We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closest thing to Haute Cuisine in Stowe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solstice

Solstice
Reserve with OpenTable
Solstice is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 100 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Base of Stowe Mountain Resort
texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Closest thing to Haute Cuisine in Stowe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a lovely meal in this cavernous restaurant overlooking the mountain. The Ceilings are two stories high. Our waitress was very enthusiastic about explaining the dishes, and could have sold day old spaghetti with her descriptions. Service was excellent.

The menu had a lot of options and the one thing that struck me was there were four different duck options. My husband had one of them and loved it. I had lamb that was prepared a perfect medium rare. Try their blueberry cobbler; it was so very good, and ended the meal perfectly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Solstice, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Solstice at Stowe Mountain Lodge! The four duck options you mentioned are part of a culinary series called "The Study of." Each quarter, all Destination Hotels & Resort chefs "study" and serve a certain ingredient - this time was duck. We hope you you enjoyed it and hope you will join us for the next study incredient!

Regards,
Robert Clarke
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    75
    45
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raynham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stay at the mountain resort and dine at Solstice for one lunch and a dinner during our weekend getaways...the food, staff and wine selection are all fabulous. The cheese tasting platter is AMAZING! Love the way you can select "sides"; perfect for a vegetarian! The staff and management are always watching over your table and you never have to ask for assistance. The waitstaff are first rate. Great atmosphere and views!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not just hotel food! Excellent cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our experience at Solstice far exceeded my expectations. Each entree was prepared with great attention, the flavors were full and the meals were hot when delivered, with great attention to what each customer had requested. The server was very knowledgeable about the ingredients in each entree and even catered to my husband's need for a gluten free item, when it wasn't designated as such on the menu. Even if you aren't staying at this resort, I would seek out Solstice as a solid dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank parrot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Solstice, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for joining us not only in Solstice, but also for a stay at Stowe Mountain Lodge. With such discerning travelers as yourself, we know we need our restaurants to have only best in products, flavors and staff. We are glad to hear you appreciated these factors and hope to welcome you back again.

Regards,
Robert Clarke
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Food Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Solstice was one of the BEST food experiences we ever had! From beginning to end it was food PERFECTION. We ate 2 dinners while staying at the Lodge but wish we had eaten every meal there. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Chef Chris knows how to keep your taste buds in awe. We highly recommend eating at Solstice for an outstanding food experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocky_Mountains_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Solstice, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review of Solstice within Stowe Mountain Lodge. Our chefs create inspired farm-to-table cuisine with farm fresh ingredients. With such an emphasis on local and fresh, we change our menus seasonally to feature the best Vermont has to offer during that time. We hope to welcome you back in another season to enjoy Solstice.

Regards,
Robert Clarke
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were staying at the resort, so we had to check out Solstice for dinner.

As I've mentioned in my review for the hotel, the atmosphere, service, and food did not disappoint. Our servers were very kind, helping us make the best selections, everything is cooked to order and you can watch as the kitchen is view-able from the seating.

The best thing about the whole thing was the cheese appetizer, which I would DEFINITELY recommend, and the S'mores Panna Cotta. It was something new and very good. Overall, it's a little pricey but you are getting top-notch food.

The only thing I would urge the restaurant to do is up there service for breakfast; it left a little to be desired after the night's service, but was still great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fm2mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Solstice, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for bringing your girls night out to Solstice at Stowe Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased to hear you had such a great visit. Our servers work provide a comfortable evening for you and your friends to enjoy the culinary creations of our chefs. We hope to welcome you back for your next girlfriend's getaway.

Regards,
Robert Clarke
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solstice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing