We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want to feel right at home when you're away from home, this is the place to stay. Cheerful, warm, welcoming, and at the same time efficient, George and Mary Ann can't be beat as host and hostess. We were cozy as could be! Fond memories of our trip will be with us for the rest of our days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, warm conversation and for bringing such great cheer to our Inn. Your hat was voted best of Season! And thank you for your stay and hope we can host you again someday.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Brass Lantern Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 705 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely Inn, teriffic hosts, lovely breakfast. A perfect place to stay while in Stowe. Comfortable beds, fireplace, hospitable and informative hosts. Within walking distance to the main shops in Stowe and yet off the beaten path; one can view the stars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for the lovely comments! We very much appreciate your time to share your experiences here at the Brass Lantern Inn. Happy Holidays and New Year!

Best Wishes,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay in the spruce peak room. The fireplace was warm and inviting. Breakfast was also amazing. The view of the mountains from the dining area was nice. We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhhomebodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments. It is always very rewarding to read that our efforts to provide a welcoming stay is noticed AND appreciated!

Thanks,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Mary Ann and George were very welcoming from the moment we arrived. We were shown around and then they helped us to ensure that we had a table booked locally for our evening meal. They even made sure we knew how to get there and fixed us up with torches to make sure we were safe when said we'd like to walk.
Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed but the pillows were like bricks making sleep a little lacking. We didn't complain as Mary Ann and George had been so helpful and willing to ensure that we had a great time that it seemed churlish to make a fuss about something that there was no chance for them to correct. Especially as they had been so helpful and welcoming in every other way.
Breakfast was ample and very tasty.
All in all, a delightful B&B with lovely hosts. Glad we stayed there.

Room Tip: Pinnacle is spacious and has great views to the mountain. Sugar Loaf Mountain is small but nice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you, Kevin, for your review. It was our pleasure to host you and your friends, especially for your "Birthday Trip."

We were of course dismayed to read your comments regarding the quality of the pillows in your room but just as importantly we were concerned that you felt as though we "had no chance ... to correct." Unfortunately, it appears that we neglected to inform you of the additional pillows (and blankets) that are in the armoire of The Pinnacle Room. For that we are extremely sorry as we provide several additional pillows in each of our guest rooms, just not all on the bed at the same time.

We have found that some guests like lots of pillows on the bed and others see them as a nuisance so we try to find a comfortable middle ground (by storing extra pillows in each guest room).

In follow up review to your specific comment we do understand your concern with the pillows you referenced and have replaced them immediately with new ones from our storeroom inventory. We have also reviewed all of our guest rooms again to assure we have the highest quality pillows on all of our beds.

As privileged Owners/Innkeepers of the Brass Lantern Inn we have learned that this type of very kind, courteous, professional and critical comment from you, our guest, is a true gift to us. Truly, it is! Thank you for pointing this out to us and again we wish you had felt comfortable enough to let us know at that time of your experience or at least at check-out time of this issue.

As you note, we tried our best to make you feel welcomed and comfortable without you feeling that it would be rude to bring this issue to us during your stay. We obviously missed that goal with you. Sorry.

We very much enjoyed the warm conversations and your brief stay with us.

Cheers,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I just got back from our second stay at the Brass Lantern Inn and it was every bit as wonderful as our first stay. The hosts Maryanne and George are great people. They make everyone feel so welcomed. The rooms are quaint and clean, and you can't beat the view of Mount Mansfield from the back of the house. The inn is in a perfect location, about a two minute drive into Stowe village where there are dozens of restaurants and shops to choose from. The breakfasts are delicious at brass lantern, and Maryanne and George were very accommodating and made me vegetarian alternatives. Overall, another awesome stay and we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ntssms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for your acknowledgement of what we see as provided a comfortable stay for new and in your case repeat guests! And thank you for pointing out our unique little benefits regarding our location and of course our mountain views. We feel truly blessed to be here and to have the opportunity to serve you and hope to be able to do that over and over again!

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The innkeepers demonstrate great care of their New England home and great care of those who
come as strangers and leave as friends. The Brass Lantern has a lovely setting, comfortable rooms and specially prepared breakfasts for those with special needs. The thoughtful treatment shown by MaryAnne and George reminded us during these troubled times that kindness and compassion have not completely disappeared. We hope to return to Stowe and this honourable
house on one of our many journeys throughout New England.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms because of scheduling conflicts so book early. Both rooms had advantages...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for the very nice words on our behalf and for bringing your family to our B&B. We are also pleased to read that you felt so at home here. We enjoy that atmosphere as well! We hope to host you again in your travels to and through New England and Stowe!

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A wonderful New England inn with delightful owners who were full of helpful advice. As other reviews say, great breakfasts. Although our room was the smallest in the inn, there was a comfy lounge where we could sit and relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you Rocky for the very kind words and Happy Birthday to you and your Mother-in-Law again! It was a real pleasure to have you all here and hope you truly enjoyed your time in Stowe. Great to see you enjoyed the zip through the trees excursion with ArborTrek.

And most importantly, it is great to know that we are your place here in Stowe!

Best,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,838 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $138 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing