We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price to value is great.”
Review of The Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Owosso, Michigan
2 reviews
“Price to value is great.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Yes it is old a floors sometimes creak. But it is over 150 years old. Outstanding breakfasts and innkeeper Randy goes overboard to be very helpful. He went out of his way to please and offered great suggestions for local dining. Location is perfect for visiting Stowe area.

Room Tip: Master room very large with new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    67
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
111
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend at Gables Inn, just across the bike path in, spectacular surroundings. Jenny and Randy were very nice and helpful, recommending good restaurants and activities in the area. Our small room upstairs was clean and comfortable. We will definitely come back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melmal1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is super friendly and the breakfast is just great! I would personally recommend the steak as breakfast. You will need to pay $3 more for the steak but it's totally worth that! We enjoyed Vermont's beautiful fall!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yuzhen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were looking for a cute place without breaking the bank. This has the potential but is not currently that place. Overall the place is dingy and run down.
We stayed in carriage 3 - a king with whirlpool jets in the tub and a fireplace. Our bed was uncomfortable and noisy. We could also hear the people above us in carriage 4 walking around. The inn is also very close to 108 so there is a lot of road noise. We used the fireplace which wasn't too bad but would have been better if we could have opened the windows for a little air, but there were no screens. And my wife refused to use the tub because the jets were not clean.
Breakfast was good. Not the best in Stowe as advertised, but good.
One of the other reasons we picked this place is because it has a hot tub. After seeing the jets in our bathroom I would never have gotten in the hot tub, and that is besides the fact that the tub is out on the street front so that everyone driving 108 can see you in it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Carriage House room we had was huge and was separate from the main house. Although the property needs some TLC the owner was lovely. He recommended restaurants to us and was very friendly. His breakfast was superb with an amazing number of choices. I can see why local people go there for breakfast. The Inn is within easy reach of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinalhaven, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've stayed here for short weekend trips for several years, in different rooms in the main house and the outlying building. Each time the experience has been wonderful because the owner and staff display a genuine warmth at your presence. It's an old house made into a small inn; the rooms, furnishings and amenities reflect that reality. It certainly works for me but I can understand that guests expecting a "spa" might be disappointed. My rooms have always been small (especially the teeny bathrooms) but always clean with comfortable beds and furnishings.

The breakfast served as part of your stay is nothing short of remarkable. In a town renown for great restaurants The Gables gets a lot of breakfast visitors staying elsewhere just for the delicious breakfast offerings.

If you want an inn that seems to really care about your stay, I recommend The Gables.

Room Tip: Be clear about what you'd like to see in a room; there are many different choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Aronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The property needs quite a bit of attention. Not quite what I expected from the other reviews and pictures. This was our second experience with a bed and breakfast. Perhaps the first set the bar to high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Property: The Gables Inn
Address: 1457 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gables Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its cozy atmosphere and great breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Stowe
The Gables Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing