We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Trails”

Trapp Family Lodge Outdoor Center
Ranked #7 of 60 things to do in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the Trapp Family Lodge Outdoor Center the question isn’t what to do. The question is, where do you start? From sunrise to sunset, and in every season, there is an invigorating adventure or relaxing activity waiting for you at every turn. The Trapp Family Lodge is a 2,500 acre mecca for the outdoor and nature enthusiast. In the Winter there is cross country skiing, back country skiing and snowshoeing. In the Summer there is mountain biking, disc golf, hiking,Nordic walking and even concerts in our meadow. The lists go on and on for people of all ages!
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Trails”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Trapp Family Lodge offers great trails for both cross country skiing and snow shoeing. We experienced the snow shoeing trails this trip and they were great. A nice challenge and well marked! We had fun getting "lost in the woods" for a few hours hiking the trails! Will definitely visit Trapp Lodge again!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank majetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    110
    32
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Yoga location”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Had a morning yoga session. The view was spectacular and all mats face this huge floor to ceiling window. Instructor was fabulous. A great way to start a day! The lodge itself we visited before and had lunch and we think we may wish to stay here at some point in the future.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, not much there”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I thought there would be far more things (especially sound of music related) but too much of the area looks far too dated, stuck in the 80s at best. The panoramic views of course are incredible

Helpful?
Thank Pablo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rented snowshoes”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The people were very nice at the rental area. The trail for snowshoeing was not well marked until we got up past the cross-coutry ski trails. It was very confusing from leaving the rental area to locating the snowshoe trail which is differnt from the ski trail. Obviously they don't want the snowshoers on the ski trail. We saw no ski patrol or anyone to ask. Maybe a seperate snowshoe map would be helpful or clearer signs.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LazNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Cross Country Skiing and Snowshoeing”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The winter Touring Center is excellent. They have the gear. The mountain is beautiful. Lots of trails. Very peaceful, especially mid week. This is a great place to go if you don't know the area. Also, try the Austrian Tea Room down the street for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank MaggieMaeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trapp Family Lodge Outdoor Center also viewed

 

Been to Trapp Family Lodge Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing