We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alpine Slide--- fastest money you'll ever spend- but fun”

Spruce Peak at Stowe
Ranked #21 of 59 things to do in Stowe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Smooth and gentle runs make this Stowe area mountain ideal for children and first-time skiers.
vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Alpine Slide--- fastest money you'll ever spend- but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Took our 3 teens for a day in Stowe- started at the slide. We took them there about 8 years ago and they didn't really remember. So spent about $45 for the 3 of them to refresh their memories.
Chair lift up is nice, trip on slide is quick. We took our own picnic. There are passes to buy which also include a climbing wall and bunji thing and obstacle course (for your kids)... we skipped those as for older kids the alpine was enough for us... we headed over to the Gondola for a great ride up and hike back down.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    17
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alpine slide - great ride, not so great an attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

First off, I loved this slide when I was a kid and it hasn't really changed since, except for the prices. I thought the prices were ridiculously expensive. 1 ride is $20 almost and if you're stuck behind someone who is slow or doesn't know what they are doing, you just wasted your money. The all day pass is expensive as well unless staying at Stowe Mountain Lodge. I purchased the full day pass and only managed 6 rides. It starts at the lifts. The staff leaves 2 lifts empty for every chair with someone in it.
Once you finally get to go down though, it is a great time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank anonymous6379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic and full of amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Did the Alpine Slide. It is a bit pricey, but it is fun going down at full tilt. Beautiful lodge, and friendly staff.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

It is not that the decor isn't done well and obviously catering to the wealthy with martinis at $18.00. But I wanted to feel like I was in the mountains, instead I felt like I walked into a trendy New York City bar, complete with attitude! Although the drinks were worth every penny.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to learn to ski”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our instructor Mike was excellent. Very patient with a family of 5 new skiers. Had fun on Inspiration and Easy Street slopes. Free shuttle made travel very convenient.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spruce Peak at Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing