We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solstice

Solstice
Reserve with OpenTable
Solstice is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 100 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Base of Stowe Mountain Resort
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lodge and on the third night we where there we went for dinner. It was excellent. We went back for a second time as well. The cheese are the best. The Scallops were great and the side of Mac and Cheese u have to get

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StanWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Solstice, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of Solstice Restaurant within Stowe Mountain Lodge. Vermont has long had a farm-to-table culture in the way food is prepared and served and we hold those same values. We appreciate our local vendors, including the cheese producers, and happily feature these products in our outlets. We look forward to welcoming you back to Solstice.

Regards,
Robert Clarke
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    75
    45
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford MA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Farm to table cuisine at Stowe Mountain Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fresh, artisinal food abounds at Solstice at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. You expect the locally sourced cheeses, but they also have local charcuterie, other meats, most (if not all) of their produce, and more -- and you can taste the difference. Don't miss the creamed spinach, and the scallops with house cured bacon and corn puree were out of this world. Desserts were definitely the low point; don't bother with those. Get the cheese plate instead. But Solstice is a wonderful dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MegBedfordMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprised - again...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were recently in town for the 15th annual Stowe Wine and Food Festival. We came from our home in Sausalito, CA. Farm to table dining is becoming a way of life for us here in the SF Bay Area, but as we learned, it has always been that way in Vermont. We had a chance to eat at the most celebrated restaurants in the area and have to rank Solstice right there with them in every way.

We had five meals there - two breakfasts, one lunch and two dinners. The bacon is to die for and the eggs just tasted "non-institutional" in every way. Solstice is a large restaurant and designed to serve the entire lodge, but the food quality and preparation as well as their detail to food placement/plating is very detailed and unique.

Sure, the food pricing is "big city", but you are receiving the same quality of food that you would anywhere. You certainly don't expect this sort of quality from a ski resort restaurant and that was probably the greatest surprise of all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooks H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Solstice, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Solstice at Stowe Mountain Lodge. Vermont has long had a tradition of farm-to-table cuisine and we embrace it as a main philosophy and way of life in our restaurants. Dining in Stowe, Vermont offers many options so we appreciate you taking the time to have not one, but five, meals with us!

Regards,
Robert Clarke
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice selection of food and drinks. Better than your average bare fare. Staff was helpful but not pushy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

After a delightful sleep in SML’s gloriously comfy, cozy bamboo sheets, we tucked into a simple but well-made breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, Solstice. I opted for grandma's favourite oatmeal and a delicious soy latte, while we also shared two average-tasting fluffy pancakes with locally-made maple syrup, just to say we tried it. For a relaxed, hearty breakfast, Solstice is a good stop, but nothing to write home about.

For more about my experiences during my getaway to Stowe, click here: http://www.deanes-list.com/1/post/2013/05/24-hours-in-stowe.html

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DEANESLIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Solstice, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our breakfast offerings. Our chefs produce hearty comfort foods with local flavor to keep you going throughout the day as well as emphasize what Vermont has to offer. Menus rotate seasonally to feature the freshest produce so please come back to enjoy another seasonal experience at our restaurant.

Regards,
Robert Clarke
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solstice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing