We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our second trip to the Brass Lantern Inn and I would not dream of staying anywhere else while visiting Stowe. This is not your typical inn--when you are here, you feel like you are home. And a big part of that is because of George & Mary Anne Lewis...the innkeepers and owners. They are the nicest, sweetest people you will ever meet. They make you feel welcome and love chatting with all of their guests as if they are long lost friends. My husband and I would sit by the fire every night before dinner and chat with George & Mary Anne as well as other guests. It was great! We stayed in the Sterling Mountain room which is right upstairs from the living room. Our room was very clean and had a beautiful, canopy bed and a gas fireplace. It has a little sitting area as well. It was very cozy & spacious. All common areas of the inn are kept very clean and welcoming. It's in a great location and only a 5 minute drive to the center of town. There is also a grocery store next door to the inn (sells alcohol too) which is very convenient. Breakfast is served every morning and you haven't had breakfast until you've had George's breakfast--DELICIOUS! Overall, this is a great place to stay whether you are coming for the weekend or the week. I can't say enough good things about it or George & Mary Anne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your return visit and review. You two feel like friends returning to town and we can't think of any better reward for our efforts than these return stays and of course your very kind words of recommendation.

We are fortunate to have a scale of business that allows us to have that time to share experiences with our guests. This opportunity, specifically, is why we chose to become Innkeepers. Your review is great to read as it helps confirm that we made the right call in changing directions in our lives (our "Chapter 2" has been a wonderful experience!!).

Thanks so much for adding so much warmth and kind spirit to our Inn during your stay. We enjoyed your visit immensely and know that others did as well. Hope to see you soon. Don't forget to take care of yourselves and take that vacation every once in awhile! Oh, and you both would make excellent Innkeepers!

Best Always,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
476
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just back from our second stay at the Brass Lantern Inn in Stowe and we cannot say enough about the Inn and its owners. The accommodations are clean and comfortable; our room had a gas fireplace and a view to the mountains. The breakfasts are great! The location is quite convenient and, even though located on Rt. 100, very quiet and peaceful. Recommend highly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and especially for the return stay. We feel especially grateful for those who return to us as it validates our efforts and to a great extent our reviews here on TA. Thanks for taking the time to share these views and we look forward to have you back for your third, fourth, fifth.... well you get the idea! Have you seen Stowe in the summer? Spectacular.

Thanks so much,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at many B&Bs all over New England and the Brass Lantern Inn is one of our favorites ever! We felt like we were visiting close friends in Stowe! Some inns tend to be run only by employees but not here...George and Mary Anne are the owners and innkeepers and obviously love running the inn. From the moment we stepped in and met them, we knew we had made the right choice for our long weekend in Stowe. We stayed in the Mt. Mansfield room located on the 2nd floor. It was the largest room in the inn with a sectional couch, beautiful gas fireplace, small fridge and microwave. We also looked forward to the jacuzzi in the room after a long day skiing! We loved looking out the windows with a perfect view of Mt. Mansfield in the distance. The common rooms were warm and inviting as was the breakfast room where George served up delicious breakfasts each morning. The inn was spotless and was located just a short drive away from the center of town. But in the end, the innkeepers made our weekend perfect. They are two wonderful people who treat you like family. Thank you so much George and Mary Anne. Now that I have taught Viola how to ski, we hope to make the long drive up to Stowe often and visit our home away from home.

Room Tip: The Mt. Mansfield room is located on the 2nd floor and has a great view of the mountain. It has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
What a wonderful comment to read. Thank you for these comments and kind words. We really do love this business and lifestyle. Not sure how I/we could fake thatenjoyment of the day if we didn’t really enjoy it (even with some high school theatre background). Thanks for noticing our “efforts” for quality service and for letting others know of your experience. For our intimate, family owned, business your thoughtful comments are truly invaluable.

We are happy to claim the Brass Lantern Inn and the Mt. Mansfield Room as your home away from home (knowing of course we have made that claim to others who enjoyed their stay here as well…).

Great to hear Viola is now in the skiing family! We look forward to hosting you again soon and maybe next time we can all ski together!

Best,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just got home from a lovely 3 night getaway to Stowe and the Brass Lantern Inn. I was beyond excited when my husband surprised me with this trip as part of my Christmas gift. I anxiously anticipated this trip for the next month, hoping to soak in some quaint New England charm at a local B&B and the Brass Lantern doesn't disappoint. From the moment you walk through the front door, you feel welcomed home. And truly, you are welcomed into George and Mary Anne's home. Mary Anne quickly greeted us in the front foyer and showed us around. The common areas are warm and inviting with plenty of comfy seats and sofas in the main "living room" along with a wood burning stove. The dining room is clean and cozy and off of the dining room is another large room for game playing and hanging out complete with a small refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Through the main hallway, you'll find a place to warm your ski gear, and just down the hall from there, you'll find the exit to the hot tub! We did arrive about 2 hrs before check-in and Mary Anne was more than accommodating to allow us to have our room early. We had the Roundtop Mountain room, the Inn's smallest room. The room was plenty big for two people; the bathroom with this room is a little on the small side, but certainly not a deal-breaker. I thought it was a delightful touch that each room has its own Brita-type water pitcher along with ice. Our room and bathroom were spotless, as were all the common areas we encountered during our stay. Cookies are served every afternoon, which is a nice treat when you come back from a long day exploring before you head back out for dinner! Mary Anne gave us so many great suggestions on what to see and more importantly, where to eat. I'm pretty sure we took her up on all her dining suggestions and weren't disappointed. As for the breakfast part of the B&B, what can I say other than amazing. I expected some sort of continental breakfast, maybe some bagels and coffee, boy was I wrong! Each morning, chef George whips up a feast (and my favorite part, the next day's menu is posted the night before). I'm still salivating thinking about the Brass Lantern Quiche. Several times, we enjoyed chatting with Mary Anne or George as they took time to answer our questions or just see how our day went. I can't say there was a need I had that wasn't met during our stay. The worst part of the trip? Handing back the keys to leave. We will definitely stay at the Brass Lantern Inn on our next trip to Stowe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are so rewarded knowing that our Inn, town and level of service met and hopefully exceeded your expectations. Very, very nice to know that as the Innkeepers!

And thanks for bringing your friends as well. We enjoyed the opportunity to meet you all and more importantly to provide you with that perfect Vermont getaway. And wow, your group made the most of your days and was fun to hear about the day’s adventures around the fireplace!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Stowe.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iceblue26
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Brass Lantern Inn was warm, cozy and the breakfast was amazing. We will definitely go back and stay there. The rooms were nice and comfortable. They had the most comfortable bathrobes i have every used!

The only minor negative i had was that the hot tub could have been better maintained (the water wasn't great after two days).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceblue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn. Of course we were very pleased to read that you appreciated our efforts to present you with a Vermont Fresh breakfast with your stay and that you found the rooms to be so comfortable. And aren’t those bathrobes amazing? We have some in our owner’s quarters as well! Love them!!

We were, of course, concerned to read that we did not meet your expectations regarding the level of cleanliness of our outdoor hot tub. We have reviewed our current daily hot tub cleaning/chemical maintenance schedule (with cleaning/maintenance typically completed in early afternoon each day) and realize, perhaps, that your impression was based on seeing the tub prior to our daily mid afternoon cleaning cycle.

It is thanks to your candid comments that we now have made the following adjustments to our daily schedule for cleaning and checking the chemical levels in the hot tub:

1. We will move our daily cleaning/chemical check to start no later than 9:30 a.m. each day (hot tub being open from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. each day).
2. We will also post a daily check sheet/log on the door leading to the hot tub to provide confirmation of when the hot tub was last cleaned, the pH/alkalinity and chlorine levels found and chemicals added as needed to correct these levels and any additional comments regarding maintenance of the spa.

We currently have this daily check list in place and as required by the Vermont Department of Health as we have random checks through their inspectors and must document how we are maintaining the spa. We will now make this inspection report more transparent to our guests by posting in an open, visible location.

While we do our best to attend to every detail of our service we appear to have come short of our own expectations on this item as well. Thank you again for having the comfort level to share your candid comments as this type of comment/suggestion is truly a gift to us as hospitality owner/operators at informing us of how we can make the experience of our next guest even better. We apologize for the impression we left with you on this item and hope we can earn the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn for three nights last weekend. Mary Ann's and George's hospitality made our stay in Stowe very comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer. We love our room with the fireplace and definitely miss sitting by the window enjoying breakfast with the wonderful view of Mt. Mansfield (when it wasn't covered by the clouds). The living room was very inviting and warm, offering a perfectly relaxing evening while we enjoyed the tea and cookies that they offered. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Stowe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Circlemood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Brass Lantern is just outside of Stowe, and it is the best we've experienced. The best part of the Inn is meeting Mary Anne and George, our hosts. When you leave, you will have made two new friends. George's breakfasts are of restaurant quality, and Mary Anne will recommend restaurants and drives. Our room was cozy and the main rooms were wonderful. Come early or late to breakfast, so as to sit by the big window overlooking the lawn, trees, and mountains. If we are ever fortunate enough to revisit Stowe, we will not think of staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomturner3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you our new friends for taking the time to share your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn with others considering a stay here with us in Stowe. And as you might have picked up in your stay here, we also feel very rewarded with the wonderful opportunity to make new friends with people such as you and the many other guests we have had to pleasure to host.

And nice tip on getting the prime window seat looking out on Mt. Mansfield! We do reset that table a quickly as guests depart from it as we realize the "real estate value" of that table. In fact, we sat in that exact table ourselves in March of 2009 when contemplating purchasing the Brass Lantern Inn. Truly, sitting there convinced us of taking on this amazing next adventure in our lives in this wonderful location and Inn.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts. We do hope our paths cross again!

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing