We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Innkeepers”
Review of The Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As others have commented, it is a warm, comfortable inn. It is in a central location, between the mountain and town, nearby restaurants. They welcomed guests with hot delicious cider, and nice cake. There was wonderful daily homemade soup in the lounge for apres-ski. There was a large breakfast selection, we found breakfast outstanding, (recommend to have something from the menu and skip the specials) the most popular dishes are worth having. While it was a friendly atmosphere for my child, I feel it was geared more towards adults. There was however, a friendly sweet old dog, and a ping pong table in the basement, which we heard being used one evening, and inquired. Unsure if the ping pong table was intended for guests, or part of the innkeepers personal space, as it wasn't part of our tour. The innkeepers (Randy & Annette) were truely generous with their hospitality. Many little touches, including a granola bar near the door (perfect to bring along skiing or whatever the activity) The inn is clean and you quickly feel relaxed. While travelling with a child, in retrospect, we should have brought board games for the evening, as the lounge was full one evening watching football.
Aside from a nice bed and breakfast, there was a option to dine in, and have "Fondue with Heintz".
Perhaps we ordered the wrong item, we ordered beef (thought we would get more of an explanation, but - did not, my fault, I ordered anyway...thinking was a meal - with vegetables to cook as well). There were no vegetables, (a side salad) and there were 4 pieces of meat, and five tsp of dips. The beef was to be cooked in a chicken broth pot, Heintz suggested ~2 minutes, it was still raw, the burner appeared not able to keep the broth boiling or hot enough, and it took several minutes. (We seemed not to be the only table to have an issue with keeping their pot hot too.) Initially, there was only 5 very small tsp of dips...(he brought a larger portion of dijon mustard, etc - when asked) all the frustrating cooking and checking to see if was cooked for $26.95 (per person)- for 4 pieces of meat. (meanwhile Heintz never brought a beverage for my child (no other wait staff to assist him) They have a liquor license, (I was told, VT LAW - no BYOB, in the Bed & Breakfast, w/liquor license) So, if you want wine by the glass, there is one type of white wine or one red by the glass - (a shiraz -served in a small white wine glass) There are bottles of wine and beer sold as well. My child would not eat much of it, which was fortunate, because I was quite ill later that evening. Apart from the Fondue experience, The inn was cozy,
Randy and Annette are helpful, welcoming, warm and friendly - We should have just had some fondue dessert, and tried any of the restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper - Rooms away from the front of building to avoid the occasional street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theNJTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I spent the MLK weekend in Stowe and choose the Gables Inn from reviews on T.A. It is a very old Inn with a great deal of charm. The innkeepers, Annete and Randy are fantastic hosts and the breakfast in the morning that comes with the price of the room is AWESOME, truely worth the price of admission.

If you stay there ask for a room in the back of the Inn, we had a room in the front and there is considerable road noise, but that said, I would recommend a visit to Stowe and a stay at the Gables Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back would have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to go skiing in Stowe, VT for three days after New Years. We found this perfect inn. The breakfast each morning was amazing. The innkeepers Randy and Annette were lovely and extremely helpful. We stayed in the master suite with a fireplace and it absolutely met all of our needs. This is a great fit for skiers who want to stay right off the mountain in a relaxed, cozy setting.

Room Tip: Master suite was a perfect room for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a comfortable night's stay here and a very good breakfast. The hosts were both friendly and helpful but the inn just needs a little freshening up in places. The lack of TV wasn't an issue as when we came back from dinner we sat in the communal lounge and chatted with two other couples for the rest of the evening. It's a lovely setting and Stowe itself is beautiful. The constant coffee and home made cake was a real treat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjb0st0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We instantly felt very welcomed here; the atmosphere was warm, homely and relaxing and the breakfast was excellent! There is also tea, coffee and cake available at any time of the day. The location is well placed for exploring Stowe and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samkabam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in the "Master Suite" and the blind that they had on the window covers up two windows at once. The problem with this is everyone coming up from the parking lot can plainly see into your room window from the deck leading into the building, when you have the air conditioning unit turned on. Which was a must while we were there! Otherwise, if you leave it down the blind blocks ALL of the airflow coming from the ac unit!! We had an older lady literally look into our window each morning as she was waiting for a table to open up for breakfast. The first morning, I thought she was just being observative, but she seen me curling my hair and just smiled and turned away. Day 2 same thing again! Day 3, again same behavior! Others did pretty much the same thing, but atleast they acted embarrassed and quickly turned away, not the older lady; My Husband & I think she actually got a kick out of it! ... The bathroom (WOW) is very run down, the vinyl needs major repairs, the caulk is horribly nasty and the table in the seating area of our room was left VERY sticky from something (I would assume) the last guest spilled before checking out! ... {Be Very Aware} The TV that you pay extra each night for was maybe a 13 inch unit! .... Breakfast I must say, was very good for what was offered and available to order! .... Owners were very friendly & accommodating when available!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BfromDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This was such a fun stay for us! The rooms were cute and decorated with lovely quilts and period wallpaper. You definitely got the feel of stepping back in time. The innkeepers, Annette and Randy, couldn't have been nicer. We stayed two nights and one night was the Presidential debate. A lot of guests sat in the inn's living room like friends in someone's home to watch and chat...very nice. We enjoyed a unique fondue dinner one night of our stay. We had the cheese fondue selection followed by the dessert fondue...Wow! What a Foody treat! Both mornings we had amazing country breakfasts that were included in their price for a stay. I personally would recommend the Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. We live in California and really felt like this inn was like what you dream the east part of the country would be like.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.7 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Address: 1457 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $87 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gables Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its cozy atmosphere and great breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Stowe
The Gables Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing