass Lantern as our base while in VT. My brother and sister had stayed last year and recommened it. We booked four rooms and stayed two nights. We had a baby with us and they did everything to make our stay comfortable and easy. I had made some annoying requests before our stay and they accomodated all of them with a smile. They really went the extra mile for us! They are the most gracious and lovely hosts.

We had booked the Dewey Mountain room that suited our needs perfectly. The beds were comfortable and very clean and the breakfasts were delicious! We get up extremely early and each time fresh coffee and tea was ready and laid out in the beautiful breakfast room. The first morning we ate George's yummy homemade quiche, carrot muffins and fruit. They made veggie omelettes for the vegetarians in our group. We felt so full that we did not feel like eating for the rest of the day. The next day George made raison cinnamon french toast with vermont maple syrup! It was a tasty treat and equally filling! Every afternoon Mary Anne sets out fresh baked goods and homemade iced tea. We all congregated in the breakfast room after a day sight seeing to chat and indulge in the treats on offer :) The iced tea was so refreshing and very popular.

The B&B location was perfect. It is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre. We walked with a stroller along the edge of the road. George had mowed the grass along the roadside as far back as possible to make a wider path and we felt comfortable walking it. We never took a car into town which was nice. I prefered the location of the Brass Lantern Inn to that of some of the more central B&Bs because of the amazing mountain views we could enjoy when we got "home". We saw the fog over the mountains in the morning and the sunsets in the evening. The backyard is a wonderful place for a picnic lunch (which we did) or for babies to crawl and stretch out. The grass was soft and weed free!!! George had just planted a wild flower garden which was beautiful. Our baby was in heaven. The B&B has many cosy nooks to relax in. There is a game room which was equipped with a microwave and fridge which was incredibly handy for travel with a baby. There are wonderful seating areas with comfy couches and chairs to curl up in and read a book from the Inn's library. They even had a grand piano which was fun for our baby and our cousin who is an accomplished pianist! You really can't find better hosts or a cosier B&B. I can't recommend this B&B enough and we will comntinue to visit it. I just want to add that not only were the owners amazing so were their staff! Hezzie was so friendly and wonderful! She played with our baby and made our stay that much more special! Thank you so much! We will see you soon with even more family members! We will book the entire B&B this time!

Thanks for the chocolates in our room!!!! And the birthday wishes and sign!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadian01Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your very warm and gracious note and comments. As most likely mentioned previously, we feel the most reward from this lifestyle from the people we have the opportunity to cross path's with and your comments provide validation of that reward!

It was a pleasure hosting you and your extended family for an extended weekend. From discussions with your family it sounds like we may have a growing tradition on our hands! We couldn't be more pleased and blessed to have that opportunity.

Thanks again for your stay, warm conversations and for these invaluable comments. We look forward to hosting your family again, very soon!

Best,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

For a much needed getaway from the life of NY, this was perfect. Mary Anne and George were the perfect hosts who gave just the right amount of attention to their guests. They were knowledgeable about all the different towns near Stowe and had great recommendations for each individual guests, whether it was hiking, art galleries, wineries and breweries, or walking the shops in town. The views were amazing from our room and the dining area. The Inn has a country, mountain charm which was located perfectly. Right in the middle if you wanted to be near Stowe or near areas that had more sites, like Moss Glen Falls, or Jeffersonville where there is a distillery, a winery, a brewery, and a brand new cider house. It took us about 10 minutes, if that, to get to the top of Mt. Mansfield by car. The breakfasts were phenomenal and accommodating, especially for someone who has gluten or any dietary issues, including the afternoon tea and cookies! The room we resided in was private, bigger than a hotel room, with windows on both sides and an amazing view of Mt. Mansfield. We stayed for two evenings and were so sorry we were locked out of a last minute third night where we needed to stay at a different place. We chose the Green Mountain Inn, and how depressing that we missed that attention, coziness, and warmth from the Brass Lantern Inn. We found a love for Vermont, so much to do, but unfortunately so little time. It is a true four season state to visit and definitely choose this inn to reside at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words of praise for our Inn and the level of service we strive for every day. Truly, one of our favorite activities of the day is helping our guests discover some well known and perhaps little secret spots in the area. And the follow up to hear of your day's adventures helps us, especially in our busy seasons, to live a bit vicariously through our guests. Always fun to hear back.

As you so well stated, we feel fortunate to have this Inn here in the four season retreat town of Stowe. And you two certainly maximized your stay while you were here and we hope we can host you in one or more of our other fabulous seasons!

Thank you for your time to share your experience with others considering a stay here. Truly, an invaluable, and gracious thing for you to do for us. Thanks.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple Street, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing