We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guest Houses are great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Guest Houses are great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just back from a week long stay at the Trapp Family Guest Houses. This is a return trip as we've been there often. These units continue to be a great place for a family vacation, whatever the season. We played tennis, used both the indoor and outdoor pool, and hiked on the trails. We also spent a lot of time in town on the fabulous Stowe Rec Path. The only issues I can see with these units are 1) the lack of air conditioning - it wasn't an issue for us as the weather was perfect for our trip; and 2) the single TV. With 4 kids along, another TV in the master bedroom would be a nice addition, but I know it's not the Trapp way. They want you enjoying the outdoors, not sitting in front of the TV.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G_mat964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    334
    133
    72
    33
See reviews for
486
461
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
239 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Held our business retreat at the Trapp Family Lodge and highly recommend it .. For a retreat, for a personal getaway, or for a lovely dinner. The setting is magnificent among Vermont's mountains, the facility is beautiful, the staff is attentive, and the food was excellent. A group of us have already scheduled a personal return visit, this time bringing our spouses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Trapp Family Lodge 30 years ago the day after we got married. With a vacation trip that spanned Niagra Falls Ontario through to Montreal we decided to end the vacation at Trapp. While it has changed in 30 years it still remains much the same. The view is just unbeatable! The staff is pleasant, the food is good and the home brewed beer was excellent. Had a great, relaxing time, perfect after a lot of traveling. When making the reservation I mentioned that it was our 30th anniversary and they immediately gave us an upgrade to a superior room. Classy. Glad we went back!

Room Tip: Really nice to have a room with a balcony.Probably not a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moosegolf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We wanted to ski in Stowe for a long weekend and decided to stay here on whim even though it was a little pricier than the other places in town. Boy were we in for a treat! The fitness center with the pool and hot tub were just the treat after a long day of skiing. We got messages too. The restaurant for dinner and breakfast was very tasty, although pricey. We had the schitzel one night and sausages and mac n cheese another night. everything was top notch, very decadent with quality ingredients. Yes more expensive than other places, but if you want to treat yourself this is the place. We were also pleasantly surprised by the little extra touches, we got chocolates on our pillows every night and a they had movies in the lounge. I really felt like they went the extra mile. It's about a 5-10 minute drive from Mansfield base, but so is everywhere else except the condos at the base of stowe. We're downhill skiers but if you're into cross country this place also has an extensive network of XC and snowshoeing trails. I would not recommend this place for 20 something's who are looking to party, this is more of an upscale, family friendly quiet atmosphere. And you can bring your dog too. Read more

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Trapp Family Lodge is the entire package! Spectacular views, gratuitous staff, excellent food ( breakfast buffet, Johannes burgers on the porch... Yum!), beer dinking, activity filled (hikes, bikes, Von Trapp history, swimming, rock climbing, animals, etc...). My 15 year old daughter asked if we could come back in the Spring. I was almost brought to tears when we had to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

As we drove up, we were thrilled that it was very pretty from the outside. It reminded me of a quaint chalet in Europe. However the rugs in the lobby were a bit worn. The lobby did not impress me for the amount of money that we paid. The room appeared not to have been updated since 1981 when the lodge was built. The bedskirt was visibly ripped. The heat lamp in the bathroom did not work. The bathroom could use some updating. The beer that is made there was very good. Complimentary coffee in the morning was a nice treat. The kids liked the heated indoor pool in the rain. The three dining options were not especially kid friendly menu wise. The bakery disappointingly only offered 1 dinner choice. Loved seeing the Sound of Music movie the night we were there. The grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Loved having a patio off of our room on the 2nd floor to see the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokie23aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your constructive input and have given the information to the appropriate managers. We are in the process of refreshing areas of the hotel with new carpet, repairs, painting, etc. We are glad you enjoyed the grounds and being able to view the sunrise from the patio outside your room - they are breathtaking. Thank you for mentioning you enjoyed the complimentary coffee and our beer. We are building a new brewery to open in mid 2014. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to our resort. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Because we did not stay. We went by just to see the place because my wife is a freak for the Sound of Music. We parked and roamed around and went in the lodge itself. Very unimpressive. The lobby was worse than most chain hotels I've been in. Very small, plain and definitely not "lodge like". I guess we were expecting a large, inviting space with a lot of logs/wood and a big fireplace. This was 180 degrees opposite. So we went into the basement to visit the gift shop. You have way too much money if you spend it in here. They had the Sound of Music 45th Anniversary Blue-ray for $42. You can buy the 3-CD 45th anniversary blue-ray/DVD combo brand new on Amazon for $19. My wife was happy we went (and she did spend some money in the gift shop), so I guess it was worth seeing since we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you Larry W for your recent review of the Trapp Family Lodge. We have responded to many reviews from many sources; however, this is the first time that we have responded to a review of our lodge from someone who did not stay with us. While our lobby does not have a fireplace we do feature six wood burning fireplaces throughout the hotel that are available for the pleasure of our guests. Many of our suites have fireplaces. Regarding the Sound of Music BluRay DVD; we stock this for obvious reasons and most of those who purchase the DVD request it be autographed by one or more of the four surviving von Trapp family singers as a personal souvenir from their visit to our resort. The entity, Amazon.com, I am sure stocks thousands of this item and is able to purchase them for far less than we pay and can therefore sell them for less than we do. It is a simple economic/retail reality for us. It is a shame that your wife was not able or aware that we offer von Trapp History Tours whose guide tours the hotel and property while telling the actual story of the von Trapp family, their escape from Hitler’s forces in Austria and how they finally settled in Stowe, Vermont. The tour is always finished with a lovely documentary of Maria von Trapp’s last visit to Austria in the 1980’s and the telling of her personal story in her own words followed by a question and answer period with one of the von Trapp family members. Your wife would have enjoyed this immensely and it is open to the public. The fee for the guided tour is $15 for those not staying at our resort. We thank you for visiting our Gift Shop and someday hope to see you enjoy all that our lodge has to offer. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Property: Trapp Family Lodge
Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing