We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious, helpful hosts; wonderful B&B.”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Unreserved recommendation, for every aspect of this B&B. Our spotless room was comfortably sized, with many features of a 5-star hotel. (Chocolates! Fresh water pitcher & filled ice bucket! Frequent linen changes! Toothbrush holder Hair dryer.)

The location is a 5 minute walk from the heart of "downtown" Stowe. The shaded.back porch has lovely view of the sun stating in the mountains, overlooking the vast back lawn, with bocci and horse shoe field.
The public rooms are large, varied, and gracious. There's a grand piano, and a board game room.
The breakfasts were stupendous, over-the-top, in quality, quantity, and courses(!)
MaryAnne & George Lewis, the hosts, made our stay, providing crucial, helpful suggestions. Brass Lantern is a terrific B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingWithCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

What kind and warm comments to read! Thank you very much. As mentioned most likely before, one of the greatest rewards in the hospitality business is hearing that our guests had a wonderful experience. We appreciate the opportunity to be of service and hope we can host you again, soon.

We especially appreciate your acknowledgement of the details of our Inn. We know how much we appreciate the details of a place when we travel and we hope our guests appreciate them here as well.

Thanks so much,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 734 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is our third visit to the Brass Lantern and it still feels like home. I have stayed at many B & B's and the living room feels like home, especially in the winter with a fire going and some hot chocolate. But what really makes the place is Mary Ann and "Chef" George. They are such warm in keepers and George puts a lot of effort into the breakfast and afternoon snacks. If you are headed into Stowe, you will not regret a stay at this great inn. My family and I look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouloys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Always, always great to host our friends from Belize! We envy your opportunities to experience the tropics and the Green Mountains! Your kinds words of praise are never taken for granted and we continue to work towards providing the type of stay expected and hopefully even beyond your expectations.

Best to you and your lovely family,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed one night in June. Two couples, two rooms. Inkeepers Mary Anne and George Lewis were wonderful hosts. Extremely pleasant and friendly. The rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious. The Inn was very homey and had a great back porch where we sat and watched the sunset over Mt. Mansfield (highest point in VT). What a relaxing evening after a day of driving.
The bulk of the Inn is open to the guests. Lots of photos and reading materials to peruse. A nice visit with Mary Anne and George. They are such great people!
The next morning, breakfast was served. It was wonderful! George makes his own toppings for waffles! It was great!
I would HIGHLY recommend the Brass Lantern Inn. The prices were very reasonable and the accommodations were outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind words and gracious comments regarding your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn. Our only regret is your stay was just so short. We very much appreciated the opportunity to hear about your travels and your homes in big sky country and west. We hope to visit your wonderful corner of the U.S. someday.

It was really our treat to get to know you all and feel very fortunate to have had that opportunity.

Best to you all and Happy Travels,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Vt to get married last weekend, after being stuck stuck an airport for 13 hours this place was a breath of fresh air! We were late to check in so they made special arrangement for us to arrive very late. We then woke up to an amazing breakfast! Mary Ann was so sweet and extremely helpful with guiding us to great restaurants and local attractions. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncantu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

You two were such great sports for all of the delays you experienced in getting to this tranquil corner of the U.S. We so enjoyed the chance to meet you both and felt very honored to have you here for your special occasion.

We always hope we can host our newlyweds for an anniversary celebration or just a getaway to reconnect!

Thank you very much for these wonderful comments and the great cheer you brought to our B&B during your stay. Please come back!

Best,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

First time B and B travelers and first time visitors to Vermont. This long weekend (May, 2013) was a wedding gift in the form of a B&B.com gift card. We chose Stowe, Vermont because we wanted to see mountains and the beauty of American’s northeast region (my husband is a recent immigrant to the States). We wanted a comfortable, tranquil weekend with space and time of leisure. Of course Vermont was everything we thought it would be but most importantly … our stay at the Inn exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival we were pleasantly created by Mary Ann and George who gave us a tour of the Inn which includes a cozy living room with a baby grand piano and soft comfortable sofas and a warm fireplace. There is a second sitting room with a TV and reading materials and a game room with a Ping-Pong table and board games. Aside from this there is a porch with a view to the mountains that provided a quiet relaxing setting. Our room was exceptionally cleaned with fresh water, plenty of towels, hairdryer, soap, chocolates, a warm fireplace and a fantastic view of the snow covered mountain. George, a former architect, made each delicious breakfasts feast seem like a designed creation which Mary Ann served as she pleasantly introduced the guests to each other. She brilliantly got conversations going and would exist to come back with more of Georges delicious creations. Mary Ann provided suggestions for restaurants and day’s activities and was sincerely eager to know how the day went. We were very comfortable during our stay and felt the Inn was a compliment to the beauty of what we discovered in Vermont. We will definitely return …

Room Tip: Mountain view. Very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your very nice review and thank you especially for noticing the details. We hope that all is in order for our guests and the total package requires all of the details to be right. So thank you for noticing.

Now, you two were just so enjoyable to host. We were so touched by your husband and his obvious love of you and his new country. Very, very touching and we were so lucky to have you here.

We also are so happy that we were able to provide you with that first B&B experience and hope we can be your home in the Green Mountains again.

Thanks again for your stay and kind words,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The owners of this Inn are lovely people, but this Inn does not live up to the reviews. The biggest issue is that the whole Inn smells like stale cigarette smoke and air freshener to mask the smoke. Even the towels smell! If you are at all sensitive to cigarette smell then definitely don't stay here. The Inn must have allowed smoking many years ago. The room we stayed in was nice and clean and the breakfast was good but not the place to stay fora romantic experience with your partner.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hkapcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

We are very sorry to read that you did not have the type of stay we plan and work towards each and every day for our guests.

Secondly, we can’t help but stand by the previous 204 TripAdvisor review comments of “Excellent” to “Very Good” to help us understand this specific review comment and then formulate this following response.

In our 3.5+ years of operating this lovely Inn we have never had any complaints either directly to us or through TripAdvisor regarding even the suggestion of the smell of cigarette smoke in our Inn. As lifelong non-smokers ourselves we too are very sensitive to cigarette smoke. We make it clear to all guests at check-in that we are a non-smoking Inn by State Law and by our request to provide the safest and cleanest environment for our guests. We ask our guests to sign a registration card at check-in stating that they understand our non-smoking policy and are aware of the fine/penalties for violating this item.

We have documentation from the previous owners that this Inn was completely renovated approximately 6 to 7 years ago. All soft furnishings, window and floor treatments (curtains and carpets) were removed and replaced. Wall paper was removed and the entire Inn was repainted inside and out. We continue to upgrade our linen supply continuously as expected of an Inn such as ours and receive compliments on our soft, luxurious sheets, bathrobes, etc.

Your comment, “The Inn must have allowed smoking many years ago,” is ultimately very hard to understand given the renovations, non-smoking law/policy, and no such comments in the previous 205 reviews. Guess we just aren’t sure how that comment wouldn’t have surfaced prior to now if it were true.

Again, we are very sorry we were not able to meet your expectations and hope others reading this review understand our bewilderment of it.

Sincerely,
George and Mary Anne Lewis
Owners/Innkeepers
Brass Lantern Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are regular visitors to Vermont staying at many different Inn's and 'wow' the Brass Lantern was a wonderful find. George and Mary Anne provided warm hospitality that was second to none. The rooms are tastefully decorated, breakfasts are scrumptious and the ease of conversation made us feel immediately like family. The Inn has a beautiful view of Mt. Mansfield and attractive grounds which provides opportunities to relax in common area's as well as a cozy porch to absorb the natural beauty of the surroundings. The Inn is located close to shopping, Stowe recreation path, the mountain and much more. George and Mary Anne are eager to assist with suggestions on scenic driving routes, hiking trails, etc. Each evening and/or morning Mary Anne was eager to hear about our days' activities. We genuinely enjoyed the Brass Lantern Inn and will most definitely be returning again and again..........

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

We felt so fortunate to have you stay with us. And even more happy to know that while you are a frequent and regular traveler to Stowe, that we had the opportunity to host you on this latest trip and appears, return trips.

Your stay, and the adding of an additional night stay each day (for a wonderfully extended stay)…, was a true pleasure to us, validation of our efforts, and this review is icing on the cake. We very much appreciate your heartfelt comments. And while these review comments are certainly invaluable to our small, family owned and operated business, the opportunity to meet you and make a new set of friends is the best reward we could ever imagine from this wonderful lifestyle of Innkeeping. We truly appreciate the fortunate position we are in.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Kindest Regards,

Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,380 reviews
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stone Hill Inn
Stone Hill Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,880 reviews
2 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $129 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing