We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where we feel at home”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have been fortunate enough to stay at the Brass Lantern several times. We can't say enough about it. The inn is so comfortable, cozy and welcoming. George and Mary Anne are sincerely happy to meet and talk with the guests. They both have an easy and friendly manner. There is always laughter and great conversation as we enjoy one of George's delicious breakfasts while taking in the beautiful scenery outside the large picture window. Evenings are often spent around the fireplace enjoying some wine and recounting the day's events. Once we retire for the evening we can be certain of a comfortable night's sleep. George and Mary Anne have thought of everything to make the stay comfortable. It truly is like a home away from home. I don't know why anybody would stay anywhere else when they come to the Stowe region. I did not add a rating for pool or fitness center. The inn does have a very nice hot tub and we get plenty of opportunities for fitness while out and about in the area.

Room Tip: We love room number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

It is always our treat to host you and your extended family. It truly feels like welcoming family here when you arrive! We are so very fortunate that we had the initial opportunity to host you and very much appreciate your kind words on our behalf.

Warmly,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 731 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Brass Lantern many times during different seasons, and it is consistently amazing. The Inn is comfy, clean, and the innkeepers, George and Mary Anne, are friendly, professional and fun. The breakfasts are fantastic. It is definitely the only place we stay when we come to Stowe. It is our home away from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and have their own character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thanks Bruce for the kind words, and for your several stays here in Stowe, And it feels like welcoming family back for a reunion! So happy to know that you feel at home here and always, always appreciate these kind words on our behalf. "Your Room" is waiting for you!

Best Regards,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is more of a thank you than a review. My wife and I stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn back in February. We were celebrating my wife's 40th birthday. Upon arrival we were met by George and Mary Anne who had obviously done their research regarding the little town we come from. During our conversation it became evident how much they care about their home, their business, their community, their family, and the people who are staying with them. I do not think I have met two more friendly and genuine people in my life. The door to our room even had a sign wishing a happy birthday to my wife. Our room was quaint, clean, and perfect for what we needed. The breakfasts were to die for. George is a great cook! We had a wonderful stay and it was made all the better because of George and Mary Anne's wonderful hospitality. Thank you so much George and Mary Anne...we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

So is it ok to Thank you for the Thank you?! We will anyway as it truly was a great pleasure meeting you and learning more about your corner of paradise in the Adirondacks. Your Winter Carnival is on our to-see list and hope we have that opportunity soon.

So glad you liked the breakfast. It is one of George's passions and one of those elements of inn-keeping that is so rewarding for us, especially when we hear these types of compliments from our guests.

We hope we do get that opportunity to share Stowe with you again!

Best Always,

George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked it the day of our excursion, called them up to let them know of our arrival after hours. I was greeted with pure joy on the phone by George. Advised on what to do as we arrived and everything was followed thru smoothly. House was very clean, and as we entered our tiny, yet adorable room, you could smell the cleanliness of the linens and it was very welcoming. Walking around in socks in encouraged and there are games and candy everywhere you look in living room. Breakfast was out of this world- fantastic. As we ate, we admired a view of Stowe ski/board resort. Not one dilemma in our stay. I would recommend this stay to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kpblais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We appreciate the warm words of recognition and recommendation on our behalf.

As you note, the shoes off helps us maintain that clean and tidy condition and hopefully as a side benefit encourage a casualness that make you feel like you are home. Thanks for that recognition.

We are very happy we were able to provide you with a positive, memorable stay and hope we can serve you again in our intimate B&B.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We haven't gotten home yet and felt the need to write about the Brass Lantern and about Mary Anne & George (owners). All the excellent reviews are true true true! Mary Anne really made our stay! It is so evident that Mary Anne and George runs this place with their hearts. You not only see it but feel it. There is so much warmth and love the moment you walk in. Mary Anne's joy to serve her guests is so evident.

This was a last minute getaway road trip (from NY) for us to take advantage of the Spring skiing in Stowe and do some exploring along the country roads (an annual tradition). We wanted to keep the trip budget friendly and when my husband found Brass Lantern on trip advisor he questioned the quality we would get for the very reasonable rate listed. But the reviews swayed him to take a chance and he booked. We got a mid-tiered price room. We really felt like we got so much more than we paid for. We are pretty high maintenance when it comes to room cleanliness and bed sheets. But the moment we walked into our room, we knew we had no worries. It was so quaint, cute and the sheets were just as nice as some of the 4-stars we have stayed at. The room felt like a guest room in my mom's house (didn't have the feel of a chain hotel room).The rooms, hallway & main area all feel new and clean and bright. I also love that they asked everyone to take off their snowboots at the door and even provide boot trays. This made the place feel that much cleaner to not have to walk on dirty carpets.

We always opt for B&B's like the Brass Lantern over any regular chain hotels or even big mountain resorts due to getting the personal experience and connecting with real people. I love seeing guests mingling and lounging together in the main room by the fire into the late evening. Even the guests staying here are friendly! Really felt like I was coming home to a warm & joyful home.

The Inn Keepers definitely go out of their way, and even above and beyond to meet our needs. When we returned from the slopes, we saw Mary leaving for the evening. But when she leaned we needed an ice pack, she returned back to the house to get us one. On the morning we checked out, we had to leave extra early before breakfast was served. She surprised us with 2 amazingly delicious home baked blueberry muffins cutely packed in a to-go bag with napkins for the road... Just like mom would!

The location is perfect. Close to the mountain and all the great restaurants.

We would return to the Brass Lantern just to visit Mary Anne and George! They are the reason why we search far and wide for B&B's like this. It's not just the room and breakfast but truly for a local and warm experience. If you don't have a reason to come to Stowe, know the Brass Lantern is reason enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tdougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Wow, a mere "Thank you" clearly needs some clarification here! First, we have to tell you that we purchased the Brass Lantern Inn because we like meeting people and providing an atmosphere exactly as you describe. That is wonderful to hear that acknowledgment of our efforts and goal as Innkeepers.

And yes, we are neat freaks as we understand the importance of a first impression and more importantly the importance of confirming that first impression throughout the time of the guests stay. The boot trays in the foyer is a Vermont home tradition here and goes well with our focus on maintaining a clean, bright and fresh looking Inn through the winter and mud seasons.

For the value statement we are especially thankful as we try to provide a fair price for our rooms, the breakfast, and the overall experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn. We have found it is better to exceed the expectations and even surprise the guests with exceptional service. It's what we like to do.

And yeah, we love the sheets as well!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a very thorough review. We have some very busy seasons and meet so many wonderful people over the year and it is very, very rewarding to see comments like yours. Thank You.

Best,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our family stayed at The Brass Lantern Inn for three nights last week, and it was such a memorable time! The place is so cozy and inviting, with a roaring fire in the woodstove in the main sitting area, comfy couches to lounge in with a cup of tea and homemade cookies that await you after a day of outdoor fun! The room was so lovely, impeccably clean and the beds/linens were great! Loved the chocolates by the bed each day! Breakfast was delicious and very generous, and the view of the beautiful mountains from the dining room was spectacular. We cannot say enough about the owners of the inn, MaryAnne and George. They are truly special people whose warmth and kindness sets the mood in this inn. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbmasterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

It was our pleasure to host your wonderful family and very much appreciate your kind words regarding our service. We felt the warmth back from you as well! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Stowe.

Best,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Brass Lantern Inn.We visited in late January and were not blessed with great weather, in fact it rained most of our time there, but we had a wonderful vacation mostly because the Brass Lantern Inn was so lovely, the lobby so spacious and hospitable for relaxing, the innkeepers were so warm, and the breakfasts were unbelievable. We will definitely return, who needs snow when you can have such a great time without it?

Room Tip: We had the view to Mt. Mansfield and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerallyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Of course we love your headline, "We did not want to leave" and thank you very much for posting your thoughts and sharing your personal experience at the Brass Lantern Inn. And you were such great sports regarding our unusual weather during your stay. We absolutely hate rain, especially in January. While we can't do anything with the weather we feel we can make your stay here a wonderfully memorable experience. That is what we strive for with each guest, each day.

Thanks again for the recognition. Always, always great to hear.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stone Hill Inn
Stone Hill Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,875 reviews
0.6 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $128 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing