We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Stay in VT”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here the July 4th week in the Lodge. Our room was lovely, with a nice patio. Clean and nicely appointed. Bathroom and room was spacious.The views all around the hotel are gorgeous and breathtaking. The grounds are well taken care of. The indoor and outdoor pool are very nice, especially with a family, but they are a short walk to get to. A lot of the service staff at the hotel were new as they are mostly seasonal employee and we could feel the lack of investment at times. Breakfast was delicious, but pricey for a family of 4, $20/adult and $10/child. Dinner lacked options for children and picky eaters, especially the pub menu so we mostly ate lunch and dinner off site. Plenty of options close by on mountain road. There is a charge for all extra activities-mt bike trails, kids club, tours (farm tour-$25 for an adult!!), lessons, etc. Overall, the location is terrific, hotel is clean and proximity to lots of outdoor activity is great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found our resort to be clean and the views breathtaking. We appreciate your feedback on the cost of the meals and our menus and will make sure they are directed to our Food and Beverage Director, Ian Kvam, for his review with our Executive Chef, Cody Vasek. We do offer breakfast items at our DeliBakery located a short walk from the Main Lodge, Guest Houses and Villas that might be suitable for your children. To clarify, we do have added fees for some of our activities but use of our Mountain Biking Trails is included for all guests as is use of the cross country ski trails in the winter. Rental equipment such as bikes and helmets is additional. Many of our guests bring their own bikes to use while staying with us. Our tennis courts are also available for use free-of-charge to our guests. Your input regarding the cost of some of our activities has been shared with our Director of Activities, Holly Blease. Thank you for providing us with your valuable insights and we hope to welcome you back again. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I had the great fortune of visiting the Trapp Family Lodge in Stow, VT ... where Captain and Maria Von Trapp (and their children) lived after they fled Austria during World War II. (The Sound of Music is based on this story.) The lodge has been completely rebuilt and the hundreds of acres are well manicured and beautifully taken care of. If you get to this destination, be sure to find out about the tours: 1) Tour of the villas; 2) History tour of the resort and the family. Both will most-likely be conducted by Chris Poacher (or Poach, as he's affectionately known.) He's OUTSTANDING and took time to share extra information with us, just because we asked. Based on his suggestions, our visit to this destination made for a great outing!! We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your awesome review! "Poach" will be flattered by your praise of his tours and his willingness to answer all your questions. Chris Poacher is a gem whose tours are very popular among all age groups and his knowledge of the family history and Trapp Family Farm is second only to the von Trapp family members! We are delighted you plan to make a return visit to us and hope you have the chance to connect with Poach when you do so. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

First time vacationing in Vermont. Great Location. Lots to do in the area as well as at the lodge.
Full grocery store in town if you choose to cook. Would recommend it for families with children. Indoor pool as well as an outdoor pool. Great tennis courts. Place to fish or merely hike around.
Felt like Austria.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnalee3_8_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Trapp Family Lodge at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Trapp Family Lodge for your first visit to Vermont! We are thrilled that you found our property to be a great location for your family visit and that you recommend us for family vacations. We do have two grocery stores in Stowe as well as many specialty food stores and restaurants. Thank you for mentioning you liked our well maintained clay tennis courts with views of the surrounding mountains. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and have to say we had a great time, the food was terrific and the views from all rooms were spectacular ! It's a very comfortable place to stay, the staff was very helpful and we even met Kristina Von Trapp!
I will say, and it was not a big thing to us, the rooms could use a bit of and update, with exception of the larger rooms which seem to have already been updated and were very nicely done. It's close to other attractions in the area which was nice. But like everywhere else in the area I found it a bit on the pricey side.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank VinnyG1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assstant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The views from our front-facing rooms are very popular and the view is spectacular as you look out over the valleys in Stowe and the Worcester Mountain Range beyond. The view is what the von Trapp's fell in love with when they discovered this location in 1942 - it reminded them of their home in Austria. So many of our guests who have traveled to Austria make the same comment. How nice that you met Kristina, the daughter of Johannes von Trapp, the youngest son of Maria and Captain Georg von Trapp. She is a delightful person! Your constructive comments regarding the room you occupied and its need for updating will be taken into consideration by our hotel manager who is in the process of having our Main Lodge rooms upgraded with new carpet, paint and bathroom repairs. We hope to welcome you back to our resort again! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I want to be objective in this review, considering that I am a twenty-something newlywed that just spent 5 nights at Trapp during the week of July 4th. If you have the time and money to spend a few nights here, then I recommend it! You could literally spend your entire vacation at the lodge and never drive into town, but like I said, only if you have the money.

The lodge has several pros: great tourist location in Stowe, hiking trails, an outdoor center, an on-site brewery, and many 5 star amenities and accommodations. Stowe itself is a little pricey as far as their restaurants, but there is plenty of history and nature in Northern Vermont to explore. Several natural, green mountain attractions! My new hubby and I had no idea just how much we paid for until we arrived. The valets were prompt, polite, and personable. The front desk was very helpful; however, one receptionist made us feel out of place. We only saw her when we checked in; everyone else was very helpful.

This brings me to the the cons we experienced:
The hotel seemed to serve mainly older couples or families with older children. Because of this, it seemed unwelcoming at times for my husband and I as young adults on our honeymoon. (This was also a good thing because we enjoyed the quiet and serenity, and they did give us complementary champagne!) One thing we found disappointing though was that nearly everything costs extra or is over priced. The lodge plans plenty of activities each day, but everything- except the afternoon tea and cookies- costs extra. The dining hall is overpriced with every entree priced at $10 or more.

If you want to save money while you're here, take advantage of the pool and hiking trails. Also, we had a lot of fun driving around Stowe and the surrounding towns. There are plenty of country back roads and historic landmarks to explore! Waterbury is about 10 minutes down the road and has other little small town things to do.

In the end we both enjoyed Trapp very much, but I can tell you that we will NOT be spending that kind of money on the Trapp resort again. We would have been happy saving a little money and getting the same experience somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the most expensive rooms, unless you need the space. They aren't worth it. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jdaustin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and found our resort to be peaceful and serene. Our resort location on 2500 acres is one of the most beautiful properties in New England and is a source of regeneration of body and spirit for so many of our visitors, some of whom return year after year. We do have a very varied clientele that does consist of many families as well as the younger, more active generation that come here for our hiking and Mountain Biking trails (which are free for our guests). We also have complimentary tennis courts, two outdoor pools, one indoor pool with fitness center and afternoon tea and cookies for our hotel guests. Our dining options are varied in price and are in-line with comparable restaurants in the area. We hope you return to the Stowe area again and enjoy our lovely area. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fabulous long weekend at the Trapp Family Lodge...stunning views of the mountains, lovely room, staff more than accommodating to the needs of my elderly parents. Breakfast buffet...start the day with coffee overlooking the mountains! Second floor rooms have a wonderful terrace...great for a group who want to socialize.
Afternoon thunderstorms moved events inside at the last minute with little to no problem...and both were just lovely!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are delighted that you had such a nice experience. We congratulate the bride and groom on their marriage! It is nice to know that our staff accommodated your needs and in particular those of your elderly parents. We also are very pleased that the transition from outdoor ceremony to indoors was handled efficiently and smoothly. Our special event staff is superb! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I just visited Trapp Family Lodge and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and incredibly knowledgable of the area activities and rich history of the lodge. The kids (ages 9 & 10) enjoyed the pools, rock climbing, biking, hiking and visiting the many farm animals on the property. We ate in all of the restaurants and never had a complaint. In addition to the activities on the property, there are many sites to see in the surrounding area. We learned that you need to arrive at the bakery early in the morning because one morning when we got there at 830 they were sold out of most selections. Also, if you want a room with air conditioning, make sure to request that at the time you book because not all rooms have it. We didn't realize that when we booked the room and only learned there was no air conditioning when we walked in our room. While usually not a problem in Vermont, during our visit the humidity was incredibly high and having air conditioning would've been nice. Wine tasting was tremendous fun, however, it wasn't a true wine tasting as the gentleman serving the wines didn't know much about them. Otherwise, we all had a great time and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeekester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad your children and you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including the farm tours that educate guests on the "farm to table" aspect of our resort that includes vegetable gardens, beef cattle, pigs, sheep and our free range chickens from which we gather about 100 eggs/day! Our new Executive Chef, Cody, will be very pleased that you enjoyed all your meals in our various dining outlets. Chef Cody brings a refreshing new approach to dining at Trapp Family Lodge with his excellent culinary skills and experience. We are very fortunate to have him as part of our team! Your constructive input regarding the AC issue has been forwarded to our management for their consideration. We are so sorry the wine tasting was not led by our usual sommelier as he was away on a personal emergency. We hope you will return to visit us and attend another wine tasting in our fabulous wine cellar. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
283 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
166 reviews
2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
983 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $206 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing