We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, very relaxing”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Our family of 5 stayed at one of the Guest Houses at The Trapp Family Lodge this summer. We find them to be perfect for a family as they have full kitchens, sleep 6, 2 baths, and great decks/patios with wonderful views. They are a little dated and most of the doors in our particular unit were warped and couldn't close but I understand they are updating the Guest Houses. We were there for the views, the pools/tennis/hiking and to just relax and enjoy Stowe. The front desk staff were very pleasant, excellent listeners. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Massachusetts_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2006

Great location...but we expected more. Seemed more like a Marriott corporate hotel -- with strange rose/pink Austrian decor. Rooms need an update. Wallpaper was peeling off the wall in the bathroom. Grounds are nice and you are very close to Stowe. Just expected more for the money.

2  Thank 49roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

My hubby and I just had the best weekend at Trapp Family Lodge. The photos of our room did not do it justice. We had a king sized bed in a king sized room. My hubby is a smoker, so they further accomodated us with a room on the first level with a patio so he could smoke without inconveniencing anyone. We found the staff to be very friendly and courteous and extremely knoledgeable of all aspects of the lodge as well as surrounding areas. I used the fitness facilities to the fullest extent and had the best massage by Amy that I have ever had. I really felt like I was a queen. I booked the lodge originally because of my love of the Sound of Music, but I would go back again in a heartbeat, because it is truly a wonderful place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

This place is rather too pretentious for comfort. It's like a shrine to the Trapp Family, who - although being Austrian - soon learned that the way to succeed in the USA is through shameless self promotion. And good luck to them.

As expected, we found it a nice comfortable hotel, with a warm and highly professional welcome from Tim at reception. Our Premier Room was OK but not remarkable, and there were plenty of signs of lack of maintenance. For example, at night the a/c would not switch off, and there were no maintenance people on duty, so they sent the security guard who said that there was always trouble with the a/c, and switched it off "at the computer". And does nobody ever clean the outside? The private terrace was covered with grass and weed cuttings, there were cobwebs round the door frame. Everywhere, terraces and walkways had not been swept for weeks.

And it was something of a surprise to find that the carpark was a muddy patch across the road - could they not afford to put hardtop on it?

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We drove from Boston to the lodge with our daughter and her other classmates. Mr. Tim at the front desk was very friendly and the check-in was efficient. About 7 yeras ago my husband and me, we stayed at the same lodge and had a very nice memory. This time we experienced the same. Our daughter and her classmates enjoyed the surroundings. There were full of stars in the sky when the weather was clear and sunny in the morning.
We stayed in the premier room, which was has an extra sitting area. The next time we probably would ask for a room on the top floor, so that we won't hear people walking around the room above us. The families of our daughter were also delighted with their delux rooms. The breakfast was great, unfortunately we didn't have time to experience the activities organized by the lodge.
The next time we will still choose this property.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phiphimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Forest Grove, Oregon
19
Reviewed April 9, 2006

We have been Trapp Family Guest house owners for 18 years, and have always enjoyed the years we were able to go there. The prices at the lodge itself are a bit high for what you get, granted, particularly in summer. Winter ski enthusiasts, especially cross country as opposed to down hill skiers get miles of ski trails well taken care of. In summer, the same trails offer peaceful woodland hikes. I really don't understand the comments here about unfriendly staff - I've never found the staff at Trapps to be anything but helpful and courteous. My suggestion: if you really have a problem with an individual, get his or her name, and drop a note to Johannes Trapp. He really does strive to provide excellent service. The dining room is expensive, and we rarely eat there except one dinner and one breakfast per visit. The food is always excellent, in our opinion, and I've never experienced a service problem. For example, one on of our first visits to the Lodge dining room, we had our infant daughter with us. She was about to cry and make our dining experience, and that of others, undesirably noisy, when one of the staff volunteered to roll her about in her stoller for us while we ate, within sight. This saved the day. There are many other good restaurants within easy drive. The Shed is a little expensive, but good food. There's always fast food if you're just into cheap. In the guest houses, we do a lot of our own cooking. There aren't a whole lot of busy things to do at Trapps - you can play tennis (and the teaching pros are very patient), you can hike, you can swim, or you can travel about the area taking in sights. It's really more of an outdoors, relaxing family kind of place. If you crave constant action, look elsewhere. The Trapps are real people, and the "Sound of Music" is fiction. Read Maria's "The Trapp Family Singers" for the real story. Don't go looking for Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer and Charmian(sp?) Carr etc. at the lodge - they don't exist. But do take time to chat with the very enchanting Rose Marie Trapp, or go to one of the receptions that are held about once a week to meet Johannes Von Trapp. As for classes advertised being non-existent, well, like most resorts, availability depends on how many people sign up. If an insufficient number of folks sign up, an activity may be cancelled. But the garden tour and the bakery class go pretty regularly, and Rose Marie usually does a sing along or some other activity at some point in the week. The scenery is beautiful. If you were there during construction, try it some other time. I've been to other resorts that didn't warn of construction, either. Our family of four children, now 20, 17, 10, and 8, enjoys the Trapp resort every year that we can get there, which from the west coast is now about every other year. Before you get too upset about the prices, look at how much Stoweflake and other similar resorts in the area charge, and what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
16
Reviewed March 26, 2006

I have just returned from visiting the Trapp Family Lodge!! It was one of the best vacations I have ever been on. We were able to get away and relax without any hassles. The views from the lodge are the best in Stowe. Each room has its own view of the mountains and none of the rooms are bad. We were able to get some good skiing in. The fitness center staff was very friendly. The outdoor hot tub was very relaxing after skiing and we also enjoyed the sauna. I think this is a great place to visit for families and couples. The best time to eat dinner is a little later that way there are no children in the dinning room. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly and helpful. I have already planned the next trip to Trapp Family Lodge this summer. If you get a chance visit this summer with their many activities.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
287 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
167 reviews
2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
984 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $207 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing