We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the younger crowd.”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I are in our late twenties, we were recommended this place so we splurged a little on our vacation and got a room on a Friday night. when arriving you would have though you were at a 5 star immaculate resort but instead i felt like they were trying to hard to make up for how run down the place is. the service I felt was too uptight and needed to relax and make people feel comfortable, we were not walking into a funeral! The room looked very 'used' the carpet stained, the wallpaper coming off in some spots and I've paid a $100 less a night in bigger city's and had many more amenities and better room. The sauna, hot tube and fitness all close at 8:45 pm WAY too early and inconvenient for people who want to enjoy the resort after dinner and the pub not only charged us incorrectly but we felt as if we didn't belong and had to beg for service. for what your paying for you shouldn't have to pay for ever single amenity they offer (yoga $15,rock climbing $5, tour the building $10!!) although disk golf and the pool are free... I'm sure the place is wonderful for those who are elderly or those with children willing to spend the money but we chose to eat at other local restaurants and not stay on the campus because it didn't appeal to us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank learn2lovethis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Your constructive comments have been shared with all managers and their respective staffs. Our Fitness Center hours are such in that we have in the past tried later hours but the demand to stay open in the late evening is not there. As far as charges for activities we charge the fee for the climbing wall due to wear and tear and upkeep of equipment such as safety harnesses and the wall itself. The Yoga classes are taught by an independent contractor who is not an employee of our resort and we pass the fee directly on to her - Trapp Family Lodge makes no financial gain from these classes. We do offer many other activities on our property such as extensive Mountain Biking trails ( instruction and equipment is also available), beginner to expert hiking trails on some of the most beautiful areas on our 2500 acres, disc golf, piano entertainment in our Lounge five nights/week, nordic walking classes, birding tours with an expert ornithologist, guided tours of our farm animals - sheep, pigs, chickens, beef cattle and extensive vegetable and flower gardens, a discussion tour with one of our knowledgeable staff and much more. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great views from most rooms. Rooms very average corporate hotel type, cleanish. Staff very wooden and not interested in.anything other than charging rooms to your credit card even though they had already been paid for in advance. At check-out they tried to charge me again for the rooms and then made an error and charged my credit card again. It took over a week to get these charges cleared from my account.
Food very expensive for average fare.
Don't go if you want a soiund of music experience, it's not.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at our resort. We appreciate your compliments regarding the great views our property offers. We are sorry that our staff did not impart a more guest friendly demeanor. As per industry standards, your credit or debit card was not processed in advance of your stay but there was an authorization for incidentals that is processed for all guests. It also appears as though the nightly rate was not charged to your card, but rather, it was invoiced to the travel company who reserved the room on your behalf. The authorization hold on your card would have been released on the day of departure; depending on the bank that processes your card it can be up to 48 hours before the funds are released and if you checked out on a Saturday or Sunday this too can further delay the process (this process does tend to take longer when dealing with debit cards). The only items that appear on pre-paid guest bills are a $1 nightly donation to a local land trust for which guests always have the option to opt-out of. Our resort is owned by the family whose story of their escape from the Nazi invasion of Austria, was made famous in the play and movie, The Sound of Music. Trapp Family Lodge does not present itself as a Sound of Music experience; however, there are references throughout the lodge of this historical information. The von Trapp family prides itself on sharing the actual story of their escape and how they came to settle in Vermont and become the world class resort we are today. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is absolutely gorgeous! With a 2 month old baby and 2 other kids age 5 and 2 this was a nice getaway. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the resort very much. The pool was nice and the facilities were kept very clean. We ate very well and never had to leave the grounds! Their beer was delicious (brewed right there) and the bakery was oh so yummy! I would def go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a suite which was on the first floor. We had a back door whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachele279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience at our resort. Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed our menus, lager and activities. Our Housekeepers will be very pleased to know their hard work in keeping the resort clean is appreciated! It is always nice to hear that a family with small children relaxed and enjoyed the pool and outdoors. Your description of the simple pleasure of your children playing on the grassy hillside paints a lovely picture of how much fun they can have simply by embracing their surroundings. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your family to our resort again. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My family spent a weekend here and we were very pleased with the hotel. We stayed in the main lodge and our room was large, clean, and comfortable, with balcony access and a gorgeous view of the mountains. Some of the criticism I read about this place was that it's outdated. Yes, some of the decor could use some updating, but the place was well kept and there was a lot of common space (library, lounges, gardens) where our one-year-old could run around. The staff was very nice and I thought the restaurants served good food. The breakfast in the main dining room was a little expensive but average price for a hotel. The mac and cheese and chili served in the lounge dining space were tasty and they serve a great lager. Plus, there were nice trails for walking (even with a stroller) and lots of farm animals (cows, chickens, pigs, sheep) that the kids will enjoy looking at. I had a fantastic massage from a woman named Liz at the Fitness Center and attended a chill, but nice yoga class (also with a beautiful view). The hot tub was also very enjoyable. All in all, a good place to take the family.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe Room at the Main Lodge. Plenty of space for two adults and a kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scmlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. We are delighted that you and your family were able to enjoy so much of what we offer. The farm tours are very popular with both adults and children and are very educational for those that want to learn more about farm animals and farm to table operations. Thank you for pointing out our many common areas such as the library and living rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors. We are in and ongoing process of updating some of our older rooms - an ongoing project in our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurants and lager. Thank you for mentioning you enjoyed a "fantastic massage" from Liz and that your yoga class was also nice. I have passed on the information to our yoga instructors that you found the room in which you had yoga class to be chilly for this to be corrected. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I don't even know where to start so i can really make you understand and see the 'reality' of how bad this place is.
They use the name Trapp as a 'trap' for tourists! I have NO idea how they have gotten such good reviews and just a few bad ones in comparison. We exchanged one of our week from Grand Timber Lodge in beautiful Breck, Co for this garbage ( in comparison) According to the ratings given online this was supposed to be comparable.but IT'S SO NOT! This place is outdated, smells musty, dirty, carpets are fraying, no washer/dryer, tv is inside a cabinet literally two inches from the floor (weird in itself), kitchen is tiny poor lighting, beds are not comfortables and pillows?? You might as well sleep sitting up thats how thick they are giving you a bad neck ache. We complained about how disappointed and not happy we were, but sadly they have an attitude of take it or leave it. They KNOW its payed for already,so technically you're out of luck. They say to 'experience the feeling of luxury between Vt and Austria and absolute perfection' this alone should be grounds for suing them for lying! I have been in Austria and while Vt does have absolutely beautiful views, as far as the actual accommodation of the 'guest house' goes its a disgrace they want to compare it to Austrian lodging. Staff does not seem happy, and the gentleman trying to assist us with our complaint didnt seem to have any say so as to how much he could do. His supervisor Devin never made an attempt either to contact us. Its very disappointing to wait a long time for what you hope will be a wonderful vacation, with the comforts or better than home and come to this place. So please if you are still on time do NOT book here, there seem to be so many other beautiful hotels, bb around town that you will definitely love and not hate like my husband and i are doing in this place. They try to blame Interval but guess what they are MISLEADING THE PUBLIC SHAME ON YOU TRAPP FAMILY LODGE!! Why cant we all deserve the 'luxury' of the VILLAS? Ok if you want to make a difference, but make it known! Don't lure ppl into thinking thats where they're staying, and btw even those are RIDICULOUSLY OVERPRICED.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear M P,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience and we apologize if you feel that we have misled you in any way. Our Guest Houses are very highly rated through Interval International, with their members reporting satisfaction scores of 92% for the first three months of 2013. We are sorry that we were not able to move you to another location on property, however your booking through Interval International was property specific to the Guest Houses. Our Villas are also individually owned and there were unfortunately no free Villas during the week you were in residence.

We understand your concerns and presented options for you that might better suit your needs, including the offer to move to another Guest House after your arrival, which was declined. Devin, the Director of Owner Services has contacted Interval International on your behalf, however, and is working with them to resolve your complaint.

We are in the continued process of renovations and upgrades in these units, and we thank you for your constructive comments. You mentioned that the beds were not comfortable, and we are pleased to inform you that we are actively replacing all of the mattresses in our Guest Houses. Again, we apologize if you feel you were misled in any way and we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience.

Best regards,

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

As a child I was truly moved by the story of the Fon Trapp Family and always wanted to come for a visit. Finally we came to stay for 4 days in April and truly enjoyed it.
Comfortable, quiet and nicely managed hotel.
Food is really good, has interesting Austrian selections. We especially liked choices in the Deli across the road from the hotel. Restaurant has nice variety of Austrian wines and, of course, Trapp beer. History of the family is depicted in many photos and other memorabilia through out the lodge. It is a nice place to visit with children.
There are many activities scheduled through out the day, including kids activities as well as adults cooking classes, visits to the farm, music concerts etc.
Most notably, the surrounding area is truly beautiful and we hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Renata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a great week in the Von Trapp Lodge, with my family. Lodge large plenty of room for 6 in a 2 bedroom lodge.
Food very good in hotel, also great cakes in bakery.
Indoor pool and hot tub large and great for swimming for adults and children open from 7am until 9pm.
Winter near ski slops, summer walking trails, and mountain biking.
Stow town close by with lots of shops and restaurants.
Try a beer they brew on site it's excellent.
No tv in bedrooms but movies every night in hotel.
Staff and service exellent great place for quite vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hap123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $186 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing