We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Brass Lantern Inn. The innkeepers, Mary Ann and George, are wonderful hosts; welcoming, helpful. The breakfasts are delicious, and the rooms are comfy and nicely decorated. We definately plan a return visit!

Room Tip: Some rooms have beautiful mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We thank you for your stay, kind words regarding your experience and plans to return. We are forever grateful of the opportunity to serve and greatly rewarded from your comments here. We do hope to host you again and look forward to that opportunity.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
486
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Pulling up to Stowe, Vt was absolutely beautiful but turning into the Brass Lantern Inn was gorgeous. Before stepping out of the car the view of snow laden hills was remarkable. But wait it gets better. Opening the door to enter the Inn was like walking into a home away from home. Then we met the two most fantastic people, Mary Anne and George. These two souls make you feel like you've known them forever. Our room, Sugarloaf, was clean and setup wonderfully. That same mountain view seemed to follow us upstairs. Every morning breakfast was beyond expectations including amazing food prepared by George and service/conversations with Mary Anne. We got used to Georges specialties, which everyone should experience. Mary Anne talked about Stowe; its beauty and the many things to do! After a long day of sightseeing we came "home" to Mary Anne's delightful cookies and tea. Once you visit Brass Lantern Inn you will fall in love with both hosts and Stowe plus have an amazing experience. Sue and I would like to thank you both again! At the end of our trip it was like leaving home for a visit elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkisue17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful comments. We realize from your comments just how fortunate we are to be here and have this opportunity to be of service. As they say, home is where the heart is, and it appears we provided the type of atmosphere that we had hoped for and that you were looking for in your trip to Stowe.

Thanks again for taking the time to pass on these comments and please visit us again!

Warmly,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in this Inn. The staff / owners are really helpful, and will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Breakfast is prepared fresh every day, our favorite was the quiche that George makes himself along with the fresh fruit salad.

We picked the hotel based on price, location and weren't disappointed. We were the only people at the Inn, the weekend after breakfast, so it was nice and quiet, and it felt like we had just rented someone's home. In the evening they had a fire on, and they generously have some food and sweets out in the lounge to fight off any pre-dinner hunger pangs.

If I had to find a bad point it, it would be the coffee at breakfast. But this is a general issue for coffee in the US, filter coffee, standing out on a heater for a half hour will make any coffee not taste nice. A Keurig machine or a nespreso machine, might be easier and would certainly have better quality. Still this is such a minor point, I can't bring myself to take a point off.

If you choose the Brass Lantern you will have a great relaxing stay, that's for sure !

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spruce Peak room, #1 which had a fire and a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_in_munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and very kind words regarding our service and the breakfast quiche. The quiche is one of our breakfast entrees that returning guests will sometimes request. Of course we are happy to oblige and I am known to make a little extra for the Innkeepers as well!

It is nice to have guests here during our quiet weekday periods in the shoulder season. We enjoyed the opportunity to chat with you casually at breakfast and during the evening to catch up on your day.

And very sorry as per your suggestion regarding a Keurig Coffee maker in the Inn, apparently, I must have breezed through the Inn tour on your arrival.

We do have a Keurig coffee maker and several types of complimentary k-cups in the Lounge/Game Room adjacent to the Breakfast Room. This Keurig is in place, as you note, to allow our guests to have coffee whenever they choose in a variety of flavors and fresh from a single serving K-cup. The beverage station with this Keurig machine also includes a refrigerator (allow our guests to chill their wine/beer or cheese), a microwave oven and complimentary mw popcorn. Again, sorry for not making these amenities more obvious to you during our tour.

Thank you for the full star review and taking the time to share your experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Cheers,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were in Stowe for the weekend to ski and decided to stay at the Brass Latern Inn based on the tripadvisor reviews. This place did not disapoint. Cozy and relaxing are the best words to describe this Inn. We felt welcomed the moment we stepped inside. Mary Anne and George are very friendly. The Inn is located on the main road just outside of town. It's a short drive the mountain in the morning and an even shorter drive into the town of Stowe. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sure_shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are always very grateful to hear that we have lived up to our TA reviews. We realize how important your time away is and how the value of your stay relates directly with the experience you have here. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with others. For our small, family owned and operated venture, these comments and your recommendations are invaluable. Thank You!

Best,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have been fortunate enough to stay at the Brass Lantern several times. We can't say enough about it. The inn is so comfortable, cozy and welcoming. George and Mary Anne are sincerely happy to meet and talk with the guests. They both have an easy and friendly manner. There is always laughter and great conversation as we enjoy one of George's delicious breakfasts while taking in the beautiful scenery outside the large picture window. Evenings are often spent around the fireplace enjoying some wine and recounting the day's events. Once we retire for the evening we can be certain of a comfortable night's sleep. George and Mary Anne have thought of everything to make the stay comfortable. It truly is like a home away from home. I don't know why anybody would stay anywhere else when they come to the Stowe region. I did not add a rating for pool or fitness center. The inn does have a very nice hot tub and we get plenty of opportunities for fitness while out and about in the area.

Room Tip: We love room number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
It is always our treat to host you and your extended family. It truly feels like welcoming family here when you arrive! We are so very fortunate that we had the initial opportunity to host you and very much appreciate your kind words on our behalf.

Warmly,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Brass Lantern many times during different seasons, and it is consistently amazing. The Inn is comfy, clean, and the innkeepers, George and Mary Anne, are friendly, professional and fun. The breakfasts are fantastic. It is definitely the only place we stay when we come to Stowe. It is our home away from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and have their own character
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks Bruce for the kind words, and for your several stays here in Stowe, And it feels like welcoming family back for a reunion! So happy to know that you feel at home here and always, always appreciate these kind words on our behalf. "Your Room" is waiting for you!

Best Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is more of a thank you than a review. My wife and I stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn back in February. We were celebrating my wife's 40th birthday. Upon arrival we were met by George and Mary Anne who had obviously done their research regarding the little town we come from. During our conversation it became evident how much they care about their home, their business, their community, their family, and the people who are staying with them. I do not think I have met two more friendly and genuine people in my life. The door to our room even had a sign wishing a happy birthday to my wife. Our room was quaint, clean, and perfect for what we needed. The breakfasts were to die for. George is a great cook! We had a wonderful stay and it was made all the better because of George and Mary Anne's wonderful hospitality. Thank you so much George and Mary Anne...we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
So is it ok to Thank you for the Thank you?! We will anyway as it truly was a great pleasure meeting you and learning more about your corner of paradise in the Adirondacks. Your Winter Carnival is on our to-see list and hope we have that opportunity soon.

So glad you liked the breakfast. It is one of George's passions and one of those elements of inn-keeping that is so rewarding for us, especially when we hear these types of compliments from our guests.

We hope we do get that opportunity to share Stowe with you again!

Best Always,

George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
191 reviews
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,264 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,803 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing