We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mountain East of Colorado” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stowe Mountain Resort

Stowe Mountain Resort
Ranked #4 of 59 things to do in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A classic Vermont ski getaway, popular with families because of its excellent ski/snowboard school and child-friendly amenities.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Mountain East of Colorado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you are looking for a one stop ski vacation spot head to Stowe. Tons of lodging options, food options and one heck of a Ski Mountain! Stowe Mountain Resort has trails for everyone, especially expert skiers. Broken down into two different mountains, there is plenty of room on the busiest of days to make turns! Head to Spruce Peak for some sunny cruisers after lunch!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cjskilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    110
    47
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Mansfield mtn not as crowded as Spruce mtn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Thursday Jan 4 was a biting -26F at the base plus it was a weekday which thinned out the crowds at Mansfield side. Perhaps because it was a weekday, some runs were closed. Two thirds of the way down the north slopes, the scenery was spectacular. To get to the Gondola side, we trekked along the base. It looked deceptively close. Although we didn't, the best way to get there is to take a lift up and ski down and across. The runs at the Gondola side was good so that we didn't feel we wasted the effort of getting there. There were restaurants on top of the mtn and at the base, so there are plenty of places to rest and refresh. The food were typical resort prices, so be prepared to lighten your wallet.

Spruce mountain with the Stowe village at its base was quite crowded with lots of families, children and newbies. The Sunny Spruce Quad took us up part way. We intended to ski to Sensation Quad to get the top of Spruce mtn. But the signage for the runs were not on the trail map and we couldn't find the Side Street run. We ended up back at the base. First time ever, we couldn't find a trail...very strange. We took the Over Easy Gondola back to Mansfield side and walked with our equipment back to Mansfield Base Lodge where we were parked. Bad move! We should have taken the shuttle, then it would be a lot less work!

The lift prices were at west coast levels at a few bucks shy of a C-note. If your inn offers a discount, take it. The other choice would be Liftopia.com

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dogontheno11bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice Facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We didn't stay there but did go up there for NYE. Its what you would expect from a resort in this price range, if you really want the Stowe experience then stay in town, if you want a cruise ship experience then stay at the resort.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jfaul98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stowe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Skiing can be like fishing, you can be at the best spot, but if conditions aren't right, you don't have the best experience. Well, conditions right now are superior at Stowe. We had new snow daily last week and conditions really held up all day every day. The terrain is the best in the east (relax loafers) with top to bottom runs for every skill level. GO NOW.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bushwacker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
“A challenging mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This mountain is best for skiers who are advanced intermediate to advanced. The resort was really nice and everyone was helpful and accommodating.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stowe Mountain Resort also viewed

 

Been to Stowe Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing