We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a destination wedding”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The rooms were excellent, but could use a coffee maker. Service was wonderful. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The on site wedding planner could not have been more organized. She pulled everything together including the on site florist, the cocktail hour before the reception dinner, the photographer and the wedding party. The views were spectacular and the bakery and microbrewery served wonderful goods. The swimming pools were terrific as was the hot tub. The Maria pool was very peaceful with wonderful scenery. The gardens provided a great place for reflection and peace. No place seemed crowded since there were so many activities provided for all. We especially enjoyed the library and the game rooms for our crowd of 20.

Room Tip: Rooms to front of lodge have a better view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our resort. We are delighted to know how pleased you were with the wedding and our Wedding Coordinator, Jessica. She will be glad to know she made a positive difference in such an important day. Our gardeners who work so hard to make the grounds so beautiful for our guests will enjoy reading your compliments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Glad you liked our microbrews too! Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Trapp Family Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were really looking forward to staying here. It was a disappointment. Checking in was ok, but our room was up a lift (elevator) along a corridor around a corner and up another lift. It was miles away from reception.

The room was ok, a little basic for the price. It was difficult to see the TV from the bed..why? Because no thought had gone into the design! The view was nice, I would imagine most rooms have a similar view. We had a small balcony as does everyone. There was however, no kettle or coffee maker..why why why do hotels do this especially when reception or anywhere to get a coffee is so far away? Why do hotels do this? Poor poor customer service and poor room facilities!

Parking is a large car park outside the hotel generally running in a direction away from the hotel. So pull up at the canopy and off load bags if you don't want to you the valet parking. When we checked out, our car was parked miles away at the far end of the car park as it was busy when we left it; and as we were miles from reception we faced a long hike with our bags. So it is possible although not strictly allowed to drive your car up to your room. As I have a bad back there was no second thoughts and this is what we did.

Next the food. Well we booked for dinner and waited ages to be seated ...not sure why? We were seated and our waiter was very surly and arrogant. He seemed to have difficulty speaking English and as I speak German found out he didn't speak that either. We asked a few questions of the menu which he didn't fully understand. So next being used to fine dining we assumed we probably weren't going to get much in the way of vegetables so I asked if there were vegetables...blank stare ok, can I order extra vegetables...blank stare...ok can I have say broccoli ...ah you can have a bowl of broccolini came the reply ok we said...So we were surprised when our meals came both with broccolini then came a bowl of broccolini...now wouldn't a good waiter have said well it comes with broccolini anyway? So we had masses of broccolini !!!!! (broccolini is sprouting broccoli for us brits)...poor service! The plate and glass we were given was dirty too.

Breakfast was equally bad. EVERY SINGLE bowl was dirty with dried cereal on them, my coffee cup had what looked like green leaf on it. We were not given the option of a menu we waited ages for a waitress just to acknowledge our existence and bring us coffee. It wasn't until I had gone to the buffet that I saw someone else on the other side of the room getting a menu that I went up to a waitress and asked about a menu ...... so why did our waitress not mention it? Could it possibly be that she would then have to go order it then go get it and serve it and if not mentioned then we would just go get the buffet...?

Next we booked to go to the Oktoberfest. Well I wouldn't call it exactly an Oktoberfest having lived 12 years in Germany it was really just people drinking expensive beer outside and paying 63 dollars for two of us to get in! What a rip off! The food was basically german sausage some saurcraut a bit of tomato and a bit of dry cake. Also this event was held at the deli and this is about half a mile away. Now your not allowed to walk through the lodges to get to it. So as its a beer festival surely your not going to drive so the only option is to walk the dirt road with people tearing along it not so bad in day light but downright dangerous after a beer returning to the lodge at night! NO, for your own safety walk to and from via the lodges its actually a nice walk and not the dangerous dirt track.

I would summarise our visit as feeling we were being royally ripped off at every turn. I would advise you stay in Stowe where there are great restaurants and places to stay within walking distance. Then drive up to the Trapp Lodge it costs nothing to walk around looking and the gift shop is downstairs...so save yourself the time money and heartache and stay in Stowe!

Room Tip: Don't stay here stay in Stowe!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. With regards to your room type, it does look like you booked a Premier Room which is only located in our Millennium Wing (as described online) which requires either stairs to the 3rd floor or an elevator that takes approximately one minute to reach the floor destination. Typically, the trip from the Reception Desk to room would be a few minutes depending on how long, if at all, one had to wait for elevator service and one’s own personal walking pace. The unclear metric of “miles away” is a gross exaggeration. The location of the TV does make it somewhat difficult but not impossible to watch it from bed and we are sorry for this difficulty. We do provide complimentary coffee for our guests in the lobby until 7am and in our Lounge from 7am until 10am. We also will provide a coffee/tea maker in room on request. The Reception Desk would have gladly brought one to your room had you requested it. If you had asked for this at the time you made your reservation we would have had a coffeemaker in your room on arrival.

Our complimentary parking lot is directly across the street from the hotel and is a short walk (two minutes at most) to the hotel entrance and not “miles away” from the hotel. We also provide bell service to our guests on arrival and departure along with complimentary valet services. This certainly would have made retrieving your vehicle and transporting luggage much easier had you chosen to utilize this complimentary service. If one chooses not to use this we assume they don’t mind carrying their own luggage and finding their room without help. The area in which you parked your car is a fire-lane and the instruction to not park in this area is the decision of the local fire department, not the hotel. Cars parked in this area could cause major problems if the need arose to gain access close to the building where a car was parked. We also offer wheelchairs for those that need them for health issues such as bad backs.

We apologize for the long wait you experienced before being seated for dinner and for the unpleasant demeanor of the waiter. Some of the staff are interns from countries other than the United States; therefore, English is not their first language. We would have gladly brought another waiter to help with the order process if we had known there was a language/communication problem. The issue of too much broccolini is unfortunate but this may have occurred due to the language difficulties and again, we would have gladly had another waiter step-in and assist with the ordering process had we been made aware of the problem. The condition of the dirty china and glassware has been brought to the attention of the Food and Beverage Manager for follow-up. This is an unacceptable and we sincerely apologize for this having occurred.

Our Oktoberfest is a yearly event that is optional for anyone to attend. It was also optional as to whether our guests wanted to walk or drive to the event. For those that did not want to drive we would have gladly given them a ride to the event. If we are not aware of a problem we cannot help solve it. The area that was off limits is located where there are privately owned Guest Houses. It is not a shortcut for walking to the DeliBakery. The road to the Oktoberfest from the hotel only has traffic that is related to the resort - it is not a road traveled by anyone who is not a guest or delivery person at Trapp Family Lodge. Guests who prefer not to drive or find alternative transportation have been traveling this road on foot for decades without incident.

In closing, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations but wish you had communicated your disappointments to us at the time to allow us to make your stay more enjoyable. It is very difficult to remedy difficult situations if they are not communicated to staff/management as they happen. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed at the Trapp Family lodge in a guest house for one week. We enjoyed every minute. The guest house is situated on the side of a mountain and the view overlooks a valley and other mountains. Each guest house has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a dining area and a living room. There is also a small kitchen. EVERYTHING is supplied. The resort has a multitude of activities some of which have a cost and some are free. The Trapp Family property is 2500 acres and very attractive. It is situated not too far from Mountain Road (hwy 108) and is just a few minutes drive to Stowe restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay in one of our Guest Houses. We are delighted you found them to be comfortable and functional. We are glad to know you enjoyed our activities and the gorgeous view from your unit. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to the village of Stowe. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again! Cheers. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for only one night (sadly). Great room (de-luxe) with a fantastic view of the mountains. We had dinner there and enjoyed it very much. Breakfast was also fine. Finished off with a brief walk around the trails on a fantastic Autumn (Fall) morning. Would love to have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris499514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for the delightful review of your recent visit with us. Our Deluxe rooms are favorites in that most of them look out at a most spectacular vista of mountain ranges and valleys. This view is one of the main reasons the von Trapps settled here in 1942. It reminded them so much of Austria. Autumn is a particularly nice time to hike our trails with brightly colored foliage, crisp morning air and the accompanying peace and quiet that rejuvenates one's spirit. Great way to start the day! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

When a hotel charges $265.00 a nite, I expect to have air conditioning in any of the rooms you pick. I do think they need to up date their decor. I don't feel that hanging a couple of plaques on the wall constitues Austrian decor. The tub filled while taking a shower due to a clog, even after the maintance man came. The food was great. But thought it was funny that when the wait staff first waited on us they tried to have a accent and then they lost it very quick. The family pool was very nice. However the bath rooms on the way to the resturants were very dusty. Thought they could stan to clean them more often. I think they run on a limited staff. Saw several staff members multi tasking. I wouldn't stay there again, but would go to dinner at the resturants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We are very sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. Our Reservations staff does let guests know at time of booking if they are going to be in a non-AC room and if we were remiss in sharing this information with you we apologize. Our staff should have made sure you were provided with extra fans and checked to make sure you were comfortable. Our hotel managers will discuss your review with their respective staffs to make sure they understand the need to check with guests after they arrive to make sure they are comfortable and are not experiencing any problems that need our attention. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. Thank you for letting us know you did enjoy the restaurants. Our Executive Chef will be glad to know this. Sincerely, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This Inn reminded us so much of Europe. From the warm and genuine hospitality, to the outstanding food and service in the restaurant to the clean, austere and comfortable rooms. The scenery is absolutely gorgeous. The scenic hiking trails, brewery, three swimming pools but most of all the history behind the Trapp Family Story and their escape from the Nazis and building a new life in a strange land. Do not...I repeat...do not miss the short film documentary on Maria Von Trapp. You cannot buy this BBC documentary any where. Set your alarm early to watch the sun rise, even if it's from your room. The staff was friendly, but not phony. You felt as though you were visitors in somebody's home. There are peaceful sitting rooms or "family" rooms sprinkled throughout the inn to visit and/or play board games in. The places like this in the US are rare.

Room Tip: If you pick a room facing the mountains in the back of the lodge, you'll see beautiful colors du...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality, ambiance and the family history. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again! Cheers. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was excited to be staying at the Trapp Lodge; I'd heard it was a luxurious venue. I didn't find that to be the reality on my recent stay. Reservation in tact; front desk friendly. The configuration of the Lodge is odd; very hard to find your way around. Room was spacious but had NO air conditioning which made it a very long 4 day stay. While I asked for help 2x getting it cooler, none was offered. Room décor outdated, almost shabby. I couldn't get hot water in the faucet or shower. I was very surprised for as rich as the history of this place is, few of the staff know it. Even the basic questions about the property/family produced blank stares. I found that very sad. Because of location, you need a car to do other things/go other places. Food was good and they do have some good microbrew beers. Meeting rooms were OK and they handled our group of 60 nicely. Highlight: we were treated to a private "concert" by Elizabeth, one of the Trapp granddaughters. I recommend a visit to the Lodge as it's historic and the views are spectacular. Shy on recommending a stay there...at least ask for a room with air!

Room Tip: You MUST ask for a room with air conditioning; not all have it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Firsthope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Please accept our apologies for the series of problems you experienced during your recent stay with us. The layout of the lodge is not traditional due to the design which sets the building into the hillside with all rooms in the original portion facing outwards towards mountain and valley views. Our Reception Desk should have given you clear directions or offered a bellman to help you navigate to your room. The time period during your stay was unusually hot for September and the room you were assigned did not have AC; therefore, we should have offered you fans to help alleviate the heat and followed up to make sure you were comfortable. It is not our policy to ignore reports of a lack of hot water in an accommodation. This should have been immediately reported to our Maintenance department for follow-up to resolve the issue asap. We are very sorry and embarrassed by this lack of response to this inconvenience. Our staff is trained to answer questions about the property and family history and if they do not know the answer to consult with someone on duty who can answer the question. I have contacted you to discuss further the resolution of your experience and reiterate our regret at these events having occurred. Sincerely, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $191 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Otel, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing