We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Brass Lantern Inn-a wonderful experience”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We recently had the privilege of staying three nights, with friends, at this charming B&B.Even before our visit, while making the initial reservations in July, we spolke at length to George, the owner and innkeeper. We realized that these folks were caring and that our stay would be worth the wait. we were not disappointed. Immediately upon our arrival they made us feel like guests in their home with goodies and a tour of the inn.

The accommodations were clean, organized, quaint and more than adequate. Our room was was furnished with antiques, quilts , and a nightstand adorned with local chocolates, -all of which you would expect from a 5 star B&B. Both George and his wife Mary Anne were eager to accommodate our needs but at the same time were respectful of our privacy.

I can understand why the Brass Lantern Inn receives many repeat customers. Their inn is the type of establishment that makes you want to return again and again- and the owners are a good part of that reason. I hope that we can do so someday soon.

One of the highlights of our stay was the delicious breakfast that is cooked to order by George and served by Mary Anne. Each day is a different menu. The Eggs Strata was to die for. Mary Anne was kind enough to hand write the receipe for us.We will make it for a special occasion.

It is no wonder that The Brass Lantern is , one of , if not the finest B&B's in Stowe VT. Our stay was the highlight of our tour of New England.

Room Tip: The hot tub was a plus, too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRC732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you so much for these very kind words and for bringing friends to share this special town during your Fall Foliage tour. It was our absolute pleasure hosting you. You and your friends each brought a wonderful warmth and character to our B&B during your stay.

And wow, thank you for the watercolor painting you created of our town in full autumn color/glory. This painting will find a special place on our entry lobby wall. We were very, very touched by your gift of art and are so very honored to have a reminder of your visit with us here in Stowe. We would love to visit your part of the Outer Banks again.... and if so hope to cross paths again!

Best Wishes,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 734 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent 2 wonderful nights in the Brass Lantern Inn and only wished it could have been much longer. George and Mary Anne gave us such a warm welcome and while George brought our cases to our room Mary Anne showed us around and introduced us to the other guests, making us feel totally at home. Although we had seen a picture of our room on the website the reality was far superior. We just loved it. We were given great advice about where to eat in Stowe and Mary Anne even offered to make the booking for us. The breakfasts were simply wonderful, beautifully presented as well as extremely appetising. My husband, who has coeliac disease, was absolutely delighted when George produced wonderful gluten free bluberry pancakes which were such a treat. Since he would otherwise have missed out on the afternoon tea treats, Mary Anne baked special delicious gluten free cookies for him and then gave the remaining cookies to him to take away when we were leaving. As if all that wasn't enough, George spent time with us each morning mapping out a great route for us to see the fall colours and to reach our next destination. Given our experience, we can only finish by saying " this is an Inn not to be missed"

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrtleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you so much for this heartfelt review. You and Gilbert, through your stay, brought a wonderful piece of Ireland to Stowe. For that we are also very grateful. If your countrymen are half a warm and nice as you we must visit your wonderful island nation immediately!

I really, really enjoyed our mornings sitting around the map of Vermont (and even New Hampshire) identifying opportunities for adventure. At the risk of letting out a big secret, I kind of live vicariously in those moments as I get to help you plan your day. It was even more rewarding to then hear your stories at the end of the day summarizing those adventures. You certainly filled every day with a full intineray of sights to see!

We very much appreciate your notice of those things we hope make a difference in our guests stay. We realize you have many options to rest in your travels and when we hear compliments such as your review we can't help but feel fully rewarded. Thank You!

Best Wishes,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Brass Lantern; the rooms were beautifully decorated, the inn charming and inviting, and our hosts welcoming and so friendly! We would definitely encourage friends visiting the area to stay at the Brass Lantern!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful headline; "Delightful." We very much appreciate your compliments, especially grateful to read that you will tell your friends about your stay here. Thanks for bringing a bit of that California sunshine to Stowe, Vermont!

Best,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Can't say enough about this place!!!! George and Mary Ann were fantastic ( as we're their delicious breakfasts). Stowe is the perfect peace of Heaven to visit in Vermont. They helped us with dinner reservations which were spot on and went out of their way to make us feel "at home". We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarletPimpernel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Always great to have a little of that Texas charm shared with us here in Stowe! Thank you for your stay and for these very kind words on our behalf. And please thank Kendall and Jim for a wonderful golf outing at the Stowe Country Club! It truly was one of my highlights of the golf season (though my score may suggest otherwise). I hope to golf with them again and next time in San Antonio!

We hope we have left you with great memories of Vermont!

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Brass Lantern Inn was a wonderful place to stay. George and Mary Anne were welcoming, personal, informative and all-around terrific hosts. The inn and the innkeepers were ideal for our visit to Vermont.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your stay and for sharing your kind words with those who may be considering a stay with us. These words are truly invaluable to our small, family owned and operated B&B and we never take this appreciation from our guests for granted.

We appreciate your time to share these comments and hope we see you back on this side of the continent again!

Best Wishes,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Brass Lantern is a wonderful place to stay! The location, the amenities, the rooms, the fantastic breakfasts, and most of all, George and Mary Anne, the most welcoming and friendly innkeepers you could ask for, all go together to make this a B & B to visit again. Each morning we were greeted and served at our table in the dining room. The menu was different and delicious each day and the Egg Strata was to die for! Our room had several nice little touches which made it convenient and cozy. The location is close to so many attractions and outdoor activities that we had many choices for our three night stay at the end of September. All in all - A+ This was our first trip to Vermont and the Brass Lantern made it even more special!
Dave & Debbie

Room Tip: Our room was on the side with Mt. Mansfield and quieter than the street side. Our room was just lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

It was our pleasure to host you (and your friends George and Linda) for your New England tour. We are the lucky ones here with having such warm and appreciative guests such as you. We are so very happy to hear that we made such a favorable impression. And that egg stratta is one that we do receive a lot of praise and the recipe came from another wonderful guest (thanks again Betsy from Rhode Island)! We are very, very fortunate to be right here in this Inn in this wonderful town.

Thanks for the recognition or our level of service and we truly hope to cross paths with you again.

Best,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Brass Lantern Inn is the kind of place that one keeps returning to because the owners are so nice. The property is a more than 100-year old farmhouse that was converted to an inn and George and Mary Anne are the perfect host and hostess to the home away from home. Several areas are available for guests to sit and mingle. George is the former architect turned cook and the breakfast is simply sumptuous!

Room Tip: The rooms facing Mr. Mansfield have very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,380 reviews
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stone Hill Inn
Stone Hill Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,881 reviews
2 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $129 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing