We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone”

Shaw's General Store
Ranked #3 of 18 Shopping in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrating 120 years in Stowe Village, has enjoyed a reputation of consistent quality in outdoor clothing and footwear. We also offer a huge selection of Toys, T-shirts, Sweatshirts, Hats and Stowe souvenirs.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you are poking around in town check this place out -- you'll leave with something. A great variety of stuff and impressive old building which is a historic landmark. The store has been in the Shaw family for generations. Very nice staff

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Store”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Great store! They have lots of clothing and shoes.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank XCskieranddownhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A typical General Store”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Full of everything and anything you want. Plenty of selection. Why don't all stores work like this any more? Very helpful and friendly staff.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldbloke_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good selection”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a great stop for shopaholics and shopaphobes alike. The main floor has a well stocked local bookstore which had some interesting regional offers as well as the best sellers. There was also a small clothing store and eatery (maybe ice cream), which was closed when we went. Keep in mind that the main street is not very long but does allow easy access to nearby restaurants as does the highway into Stowe.

Downstairs really had a traditional general store feel and some unique buys. I actually found it to be great fun even though I don't generally enjoy shopping. There were also some good sales on clothing and kitchenware. At the back I found a good selection of local foods.

I would certainly stop in again.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bulroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,103 reviews
670 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,650 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Old-Fashioned”
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Does anybody remember the Rachel Field poem called "General Store"? It has lines like, "Kegs of sugar, brown and white; Sarsaparilla for picnic lunches, Bananas and rubber boots in bunches..." Well, Shaw's is it...right on Stowe's Main Street.

The store is old-fashioned and it appears totally disorganized to the untrained eye. But the friendly employees know where everthing is in the crowded store. You simply have to ask to find. I saw shoes, boots, socks, gloves, playing cards, toys, stuffed animals, books, sleepwear, souvenirs, and the best fur trimmed hats. And the displays and fixtures were wonderfully out of date - like a breath of fresh air.

Take a look. I highly recommend this wonderful place from the past.

Helpful?
3 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw's General Store also viewed

 

Been to Shaw's General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing