We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights over July 4. From the moment we were welcomed by George until we left we were treated with great personal service, with both Mary Ann and George going to great lengths to create a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Breakfast times were special with freshly prepared delicious food and there was never any rush to leave the dining room! The location proved ideal for us, with great views towards the mountains and an easy walk to the village centre. Ian and Phyllis

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Climberian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you to our wonderful friends from Northern Ireland. You felt like family, instantly with your warmth and great cheer! We very much appreciate the kind words of recommendation and recognition of our service. Though, "service" is more like "lifestyle" to us and we really do recognize the great fortune we have to be here and to be of "service."

We hope to visit your Emerald Isle someday soon and if so perhaps share a pint with you both!

Gratefully,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 748 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at The Brass Lantern Inn for three nights in June.It really is a wonderful place to stay,George greeted us with his natural ability to make you feel welcome,unfortunately we didn't get to meet Mary Ann as she was visiting relatives,George though coped brilliantly which the male species tends to do:).The location of the inn is perfect, within walking distance of Stowe and a few minutes driving distance from all the eateries.We stayed in the Spruce Peak room which is delightful,exactly like the website shows,the views of the Green Mountains were a bonus.The bedroom was tastefully furnished with a beautiful large comfy bed making for a great nights sleep after a glass of wine on the back porch watching some dramatice weather over Mount Mansfield.The breakfasts were delicious with fresh home baked goodies which changed daily,really didn't need a lunch.The breakfast room is great with individual tables allthough not preventing the lovely chats over breakfast with other guests.If you are travelling to the Stowe area from the UK or indeed anywhere this has to be your number one choice.All in all a great place to stay.Thanks Audrey and Roger

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your stay, warmth and good cheer with our other guests and especially for taking the time to recount your experience here this summer. It truly was my pleasure to be here for your stay. When I described your visit to Mary Anne she wished you could have stayed just a day longer giving her that pleasure as well.

You were so easy going and I especially enjoyed our chats regarding tracing our ancestry in the evenings on the back porch. I have renewed excitement myself as I think one side of my family is from Wales and would love to travel near you to see those family sites.

You two were most gracious and I/we sincerely hope our paths cross again in the not too distant future.

Cheers,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at The Brass Lantern Inn for 8 nights. The hospitality and food were five star. The rooms were clean, nicely laid out and attended to daily by the staff. Breakfast was always a treat, with a different menu almost every day that we were there. The inn is conveniently located near many of the attractions in Stowe. When we were not taking in the local attractions or hiking, we were able to just relax and take in the view of Mount Mansfield from the back porch. Another nice touch was the availability of cookies and iced tea in the afternoons. I can't wait to go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words AND your extended stay. We enjoyed having you here and helping you make the best of your family vacation. You certainly made the most of each day (weather cooperating or not!) and we enjoyed catching up on your adventures each evening. And what a great horseshoe tournament, eh? So much fun having you and your family with us this summer. Hope to see you again Soon!

Best,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first B & B experience, and we loved every minute of our stay. Our room was lovely and comfortable with a beautiful view of the Green Mountains through our window. George and Mary Ann are wonderful, warm, and friendly hosts. The breakfasts were delicious (especially the quiche), and we enjoyed conversations with the other guests. In the evenings we would sit out on the back porch and watch the sun set over the mountains. We enjoyed the hot tub, as well. The inn is located close to town, and the innkeepers are very helpful in suggesting where to go and what to do. A beautiful stay in a beautiful inn. We are looking forward to celebrating an anniversary or two (or three or ten) at the Brass Lantern Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

What a treat to host you two for your honeymoon. We especially appreciated these kind words, your warmth and good cheer with our other guests, and your extended stay. All great rewards to us as Innkeepers.

And what great photos, thanks for sharing. I remember taking that one on the back porch.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Stowe someday (perhaps as an anniversary celebration!).

Best Wishes,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We found this B & B via Trip Advisor,and almost every single review was positive-after staying there this weekend we can see why,it was a perfect place to relax and enjoy Stowe!
Both of our breakfasts were amazing,we didn't eat lunch either day because we were so well fed from the morning meal we had.Our room as spotless and had a great view of the mountains,both restaurants recommended by our hosts(The Crop and Harrison's)were excellent.
Mary Ann & George are exceptional innkeepers,and everything was first-class from the moment we walked in-we will be back in the fall for sure!
For the one review we saw that was not positive,I would have to say that person made everything up,there was no way they could have stayed at the Brass Lantern!
Thanks so much-Peter & Laurie,Ottawa

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamminpete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

At the risk of a bad cliché - you two were a breath of fresh air (that great, crisp, clear Canadian air that we so appreciate...) and we so enjoyed having you here. We also enjoyed the opportunity to chat with you regarding your summer home on the lake (what a great retreat you are building!).

We hope to be your "home" here in Vermont and look forward to welcoming you back if your travels bring you this way again.

Thank You,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Unreserved recommendation, for every aspect of this B&B. Our spotless room was comfortably sized, with many features of a 5-star hotel. (Chocolates! Fresh water pitcher & filled ice bucket! Frequent linen changes! Toothbrush holder Hair dryer.)

The location is a 5 minute walk from the heart of "downtown" Stowe. The shaded.back porch has lovely view of the sun stating in the mountains, overlooking the vast back lawn, with bocci and horse shoe field.
The public rooms are large, varied, and gracious. There's a grand piano, and a board game room.
The breakfasts were stupendous, over-the-top, in quality, quantity, and courses(!)
MaryAnne & George Lewis, the hosts, made our stay, providing crucial, helpful suggestions. Brass Lantern is a terrific B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingWithCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

What kind and warm comments to read! Thank you very much. As mentioned most likely before, one of the greatest rewards in the hospitality business is hearing that our guests had a wonderful experience. We appreciate the opportunity to be of service and hope we can host you again, soon.

We especially appreciate your acknowledgement of the details of our Inn. We know how much we appreciate the details of a place when we travel and we hope our guests appreciate them here as well.

Thanks so much,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is our third visit to the Brass Lantern and it still feels like home. I have stayed at many B & B's and the living room feels like home, especially in the winter with a fire going and some hot chocolate. But what really makes the place is Mary Ann and "Chef" George. They are such warm in keepers and George puts a lot of effort into the breakfast and afternoon snacks. If you are headed into Stowe, you will not regret a stay at this great inn. My family and I look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouloys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Always, always great to host our friends from Belize! We envy your opportunities to experience the tropics and the Green Mountains! Your kinds words of praise are never taken for granted and we continue to work towards providing the type of stay expected and hopefully even beyond your expectations.

Best to you and your lovely family,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
287 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stone Hill Inn
Stone Hill Inn
#1 of 22 in Stowe
733 reviews
2 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $141 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing