We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Rockwall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was one of the places we stayed on our fall foliage tour. It was a beautiful location! After the busy tour, it was a nice place to stop and relax. We walked the grounds, saw wild turkeys grazing in a field, took in the beautiful fall colors. The meal we had was very good although the service was slow, but we did have a large group. They "encouraged" everyone to make reservations the next night in the restaurant because they were almost booked. We actually met some friends and went elsewhere for dinner but our travel buddies said there was plenty of room in the restaurant. There's also a microbrewery and sandwich shop just up the road on the Trapp Lodge grounds if you wanted a quick meal.

Room Tip: People with limited walking ability need to make sure they are on the bottom floor as the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review of your autumn stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the views, the food and even managed to see a flock of wild turkeys on one of your walks! We hope you have the opportunity to return for another visit in the future. Sincerely, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    349
    136
    75
    34
See reviews for
502
474
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Can't say enough wonderful things about this place! We return year after year to spend the week between Christmas and New Year's. We have stayed in the Austria Suite, Mountain Suite, as well as the Guest Houses. Pros - very clean, friendly staff, access to XC ski trails, fantastic views, great evening programs/entertainment, cozy atmosphere, townhouses are very comfortable and quiet, great fireworks on New Years Eve! Cons - food is a bit pricey, some parts of the main lodge can be noisy. Overall - we won't stay anywhere else in Stowe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizGirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your praise and constructive input regarding your visits to our resort. We are so glad you enjoy the Christmas/New Year's holidays with us. We are getting ready to gear up for the holidays this year - I just saw a truckload of Christmas trees we use for outdoor decoration on our balcony being delivered and with the light snow falling it is very inspiring to get ready for the holidays! All of your comments have been shared with all managers and their respective staffs. We look forward to your return visit this season! Cheers! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We are staying in the Austria Suite and the Tirol suite - the good news is that they are across the hall from each other so its a perfect set up for a family traveling with grandparents.
The grounds are beautiful - hills, gardens, greenhouses, outdoor hot tub, nice hiking trails, etc.
For the price however, the service is disappointing. For $500 a night you would think they would have complimentary water - they don't. There is also no room service.
So overall, glad we saw it and definitely nice to connect with the Sound of Music but we wouldn't return. Its just average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UpUpAwayLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent visit to our resort. We are glad the Austria and Tirol Suites met the needs of your extended family. Thank you for your compliments of our grounds and hiking trails. You are correct in that we do not provide bottled water but the water from our taps is delicious, clean water and is readily available in guest rooms with glasses provided for drinking. We are sorry you found this to be a disappointment. We also do not have room service for any meals. Years ago we did have room service for continental breakfast but so few guests used the service that we discontinued it about 3 or 4 years ago. I will make sure our Food & Beverage Department is made aware of your observations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Warm regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

From Austria to various locations around the world touring and singing, the Von Trapp family finally settled near Stowe in Vermont. The original building unfortunately burnt down some years ago but was replaced by this impressive Austrian Alpine style lodge. The lodge re-opened as a summer and winter tourist resort hotel beneath Mount Mansfield, Vermont's highest mountain, and has spectacular views and scenery around Stowe. The Lodge has much charm with simplistic character, everything is impressively fresh and tidy with much attention to minimalistic detail plus the friendly efficent staff in their smart costume uniforms. There is the main restaurant or bar menu if preferred and the low ceiling public areas are comfortable and furnished appropriately. The Lodge has two main attractive qualities, its nostalgic Von Trapp family history and its multi-season location, however, historic quality sets its own price, and this is represented in the rates for the rooms and the menu prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive and complimentary description of our property and amenities. You also indicate displeasure with our rates. The time of year you traveled to Stowe is a high season period when prices are at a higher tier due to demand many times outweighing supply. There are other times of year to enjoy the property at a less crowded and less expensive rate; those being early and late spring and late fall/early winter. We hope to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel was a one stop over during a tour of New England. It was the highlight of our tour.
Many people will come to this hotel because of its associations, some might possibly be put off because of those same associations, but it is nevertheless a place that is worth coming to in its own right - it is an Austrian Chalet Hotel placed in a most beautiful valley in Vermont. I would say that the reason why it works so well is a real attention to detail - if there weren't this attention then the hotel would become a kind of theme park. So -
- It makes such a refreshing change to visit a hotel that hasn't been constructed from an architect's catalogue, and which has charm and character.
- It is very clean and tidy.
- The staff are not only very tidily dressed in Austrian costume, but are polite, friendly and helpful.
- The rooms are comfortable, well laid out, and I would not call them dated.
- The views are spectacular.
- The facilities are comprehensive.
- The food is beautifully cooked and presented, and is reasonably priced for the quality. The on-site brewed lager is well worth drinking.
- There is much to see and do both around the hotel, and in the locality, at all seasons.
- There are thoughtful things like afternoon tea (free) and wine tastings laid on.
My only regret is that we only stayed one night as we would liked to have spent more time here. If it were at all possible we would like to return some time in the future.

Room Tip: As far as I know all the rooms in the main building have great views across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your very thoughtful and comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are not only delighted you enjoyed your stay but that you also enjoyed the comfort, Austrian ambience, menus and amenities such as afternoon tea and our wine tastings. We are sorry you could not stay with us longer! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca.
P.S. Thank you for mentioning our spectacular views! Not all rooms have views across the valley but some do have views of the Nebraska Valley Range which is a stunning view in it's own right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I need to say up front that this lodge may make you feel like you have walked into the home of your German Oma. It is a tad dated in the public spaces, with low ceilings and German influence furniture but the rooms were very comfortable and actually seemed more updated than the common areas. However the reason you come to this place is not for what's inside but the gorgeous setting outside. The lodge is surrounded by acres of just beautiful property set up for crosscountry skiing and hiking. It is a self sustaining property. They run their own cattle, rear chickens a grow their own vegetation for flowers and food. The staff is also very courteous and quick to meet your needs. We loved being here.
My only suggestion is you request a room as far away from the dining room and lounge as possible. We were located in that wing and you could here the kitchen staff hollering at each other while they were cleaning up. While I am a night owl so it did not matter, it might if you go to bed early. Oh, and don't forget to make the climb up to see the chapel. IT is so peaceful up there.

Room Tip: Stay away from the wing over the Dining room and Lounge. It is a bit noisy until they shut down ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the delightful review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your thoughtful descriptions of the hotel and its welcoming warmth. It is so nice to read about your enjoyment of our setting and recognition of our ongoing self sustainment farming practices. Our staff will be pleased to know they met your needs in a courteous manner. Thank you for letting us know that the kitchen was a bit noisy at night while performing cleanup tasks. Our Food and Beverage Director has reminded them of the importance of respecting our guests need for quiet in the late evening hours. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Glad you made the trek to the chapel - a very popular destination hike (and snowshoe in winter months). Cheers! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the timeshare chalets with friends. It was roomy and had every amenity: charming eating nook, fireplace, rustic porch, comfortable beds, kitchen sufficient for our needs - including making dinner for four. The setting is lovely. Nearby towns (Stowe, Waterbury) are charming with lots to do and see. The resort itself has a fantastic fitness center and offered yoga classes every morning. There are also activities available through the resort. We had a marvelous time and intend to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellynvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in one of our Guest Houses. Many of our guests prefer the comfort of having a kitchen and living room with fireplace during fall and winter visits. It is always nice to know when a visitor embraces some of the many amenities we offer such as the fitness center and yoga classes. Our hiking and Mountain Biking trails are also quite popular during the autumn months! We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
191 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
164 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Property: Trapp Family Lodge
Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing