We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hauntingly Beautiful Smugglers Notch

The whole of Vermont is breathtaking, but Smugglers Notch has just the intrigue of shaded walking... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
oldbagonaplane
,
London, United Kingdom
Nature's Majestic Mountain Pass

Driving on Route 108 between the Smugglers Notch Resort and the approach to the town of Stowe is a... read more

Reviewed November 11, 2018
Kathy W
,
Clearwater, Florida
Read all 316 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stowe
from $199.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
231
70
12
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
70
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sterling pond huge rocks bingham falls fall colors beautiful drive winding road white mountains hiking trails beautiful area great hike take pictures rock climbing both sides beautiful scenery mount mansfield ski resort long trail
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 316 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2014

We were driving along 108 when we came across the state park. We decided to pull in and check it out. It's not a very long hike and good for most physical conditions. It's about a 1\2 mile hike to the waterfall (just under 1 mile round-trip). There is a place to hang out while you're there. The hike is pretty good and the scenery is worth it. If you have time to see a beautiful waterfall, I strongly recommend going to Smugglers Notch State Park.

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank Jenwolf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2014

We recently enjoyed a few days camping in Smuggler's Notch State Park. From the time we checked in and were greeting by name by the ranger to the time we left, we were impressed with our stay. The staff were very nice and helpful. The campground was immaculate! Our campsite was well maintained and very meticulously raked with a cleaned out fireplace. The site was a good size and fairly private. There are sites for trailers, tents, as well as a number of lean-tos. The restrooms were very clean and fairly new. I was amazed at how many times a day they were checking the restrooms. The only thing i would have like to see in the restrooms would be soap. As a matter of fact, that is my only complaint about the place! There is ice and firewood for sale at the office for a very reasonable price. I cannot say enough good things about this park and plan on returning in the future. I might also add that the area is beautiful with some amazing views!

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank 687peggyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at the visitors center in Montpellier and it was suggested to take the beautiful scenic route of route 100 to 108 to 15 from Waterbury to Stowe to Burlington. We really enjoyed going through Smugglers Notch Caverns and getting out to look at everything.

3  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

We drove this both ways. It is a winding road, narrow at times, but an awesome trip. It does not take long to drive through. There are places to stop and hike if you choose. There is a gondola right before you enter, and that is worth the price to go to the top of the mountain.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2014

Narrow winding road through the pass. Scenery absolutely beautiful. Great place for hiking in the mountains.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Peggy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews