We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't wait for next year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mountain Road Resort
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend with roughly 35 people on 25 motorcycles and they were nothing but awesome. The pool was a welcome site after riding 350 miles in 90 degree heat and the hot tub was perfect for relaxing those aching muscles.

Kyle, the guy at the desk was fantastic, accommodated all our requests with a smile and went above and beyond with his service. Hot apps in the evening, solid continental breakfast. Beautiful decks and grounds.

Can not wait to go back next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 152 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

The pictures for this place don't really don't it justice.
Its a great location, grounds are well kept and amenities are in great shape.
Let alone the staff is AWESOME, very personable and welcoming.
Indoor AND Outdoor pools AND hot tubs, and good gathering space for large (20-30ppl) groups.
I know where I'm staying next time at Stowe, winter or summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had such a great time in Stowe and at the mountain road resort!
The indoor pool and hot tub room are the best place to chill after the slopes and I'm sure the out door pool is great in summer as the grounds are big and beautiful.
We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We slept in our vehicle due to the smell and lack of cleanliness. Reserved a room at the Mountain Road Resort for New Years Eve and it was unbearable, and nothing could be done to accommodate us (including no refund because we used United Airlines to book it). The room smelled like a wet dog, floor was very dirty (the receptionist had to come up and vacuum, and admitted it was disgusting, but could do nothing), fire place did not work, fridge/stove/cabinet thing was outdated, leaking and noisy. Bathroom towels were dirty, bathroom door wouldn't close, dresser tops and drawers were dirty. No other hotels had rooms available, so we slept in the truck.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

With all of the overpriced lodging available on the Stowe access road, it was nice to find a place that provided a clean room and bed at a reasonable price. The reception staff was very pleasant at check in and check out. Our room (#10) had a bit of a funk to it but it wasn't horrible. I'd recommend traveling with a little bottle of air freshener just in case.

The timing of the continental breakfast (8AM) is bad for those of us looking to hit the mountain early. As a hotel on the Stowe Access Rd, you need to start breakfast before the lifts start running. Even if it's just some prepackaged cereal or oatmeal left out.

Also, you might want to try something else if you are a light sleeper. Our "neighbors" came in around 1AM and you could hear everything. I'm not sure that there's a lot to be done about that.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron_10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent Presidents Weekend plus a few days here. Very happy. We had 2 adults and 2 kids and got adjoining rooms. So much room and loved the microwave and fridge. We were in the building with the pool and hot tub which was GREAT after a long day of skiing. The pool and hot tub are new and the whole aquatic area was spotless.

As for the staff...they were very nice. We accidentally locked ourselves out of our room after skiing and they came and helped us immediately. Rooms were clean and spacious.

Only a few minutes from the mountain and convenient to everything else. Its a great deal and we would recommend it. We will be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife and I are frequent travelers to Stowe. While we have enjoyed our stays at Topnotch, Stoweflake, and Trapps, we have difficulty justifying the high cost when comparing what the Mountain Road Resort has to offer at a much lower cost. We stayed most recently in room #48 and found the room to be spacious, very clean with a refrigerator and fireplace and plenty of room to spread out. The wet bar provided an extra sink and space to prepare a quick meal and an additional savings. The fireplace was not working when we arrived but within minutes of my call to the front desk, Kyle arrived, was very friendly and polite and quickly got it working. After meeting both Kyle and Robert (the manager) I get the strong sense that they work very hard to do whatever is necessary to satisfy their guests. Mountain Road Resort is also a stone's throw away from the Harvest Market which is perfect for a snack or a gourmet take-out meal with a nice bottle of wine. Also, the coffee can't be beat. So, if you're on a budget or looking to take advantage of Stowe on a more frequent basis...you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#14 of 24 in Stowe
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
#15 of 24 in Stowe
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Road Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Road Resort

Address: 1007 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $118 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Road Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountain Road Resort. We are conveniently located on the mountain road just 5 minutes from majestic Mount Mansfield, Vermont’s highest peak and home to Stowe mountain resort. We are within walking distance to most of Stowe’s art and antique galleries, restaurants, shops and entertainment venues and we are just 35 minutes from Jay peak, Mad River Glenn, and Smugglers Notch. We offer high quality lodging with consistently excellent service and six different types of accommodation. The Mountain Road Resort offers our guests’ great value and a balanced blend of modern amenities and timeless rustic charm. Whether you are traveling to Stowe for business, outdoor recreation, or pleasure the mountain road resort welcomes you and looks forward to providing you a clean well appointed room at a terrific rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mountain Road Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Road Hotel Stowe
Mountain Road Resort
The Mountain Road Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing